Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Inverness & Area

Inverness & Area Holiday Reviews

Sunset behind the River Ness, Inverness

A modern city in the heart of the Highlands of Scotland, Inverness offers spectacular scenery, great shopping, fantastic pubs and restaurants, beautiful parks, a castle and an array of great Inverness Hotels. In an enviable location at the top of the Great Glen, close to Loch Ness and its famous monster, Inverness is ideal for a getaway.

Our range of Inverness hotels provide a fantastic base for exploring the area, and you can book our packages with rail travel included to make your trip even easier. From convenient and modern city centre hotels to romantic and picturesque country retreats up in the Highlands, you’re bound to find a fab place to stay here.

  • Explore the nearby shops in Eastgate II, or go bargain hunting in the Victorian Market in the Old Town
  • Take in a show at the Eden Court Theatre, probably the town’s most vibrant venue when evening rolls around
  • Discover the historic side of Inverness, and admire Inverness Castle or the stunning St Andrew’s Cathedral, before visiting the Culloden Battlefield
  • Be certain to take a boat trip to the Moray Firth, and hope to catch a glimpse of the incredibly sweet bottlenose dolphins.
Whatever you want to do and wherever you want to be, you will be spoilt for choice when booking a break in Inverness. A great choice for your next getaway, check out our range of Inverness hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 152

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Highland Experience

Stay Date: 16/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Hartlepool who stayed at 3* Tulloch Castle Hotel in Dingwall wrote this review.

Excellent weekend break in Dingwall - stayed at Tulloch Castle Hotel - didn't see a ghost but it was a great place to stay, all of the staff were friendly, professional and helpful. Used local taxis See More  Read more information for transfers and sightseeing, prices varied and extra charge on a Sunday.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Loch Ness Visitors Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Days in Inverness

Stay Date: 17/10/13, a customer aged 65+ from Inverurie who stayed at 4* Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

A lovely setting for quiet exploring and walking. Very restful. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Culloden  
Loch Ness Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rivoli  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ullapool

Stay Date: 09/08/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Caledonian Hotel in Ullapool wrote this review.

A beautiful place. I would not recommend the hotel we stayed in for longer than a night. They are geared up for coach tour rather than meeting the needs of visitors who are spending up to 5 nights. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rhue lighthouse  
Munro  
Slaggan bay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Frigate  
the seaforth  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Scotland

Stay Date: 18/07/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Bury St. Edmunds who stayed at 3* Tulloch Castle Hotel in Dingwall wrote this review.

Hotel was good without being excellent, staff very good , meals very good. Location bit of a problem because it was so far from town , bus station etc. and this being a railbreak I ended up paying See More  Read more information another £120 - £150 on taxis, train fares and bus fares, this for a 3 night break made a Superbreak a little expensive. However weather was good and we had an excellent break   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Loch Ness  
Kyle Of Lochash  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Break in Inverness

Stay Date: 28/05/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Inverness in Inverness wrote this review.

Lovely stay at the Holiday Inn Express, not far from a retail park with a regular bus service into the centre of Inverness. Excellent service aboard the East Coast train - great experience in 1st See More  Read more information class. Would highly recommend Superbreak and the companies also mentioned in this review.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Culloden Battlefield  
Inverness City Centre  
Loch Ness  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Snow Goose  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Inverness

Stay Date: 02/05/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

Had a good break See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Visit to Inverness

Stay Date: 17/04/13, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

The Hotel Columba, located on the riverside, was good, with extremely friendly and helpful reception staff. One of the beds in our room could have done with a new mattress but the other was See More  Read more information comfortable enough. Facilities in the room were good and the breakfast buffet was tasty, but the dinner was below average, with a number of foods on the menu being unavailable and a piece of meat in the maincourse totally burned black.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Inverness Museum  
Inverness Floral Hall  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Happy-ness in Inverness

Stay Date: 03/04/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Bury St. Edmunds who stayed at 4* Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

From the start of our journey with East Coast trains in Peterborough to the end back in Peterborough we had an excellent short break. The trains ran on time, the onboard announcements were helpful See More  Read more information and the refreshment trolley passed through the train regularly. An added bonus was that the trolley was stocked with my favourite Yorkshire tea. The only improvement I would suggest, if possible, wouldbe to have fresh milk available for the hot drinks. The Columba Hotel was a mere 5 minute walk from the rail station in Inverness just across the river from Inverness Castle. The staff at the hotelwere very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and well suppied with complementary toiletries and tea/coffee making failities. The food was 4 star, freshly cooked, well presented and served byknowledgeable staff. My husband is on a low carb diet we asked for a packed lunch which although the receptionsist said they do not normally supply the chef assured us that 2 packed lunches would beprepared for us. After the recent terrible weather we didn't know what to expect in Inverness. On the jounrye up we passed through snowy landscape after snowy landscape. The mountains looked magnificentwith their snow covered peaks. In Inverness we had glorious sunshine but a cold wind which felt fresh and bracing. We only had one day in Inverness so we caught a local bus out to Drumnadrochit tosample real ale brewed by the Inverness Brewery behind the Beleva Hotel. We enjoyed the bus ride along the side of Lochness. On our return we went shopping in Inverness where there was a good mix oftourist shops and usual town centre shops. My husband and I would not hesitate to recommend East Coast Trains, the Columba Hotel, Inverness itself and Superbreak. I am already looking out for anotherSuperbreak break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Trip, Shame the hotel let it Down

Stay Date: 06/03/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Finstock who stayed at 3* Royal Highland Hotel in Inverness wrote this review.

This was booked so we could travel to and stay in Inverness for my husbands 60th birthday celebrations - with friends and relatives living in the Highlands. The hotel was adequate in terms of the See More  Read more information room and the breakfast, but badly let down by the faded decor and most of all the disinterested staff who verged on rude at times. We have known this hotel for most of our lives and visited many timesfor meals, drinks etc, but never stayed before - sadly it no longer gives the Highland welcome one would expect - would be ashamed to think this is how other visitors experienced Highlanders for thefirst time. The Waterfront restaurant and bar in town was great, as were all the staff in the museum and the new shopping centre. Costas there was lovely and friendly and the coffee great, which was notthe case in the hotel, it was undrinkable, as other guests commented upon.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Waterfront  
Ash Restaurant in the Royal Highland Hotel  
The Clansman, by Loch Ness  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Beautiful Highlands of Scotland

Stay Date: 23/02/13, a customer aged 65+ from Leven who stayed at 4* Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

Everyone in the hotel was very helpful and friendly. We took a drive along the shores of Loch Ness and through the beautiful Glen Affric seeing the spectacular Dog Falls on a fine sunny day. See More  Read more information Lovely!!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Glen Affric  
Nairn Golf Club  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 31 - 40 of 152 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:19

Last rendered @ 20/06/2019 18:14:30

Last rendered @ 20/06/2019 18:14:30

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.