Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Essex

Essex Holiday Reviews

Deckchairs on seafront, Southend-on-Sea

From sightseeing and beach days to eating out and shopping, our hotels in Essex are perfectly placed for exploring all this magnificent county has to offer. From Southend-on-Sea to Colchester, Clacton-on-Sea to Bishop Stortford and everything in between, make your next short break one to remember with SuperBreak.

Discover unspoilt coastlines, tranquil hilltops, an abundance of shops and cafes, plus plenty of attractions to keep you entertained – there really is something for everything in Essex.

  • Essex is spoilt for choice when it comes to taking a seaside break. Head to the iconic piers of Southend-on-Sea and Clacton-on-Sea, or explore the many miles of charming coastlines for a quieter day at the beach.
  • Thriving with plenty of things to see and do, Colchester’s most popular attractions include Colchester Zoo, Colchester Castle and Hollytrees Museum.
  • From Audley End House to Waltham Abbey, Essex offers an abundance of fascinating historical sites to visit.
  • For a taste of the great outdoors, Hatfield Forest is a fantastic place to start. This ancient royal hunting forest is a truly enchanting outdoor escape perfect for long walks or cycling adventures.
As well as being surrounded by a collection of superb attractions and sightseeing opportunities, our Essex hotels offer everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing UK break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 86

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Murder Mystery break - Great Night

Stay Date: 03/11/17, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Mercure Hatfield Oak Hotel Murder Mystery Break in Hatfield wrote this review.

The cast of actors were great - we questioned them throughout the evening and not one of them broke character once. Looking for nights entertainment then look no further! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Murder Mystery break  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
In the hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

OK but should have been better

Stay Date: 25/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Ware who stayed at 4* Lifehouse spa and hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Frinton On Sea wrote this review.

We arrived about 4pm in the Friday, we had a short wait at Reception before check-in. We were given a room in the Mulberry block, double room 2nd floor. We noticed the draw safe wasn't working and See More  Read more information mentioned this to Reception after dinner as we didn't notice it wasn't working until we went to dinner at 7.15pm. We were asked to return to the room and some one would come and take a look. We waited11/2 hours and nobody came so we gave up and went back to the Reception and were given another card to try. We had a couple of drinks at the bar and went back to the room just before midnight. The newcard made no difference, the draw wouldn't lock. We gave up until the morning. We pulled back the quilt to get into bed and there was a stain in the sheet. I didn't want to sleep in the bed but hadno choice as Housekeeping weren't going to change it until the next morning. We had a treatment booked at 10.00 my husband was called first at 10.00, I was called just after 10.00. I was asked 2questions and the massage started about 10.07 and I was given a cup of water at 10.22. This was not acceptable for a 30 minute treatment at £45. I complained and was given a facial at 2.30 which lasted 30minutes. We also had to request different robes as the ones in the room on arrival smelt awful, a really unpleasant oily smell. We went back to the room early evening and the sheet still hadn't beenchanged and the drawer would still not lock. We complained to Reception again and by the time we checked out on Sunday at approx 11.45 the sheet was never changed. I complained on check-out but we wereonly offered a £50 voucher towards another stay which binds you having to stay again even if you may not want to because of all the dissatisfaction. We should have been given £50 off our bill. We arenot happy at all.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Frinton-on-Sea  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harry's Bar  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 4 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great break!

Stay Date: 21/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Best Western Marks Tey (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Colchester wrote this review.

My first time of using SuperBreak but not my last. Everything was so easy and the hotel was lovely - maybe a bit dated, if that sort of thing is important to you, but high on comfort. Breakfast was See More  Read more information excellent with very helpful staff to sort out requests. The meal on the first night was of high quality, again with friendly staff to sort out individual requests.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great

Stay Date: 07/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Five Lakes Resort (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) formerly Crowne Plaza Resort Colcheste Five Lakes in Colchester wrote this review.

We had great time, for us everything was perfect, staff, food, pool etc. Will be going back. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

2 day spa break at Lifehouse

Stay Date: 17/11/16, a customer from Oswestry who stayed at 4* Lifehouse spa and hotel (1 Night Cream Tea Offer) in Frinton On Sea wrote this review.

My mother and I had a fantastic time. Unfortunately I had to go to work one day but whilst I was away the staff looked after my mother very kindly. She and I had some lovely pampering treatments. It See More  Read more information was a lovely relaxed hotel. Staff very friendly. Fantastic comfortable beds. The only problem that it was very busy and we couldn't get space in restaurant to eat on the second night.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
spa within the hotel - it was fabulous  
not needed we had all within the hotel  
not needed we had everything within the spa hotel  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
within hotel  
only one restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel Stay

Stay Date: 06/09/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Lifehouse spa and hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Frinton On Sea wrote this review.

Friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant food delicious. Hotel setting couldn't be faulted. Hotel room clean and a great view from the room. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Swimming Pool  
Walking the grounds of hotel  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lifehouse spa hotel

Stay Date: 14/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Lifehouse spa and hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Frinton On Sea wrote this review.

The stay was lovely and relaxing and the hotel food and restaurant was very good. So many great points to this place with just a few issues that let it down a bit. In the pool area no-one was See More  Read more information checking around, so the drinking water ( that was really lovely with fresh lemon and orange) was allowed to run out, towels ran out, locker bins were overflowing. Such a shame that a few minor, easilyresolved issues spoilt an otherwise lovely place. Having said that I would definitely go again, and the surrounding grounds were stunning. I had the most fabulous massage as well, quite expensive but worthit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Front on on sea  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hat and mouse  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Go dizzy in Harlow

Stay Date: 13/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Harlow in Harlow wrote this review.

It's all roundabouts and concrete with no redeeming features. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bishop Stortford  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Room for improvement

Stay Date: 29/03/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Dunmow who stayed at 4* Lifehouse spa and hotel (1 Night Cream Tea Offer) in Frinton On Sea wrote this review.

On arrival we found the building to be impersonal, lacking in personality & lack of direction signs. Staff were friendly and polite. Booking in process was simple. Rooms were of a good proportion See More  Read more information and clean. Very pleased to see that tea and coffee making facilities also water that was supplied free of charge. Beds were very firm. Spa and pool area didn't feel conducive to relaxation and needs arevamp. Nice to find they had a quiet room/relaxation room sadly it was adjoining a main corridor with therapy treatments were taking place and as people walked along the corridor talking loudly thisdisturb the quietness. Bar area is nice and bright seating could be more comfortable. Cream tea was well worth the money and a must do! Restaurant food was of a very high standard & portions were of agood size. Changing rooms didn't appear to be connected to the main pool area as we found out we had to walk across the reception area to get changed, we may have missed a connecting door but therewere no signs to say which way to go from the pool. It was only when asking a member of staff they pointed out a doorway with the letter 'M' on a plate by the side of the door that they identified thiswas the male changing room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Tired hotel

Stay Date: 05/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Best Western Marks Tey (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Colchester wrote this review.

We we very disappointed with our weekend away at Marks Tey. Our rooms were tired and in need of refurbishment. The hotel receptionist tried to charge us again although we had paid for our break in See More  Read more information full to SuperBreak and needed to take a photo copy of my invoice to prove it! A very large convention was taking place at the hotel for the whole weekend and I think we should have been informed ofthis. Had we have known we would never had booked to stay at that time. It was not appropriate to have to share the dining room with shabbily dressed people, some with no socks or shoes on, in anunacceptably noisy environment. The evening meal was very mediocre so that also disappointing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 86 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:27

Last rendered @ 16/06/2019 11:49:37

Last rendered @ 16/06/2019 11:49:37

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.