Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan
(Stockholm) 3 3 Star:
Per Person Per Night
Search for room availability
The Gustav Vasa is a small and friendly family-owned hotel in the heart of Stockholm. The hotel building is a cultural monument which makes it full of history and charm. Surrounding the Gustav Vasa hotel are a selection of international restaurants as well as 12 different bus lines and a sub way station.
Guest rooms at the Gustav Vasa Hotel Stockholm feature high ceilings and individual charm. Many rooms come with a balcony and tiled stove and come with stunning views of the dome of Gustav Vasa Church. All 47 rooms feature phone, desk, ironing board and hair dryer and teapots can be borrowed at reception.
Guests at the Gustav Vasa Stockholm can enjoy a delicious breakfast in the spacious and bright breakfast room.
To view our full selection of accommodation in Stockholm, view our hotels in Stockholm page.
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating
- Overall: based on 671 reviews
- Sleep Quality:
Good for students
Stay Date: 01/2018, Ablat wrote this review.
the best thing about this hotels only the location, 2min walking from Odenplan metro station, the staff are friendly, else that the room was too small even after complaining they changed the room, they offered an upgrade double bedroom that was very … See more
the best thing about this hotels only the location, 2min walking from Odenplan metro station, the staff are friendly, else that the room was too small even after complaining they changed the room, they offered an upgrade double bedroom that was very small too and the toilet was smaller than the room I had, the drains smell bad till I opened the water in the shower to remove the smell. Breakfast not bad at least better than continental breakfast. Internet speed was week Collapse
evaluation for Stockholm trip - Ibis Style OdenPlan
Stay Date: 01/2018, fraurodica wrote this review.
I got a room (no. 217 for checking my opinion) which from the bathroom size point of view was very very small (approx 2mX2m). In this bathroom is very diificult for a normal person to have a shower in reasonable conditions.
I got a room (no. 217 for checking my opinion) which from the bathroom size point of view was very very small (approx 2mX2m). In this bathroom is very diificult for a normal person to have a shower in reasonable conditions. Collapse
Lower your expectations
Stay Date: 12/2017, AjSilverblack wrote this review.
The front office staff needs training big time. No idea how to welcome guests and snobs all around. Fake to the core. The room was fine and had a balcony facing the church. Experienced great snowfall on 7Dec and was brilliant. Bathroom is small but m… See more
The front office staff needs training big time. No idea how to welcome guests and snobs all around. Fake to the core. The room was fine and had a balcony facing the church. Experienced great snowfall on 7Dec and was brilliant. Bathroom is small but manageable. Balcony is fine but not too comfortable standing there with a feeling of unstable base. Breakfast was fine but again floating with grumpy staff. So maybe Ibis styles need to look at staff issues or maybe being grumpy is a Swedish phenomenon. The room we had with the Church view was cozy. So with all the cons 2/5. Front office staff with name starting with Ma needs retraining. Collapse
Beauitiful hotel - but bad customer service at the front desk
Stay Date: 12/2017, a_szostko wrote this review.
Generally I must say that the hotel and the rooms are beauitiful. However, staff was ignorant and careless. When I asked about the possibility of late check out in the next day (as I am a Gold status holder) the reception showed no interest and they … See more
Generally I must say that the hotel and the rooms are beauitiful. However, staff was ignorant and careless. When I asked about the possibility of late check out in the next day (as I am a Gold status holder) the reception showed no interest and they did not care. I chose this hotel for a very special occassion and the staff being so ignorant put me off recommending this hotel. Also room did not have welcome drinks and enough towels. When requested to get them, the reception did not keep the promise. Very disappointed as the hotel as a building is wonderful! Collapse
Consistently “Overbooks” Rooms to Get Best Price!
Stay Date: 03/2017, YanksAbroad wrote this review.
