Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Exeter, Dartmoor & Area

Exeter, Dartmoor & Area Holiday Reviews

Exeter Cathedral

Whether you’re looking to reconnect with nature, or for an exciting city break, our hotels in Exeter and its surrounding area will undoubtedly have something to offer you. Fascinating Exeter has over 2000 years of history to become acquainted with, but also all the fine dining and excellent shopping you’d expect in such a thriving city. Between Dartmoor National Park and Devon’s world-famous coast, the region is similarly perfect for an escape to the countryside.

From budget accommodation to luxury retreats, we have hotels in Exeter and Dartmoor to suit everyone. Take advantage of our great value two night dinner deals, or relaxing spa breaks, and know that no trip to Devon is complete without trying a delicious cream tea!

  • The county town of Devon, historic Exeter makes for a wonderful city break destination – must-see sights include the incredibly impressive Exeter Cathedral, the Royal Albert Memorial Museum and the always-thrilling Exeter Racecourse.
  • Discover the breath-taking natural beauty of the area when you choose our hotels in Dartmoor, the National Park is perfect for an adventure break and you could quite easily find yourself hiking, white-water kayaking, rock-climbing or letterboxing.
  • Our hotels in Sidmouth offer a relaxing break in this quaint and very popular seaside town; enjoy a cream tea by the beach or try your hand at water sports like canoeing and paddle-boarding – a great way to see the impressive coastline.
  • The 96 mile long Jurassic Coast is a must-visit and a UNESCO World Heritage Site – beginning at Exmouth, walkers from across the country flock to enjoy this distinctive coastal trail.


A great destination for your next short break, check out our range of hotels in Exeter and Dartmoor in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 70

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Christmas break

Stay Date: 23/12/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Mercure Southgate Hotel in Exeter wrote this review.

Stayed at the Mercure Southgate in Exeter. Location is excellent as it is near the Cathedral and close to the shopping centre. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. All our meals were See More  Read more information excellent. Room very clean and comfortable. We would stay here again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Centre  
Cathedral  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ask ltalian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not a good start

Stay Date: 28/07/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Eastleigh who stayed at 4* Buckerell Lodge Hotel in Exeter wrote this review.

First port of call was reception where we got our key to door which didn't work! Four times I went back down the stairs to get the key re-coded! On the last time the member of staff came up to try See More  Read more information as well finally. The next night there was a wedding reception which took over the whole hotel and the disco went on to early hours of morning keeping us awake. Breakfast was excellent and hotel was ina good position.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Hotel

Stay Date: 21/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Gb who stayed at 4* Mercure Southgate Hotel in Exeter wrote this review.

Good location and facilities. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Victoria Hotel Sidmouth

Stay Date: 20/02/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Victoria Hotel in Sidmouth wrote this review.

What a beautiful hotel, staff so attentive could not have wished for more. Room/bathroom were excellent too. Restaurant was really lovely, food was an excellent selection and to my delight they even See More  Read more information had non alcoholic wine. We only went for an overnight stay on our way back home from staying a week in Dorset. We will certainly visit the Victoria Hotel again. The sea views were good also, ideallysituated for the town shops. We would give 10 out of 10 for this hotel and break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas in Exeter

Stay Date: 24/12/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Mercure Southgate Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Exeter wrote this review.

The hotel was good, the pillows were a bit uncomfortable, the staff were very friendly, there was quite a bit of dust in our room, the food was excellent. The hotel is in a great location and would See More  Read more information probably stay here again, the only entertainment was a pianist which was brilliant but could have done with some more entertainment to keep us occupied over the 3 days. Overall though it was a lovelybreak away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Exeter Town Centre  
Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas Stay

Stay Date: 23/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Buckerell Lodge Hotel Christmas Break in Exeter wrote this review.

Staff not very helpful, poor hospitality skills to the extreme of being rude. No welcome as described mince pie and mulled wine. Did not see the General manager over the whole stay. Description of See More  Read more information the hotel was incorrect. It is not 1 mile from the city centre to walk. Good bus service just outside hotel. Housekeeping staff were the most helpful and cheerful. Spent most of Christmas day in ourroom. My husband became ill no offer can we do anything. Has totally put me off going away for Christmas. However as l was leaving l spoke to someone of the managerial side. We left a day earlier thanplanned, my husband had began to improve, but felt there was nothing to do, l could do better at home. The food was awful. I felt they concentrated on the Saga party and no one else.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping  
Exeter Catherdral  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel resyurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic

Stay Date: 23/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Southgate Hotel in Exeter wrote this review.

Four nights over Christmas at the Mercure Southgate in Exeter. Superb hotel. Amazing staff. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Memorable Xmas

Stay Date: 23/12/15, a customer aged 65+ from Cardiff who stayed at 4* Buckerell Lodge Hotel Christmas Break in Exeter wrote this review.

A great place to spend the Christmas holidays. A very good hotel, good company and excellent food. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sidmouth  
Exeter City Centre  
Exmouth  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Xmas Break in Exeter

Stay Date: 24/12/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Mercure Southgate Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Exeter wrote this review.

We had to cut short a 3 day break by one day due to illness. However, our stay was very enjoyable, thanks to the excellent staff in every part of the hotel. Food and arrangements for Xmas meals were See More  Read more information excellent. Room adequate - not overly large but that made more noticeable by our being confined to room for longer than usual by my incapacity and poor weather.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas as it should be!

Stay Date: 24/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Southgate Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Exeter wrote this review.

From the moment we arrived we were treated like special guests. The room was excellent, spotlessly clean and with a fabulous shower. I'm in a wheelchair and sometimes find a room may be ok but See More  Read more information access to other areas a problem. Not so here, the corridors were wide, the doorways wide and all public areas easily accessible. Even in the dining room, furniture was rearranged to accommodate thewheelchair and every member of staff from the cleaning lady to the manager could not have been more helpful. Anything I asked for was done quickly and efficiently. Sometimes over holiday periods, staff arefew and far between, but at this hotel there were plenty of staff on at all times and all of them were fun, nice and extremely helpful. The central location was fantastic. We are able to go wherever wewanted to without having to use the car. Everything was done to ensure we had the best time. The food was superb and of excellent quality at every meal. I would highly recommend this hotel. Thankyou!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shops  
The Quays  
Cathedral  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The ship  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 70 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:23

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 15:39:36

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 15:39:36

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.