Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Inverness & Area

Inverness & Area Holiday Reviews

Sunset behind the River Ness, Inverness

A modern city in the heart of the Highlands of Scotland, Inverness offers spectacular scenery, great shopping, fantastic pubs and restaurants, beautiful parks, a castle and an array of great Inverness Hotels. In an enviable location at the top of the Great Glen, close to Loch Ness and its famous monster, Inverness is ideal for a getaway.

Our range of Inverness hotels provide a fantastic base for exploring the area, and you can book our packages with rail travel included to make your trip even easier. From convenient and modern city centre hotels to romantic and picturesque country retreats up in the Highlands, you’re bound to find a fab place to stay here.

  • Explore the nearby shops in Eastgate II, or go bargain hunting in the Victorian Market in the Old Town
  • Take in a show at the Eden Court Theatre, probably the town’s most vibrant venue when evening rolls around
  • Discover the historic side of Inverness, and admire Inverness Castle or the stunning St Andrew’s Cathedral, before visiting the Culloden Battlefield
  • Be certain to take a boat trip to the Moray Firth, and hope to catch a glimpse of the incredibly sweet bottlenose dolphins.
Whatever you want to do and wherever you want to be, you will be spoilt for choice when booking a break in Inverness. A great choice for your next getaway, check out our range of Inverness hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 152

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

A good two days in Inverness

Stay Date: 10/04/19, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

Enjoyed our stay, apart from not getting much sleep the second night because of a group of girls going back and forward in the corridor all evening and into the small hours. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Restaurants  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Inverness

Stay Date: 16/05/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

Columba Hotel was fantastic, room was great, staff friendly, ideal location, food and drink lovely. Sat outside of hotel in sunshine in May, not bad. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Inverness castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Urquharts  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great days out in the Highlands

Stay Date: 09/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Mercure Inverness in Inverness wrote this review.

We hired a car and also travelled about on the train. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ullapool  
Thurso  
Fort Wiliam  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Waterfront  
Castle Tavern  
Kings HIghway  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend Break Inverness

Stay Date: 09/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

We had a lovely stay at the Columba Hotel, room was comfortable. All meals were good, staff were very friendly - would visit this Hotel again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great weekend in Inverness

Stay Date: 10/11/17, a customer aged 65+ from Peterhead who stayed at 4* Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

Great days out and about Inverness, where we stayed shops were close by. Inverness Castle looked great and the bridge when lit up at night was super. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle  
Shops  
Loch Ness  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jimmy Chungs  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

First time in Inverness

Stay Date: 18/10/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Mercure Inverness (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

This hotel is in a prime position right on the River Ness. The view from the dining room and bar is looking straight on to the river. Shops and bars are just round the corner and there is a shopping See More  Read more information centre for rainy days. The rooms are nice though the bathroom could do with a bigger sink and the toilet was positioned too near the wall though it had a lovely large open shower. We thoroughlyenjoyed a visit to Culloden and found the visitor centre and restaurant very good. Would be happy to come back and stay at the Mercure Inverness.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Calloden  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Inverness

Stay Date: 29/09/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Mercure Inverness (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

The hotel staff were friendly and genuinely dog friendly. They made an effort to provide a location for us to eat out with the dining room with our dog beside us. Our room was fine. Breakfast was See More  Read more information good and you "help yourself". The hotel is close to bars that open very late and revellers can be heard: not the hotel's fault. The traffic signage and route finding in Inverness baffled me and defeatedmy sat nav. It might be a good location to travel to by train! However, the printed instructions provided on how to get to (drive to) the hotel were fine. The car park was always busy: you can bookyour car in at the hotel desk.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shops  
Ben Wyvis  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Avoid the Mercure, Inverness

Stay Date: 15/09/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Caithness who stayed at 3* Mercure Inverness (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