I am writing to strenuously complain about my experience with the Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan. I telephoned Accor and registered a complaint while I was in Stockholm (CRM:0227010200); Accor forwarded this to the hotel, and they did absolutely not… See more
I am writing to strenuously complain about my experience with the Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan. I telephoned Accor and registered a complaint while I was in Stockholm (CRM:0227010200); Accor forwarded this to the hotel, and they did absolutely nothing except apologize. Let me give you the details of the problem, and tell you why this hotel’s response was completely inadequate. In April 2016 I booked two rooms in this hotel for my wife and I and another married couple traveling with us from 11-15 August (Reservation DHQBSXDX #1608110509). A few days before we arrived on the 11th, I received the standard confirmation e-mail from the hotel saying they looked forward to our arrival. The day before, 10 August, we were on a ship from Tallinn, Estonia to Stockholm. At the same time, the hotel sent us the following e-mail: “Dear Bradley. You have 2 bookings for tomorrow at Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan. Unfortunately we have to inform you that due to an overlap in our system we have reserved 2 double rooms for the same price in a lovely 3 star hotel named First Hotel Norrtull. It is located 10 minutes from our hotel at S:t Eriksgatan 119, 113 43, Stockholm, and of course breakfast and Wi-Fi is included. There is no extra price for you since you already paid us. We are very sorry about this inconvenience and hope this is not causing too much problems for you. Please contact us if you have any further questions. Med vänliga hälsningar / Best regards Nadia, Front Desk” Since I was in the middle of the Baltic Sea, I was unable to access or read it, and didn’t discover this problem until I arrived at the hotel directly from the dock. When we were informed about this booking “overlap,” we pointed out that our reservation had been made in April, and asked when the reservation had been made by the people who were now occupying the rooms we’d paid for four months earlier: the hotel refused to tell us this. We protested, but all the hotel would do was begrudgingly provide a taxi to bring us and our luggage to the new hotel that was nearly 1 km away. Upon checking into the First Hotel Norrtull, we discovered many unpleasant facts. For one, the rooms were not “lovely”—as the attached photos show, there were holes in the ceiling, broken window glass, and cracks in the woodwork. The beds were very uncomfortable, there were no telephones in the rooms, and the breakfast was rudimentary (and, of course, I didn’t get the welcome drink I’m entitled to as an Accor Silver member). Worst was that the only transport to the city center was a city bus that stopped in front of the hotel once every 20 minutes during weekday hours, and twice an hour in the evenings and on weekends. We had chosen the Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan specifically because it was right next to the subway, allowing us to get into the city and back within 5 minutes every 10 minutes or so. Instead, we had to worry about missing a bus, and wait for it at outdoor bus stops in the evening and on Saturday (and, of course, one night it rained very hard while we were waiting). I did some research and discovered a very interesting pattern with the Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan: they have a history of last-minute cancelations of reservations due to “overlap” or “computer error,” etc. There are two complaints on TripAdvisor about this exact same problem (one from September 2012, one from July 2016). If there are currently three complaints on TripAdvisor, how many more people who aren’t members of that service—or who didn’t bother to write—can there be? I’m sure that Accor has far more complaints than these in their records, and yet they continue to keep this hotel in their franchise network. It is also very curious that this hotel continues to have problems with their booking system: do they not use Accor software? Can they not have this problem fixed, rather than have it happen on a regular basis? It beggars belief that these “errors” are simply coincidences rather than a deliberate attempt to re-sell a room to a higher bidder. I very strongly suspect that this hotel is waiting until several months have passed after a reservation is made and paid for, and it is too late to contest the charge with Visa, Master Card, etc. Then they find a guest who is willing to pay more, give him the room, and shuttle the unlucky early bookers to another, sub-standard hotel. I’m sure that the consumer protection authorities and tourist/visitors’ bureaus in Sweden would be interested to know about it. Furthermore, after we called Accor to complain (using my German mobile phone in Sweden, since there were no telephones in the rooms!) we received a letter from the Ibis that said, “We have seen your complaint about the relocation on your stay. The hotel was overbooked that’s why we need to relocate you to another hotel. The hotel we send you to is not a cheaper hotel. It cost a little bit more than you payed here. Your reservation was a non refundable so we don´t refund any money on these reservations.” Of course, the room price was non-refundable if we had decided to cancel it, not if the hotel decided this! More to the point, this is a flat-out lie about the prices at the two hotels. The First Hotel Norrtull cost up to €132.21 per night for the room we received for the dates we stayed, which is equal to 1267 Swedish Krona. That means that three nights would cost 3801 Swedish Krona: double that for the two rooms, and the total price being advertised for two rooms, three nights was 7602 Swedish Krona. However, the Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan charged us 9450 Swedish Krona for two equivalent rooms over three nights. The difference is 1848 Swedish Krona, which is just under €200. When I called Accor to complain about this €200 difference, I asked them to refund the difference between the two hotels. They passed the message along to the Ibis Styles management, who not only refused to refund any money, but instead further insulted me by lying about the price and taunting me about the non-refundable nature of my purchase. At this point, after having invested many hours of my vacation time and afterwards trying to reconcile this in a polite and professional way with both the hotel and Accor, I demanded a full refund of the 9450 Swedish Krona I paid as compensation for rooms I did not receive, plus the inconvenience of being put into sub-standards lodging and all the other things I’ve detailed above. The hotel offered to refund me €100, which is an insult. Collapse
- Rest assured your break is safe with us
- No credit card or booking fees
- Your information is secure with GlobalSign
- Best UK Operator, Globe Awards 2017
Superbreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.
They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.
Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.