Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Gloucester

Gloucester Holiday Reviews

Gloucester Cathedral, Gloucester

Surrounded by the picturesque Cotswolds Hills, the vibrant city of Gloucester has a fantastic blend of historic sights and interesting attractions near to our Gloucester hotels.

  • One of the most iconic places to visit is the magnificent Cathedral, one of the finest examples of medieval architecture in the country. Many of our hotels in Gloucester are within walking distance of this extraordinary building, so paying it a visit is a must.
  • After exploring the Cathedral visitors staying in one of our Gloucester hotels should pay a visit to The Tailor of Gloucester Beatrix Potter Museum and Shop. Based in the original building that inspired the well-loved tale, the museum brings Potter’s magical world to life with displays, illustrations, and unique gifts. This charming attraction is always popular for those staying in our hotels in Gloucester and is a great way to end the afternoon after treating yourself to lunch in one of the many cosy cafes and pubs.
  • For something a bit livelier, sports fans staying in our hotels in Gloucester can visit the Kingsholme Stadium, home of Gloucester Rugby team. Watching a match then heading for a night on the town is a great way to experience the Gloucester atmosphere before retiring to the comfort of our Gloucester hotels.
No matter what you have planned on your short break to Gloucester, our fabulous range of Gloucester hotels will provide the perfect base for your trip.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 115

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Gloucester in the Autumn

Stay Date: 05/11/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall in Gloucester (Nr) wrote this review.

A trip on the top deck of a bus into Gloucester was a highlight of our 3 days holiday. Took us back to our youth. Broadway was stunning in its autumn coat, the blend of Cotswold Stone and autumn See More  Read more information leaves making an unforgettable spectacular.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gloucester Cathedral  
Broadway  
Gloucester Docks  
Birdland, Bourton on the Water  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bowden Hall Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas Break

Stay Date: 24/12/07, a customer from West Yorkshire who stayed at 4* Hatherley Manor in Cheltenham/Gloucester wrote this review.

Wonderfull relaxing few days, with good food and company. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cotswolds Area  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wonderful Christmas

Stay Date: 24/12/06, a customer from Hastings who stayed at 4* Hatherley Manor in Cheltenham/Gloucester wrote this review.

My husband, myself and my parents had a truly wonderful Christmas 3 night break at Hatherley Manor. The food and service were fantastic and it was unbelievably good value! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gloucester Cathedral  
Tewkesbury  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Great Xmas Break in the Cotswolds

Stay Date: 24/12/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Hatherley Manor in Cheltenham/Gloucester wrote this review.

From the moment of our arrival on Christmas Eve, we were welcomed with food and drink! There was sherry & mince pies, then, before dinner, wine and a short carol concert. The food was excellent - See More  Read more information and the breakfast table provided for absolutely every taste, from cereals & toast, via the English full cooked fry-up, via smoked haddock & kippers, to French croissants & other Viennoiserie, not tomention the variety of juices and fresh and preserved fruit of all kinds - from exotics to the homely prune! Throughout the three-day break the staff couldn't have been friendlier, the food and drinkample, and the hotel cosier. The only small cavill was that the lounge area by the bar filled up quickly, and the other seating was a long way away from the bar -at the other end of the hotel! But thehotel itself was set in attractive surroundings and have enough architectural features left to prove of interest to the historian of the family. All in all - our xmas break was superb value and highlyrecommended.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gloucester Cathedral  
National Waterways Museum  
Gloucester City Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ramada Hotel

Stay Date: 15/07/08, a customer from Halton who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Gloucester in Gloucester wrote this review.

Delightful Hotel set in lovely grounds. Staff excellent - so too the big Veggie Breakfast.Very comfortable bed. Thank you. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tewkesbury Abbey  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dick Whittington Pub in Gloucester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Walk in the Woods

Stay Date: 12/09/08, a customer from Bedford who stayed at 4* Hatherley Manor in Cheltenham/Gloucester wrote this review.

The National aboretum was beautiful but pricey at £7 per person. Beautiful and an excellent guided tour. The forest of Dean was amazing and the scultpure trial excellent See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gloucester  
Westbury Arboretum  
Forrest of Dean  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Pub 2 miles away on main road, sunday evening  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cotswolds/ Gloucester area

Stay Date: 04/10/08, a customer from Kent who stayed at 4* Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall in Gloucester (Nr) wrote this review.

Very good experience. Nice inexpensive pubs/restaurants. Great villages, churches and museums. Very relaxing See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cotswolds - all  
Gloucester Historic Dock  
Pubs/restaurants  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

shopping in cheltenham

Stay Date: 18/10/08, a customer from Bicester who stayed at 4* Hatherley Manor in Cheltenham/Gloucester wrote this review.

Overnight stay, relaxing stay, comfortable clean good value. An ideal place for a weekend break at value for money hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Swindon Designer Retail Outlet  
Cheltenham, shopping.  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Down Memory Lane

Stay Date: 05/12/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Gloucester in Gloucester wrote this review.

My visit was great. Was at a school reunion. had not been back for 32 years. stayed the night and then travelled on to see family before Xmas Was dissapointed with the booking because although I See More  Read more information had especially asked the Super break staff to ask Staff at the hotel if the showers were walk-in as my son was in a wheel chair and I had requested for an accessible room. Only to arrive after a fivehour drive and the hotel staff said no request had been made for an accessible room by Superbreak.Only a family and double room.Luckily we did get one as the staff were totally accomodating.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed.

 

Hatherley Manor Hotel

Stay Date: 02/01/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Hatherley Manor in Cheltenham/Gloucester wrote this review.

Excellent Hotel in lovely location and Easy to find having from Surrey. Food was delicious and beautifully presented. Bar prices were a bit pricey !! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gloucester and Cathedral  
Bourton on the Water and Cotswolds  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 21 - 30 of 115 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 06:19:30

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 06:19:30

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.