Sorry to report, but it was pretty awful and I doubt we will be back. On arrival the host did not say hello or welcome us. Instead, he looked flustered and faffed about for ten minutes trying to See More  Read more information check us in. This man lacked both basic manners and social grace. He didn't explain the facilities available to us, or offer us the room upgrade which we later learned about. When we checked out atthe end of our stay he was just as ignorant and unfriendly. Dinner the first night was pleasant, however we had to ask two different members of staff for condiments a total of four times, then wewaited a very long twenty minutes before our drinks were served. Our room was nicely designed however the shower was only lukewarm with poor pressure, no matter what hour of the day we used it. Werequested the use of an iron which took around half an hour to get, by which time it was too late for us. Putting on make up and getting ready was not easy due to the absence of a mirror above thedesk in the bedroom and poor lighting in the bathroom. I had to sit on the floor in front of the full length mirror instead to do my hair and make-up. Then we come to breakfast... Both mornings wearrived fairly early, yet the buffet breakfast was cold and unpleasant. The dining tables are old, scratched and some of them are wobbly. I looked forward to using the swimming pool, which is nolonger there and this was very disappointing, as was the telephone conversation I had with the receptionist when I requested the code to the gym suite. She would not give me this number over the phone andinsisted I go downstairs to the desk in person. Why? I did not want to queue at that desk to face those members of staff again. The staff in the bar were always pleasant and on the Saturdaynight, poured a lovely gin. The cleaners were also pleasant. However, the reception team were very substandard in comparison to our last stay with you in September 2016. I'm sorry to report this toyou, as you have the potential to run a brilliant hotel in the centre of a beautiful city, but you're falling very short of the mark and we do not feel compelled to return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Contrast  
Johnny Foxes  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointing stay in Inverness

Stay Date: 08/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Mercure Inverness (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

Our stay at The Mercure Hotel was very disappointing. No one had the decency to tell us there was no hot water when we arrived on the Friday at midday this was right through to the Sunday at 10 am. See More  Read more information We spoke to other guests on the Sunday who informed us that they had no hot water from the Thursday. I reported at the desk that I needed the toilet bin emptied at 7.30 pm on the Friday. I have amedical condition - this was the reason I asked for the bin to be emptied it was not done when we returned to the room at 10.30 pm I then phoned reception at 8.00 am Saturday to report cold water runningin my shower. I also told them the toilet bin had not been emptied. We returned to the room at 2.30 pm on the Saturday afternoon to find the maid was about to clean the room only to find the bin hadstill not been emptied. We also reported that the room was cold on the Friday night they said the heating came on at 9.00 pm which was untrue because when we returned the radiator was stone cold wetold the cleaner this on Saturday afternoon and she said she would get a heater for us which she did. There were 2 lifts in the hotel which were very busy but we noticed on the Saturday that one of thelifts was out of order this was still the case on Sunday on our departure from a very poor short stay. I also used the bar on the Saturday night to buy a Diet Irn Bru as I am Diabetic they were out ofthis as well I was also told other guests were not happy with the service they received in the bar. Our deal was 1st night meal deal at the restaurant which was very good apart from the time we had towait almost 1 hour but the food was excellent even though it was not that busy we had our table booked for 5.45 pm. The hotel is meant to be double glazed but our room which was front facingcertainly was not because of noises from the street and the draught in the room. The hotel itself was really quiet we had really quiet residents on our floor which was very good. When we checked out on theSunday I was told that the bar bill would be free for the problems in the hotel this was 1 diet irn bru which I had on the Friday night with my meal which cost £2.80 there were no apologies for theinconveniences we had during our stay so I brought it up how were we to be compensated for a terrible stay this was when the two females decided to give us 30% refund which they said I would receive backfrom Super Break as this is who I booked the stay with.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Eden Court  
Eastgate Shopping Centre  
So coco  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
Mercure Waterfront Restaurant  
So coco  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break

Stay Date: 12/05/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Aberdeenshire who stayed at 3* Mercure Inverness (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Inverness wrote this review.

Mercure Hotel is in a great central location. Great base for shopping trips. Hotel is just great, we had a lovely room, and the staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing's a bother. We had a dinner See More  Read more information included in our deal and it was just great. Service just excellent. Would highly recommend hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Auctioneers  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 152 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:09

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 04:29:30

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 04:29:30

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.