Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Ennerdale Country House Hotel 2 Night New Year Break Reviews (Cockermouth - Nr)

Main Street, Cleator, Cumbria, CA23 3DT, England
Ennerdale Country House Hotel 2 Night New Year Break

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

Star Rating:

3 stars:
SuperBreak Customer Rating:
 
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:
Ennerdale Country House Hotel 2 Night New Year Break - Hotel Image

Average TripAdvisor Traveller Rating:

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness

Average Customer Rating:

  • Sleep
  • Breakfast
  • Staff
  • Destination
 

Read reviews below or click here to view the hotel product page

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews
  • TripAdvisor Traveller Reviews

Friendly staff

Stay Date: 01/03/19, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Good value hotel with lots of hot water, comfy beds and a good restaurant. Dogs made very welcome and could watch red squirrels whilst having breakfast. Ideal location for starting the Coast to See More  Read more information Coast walk.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Bees Head  
Ennerdale Bridge  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
White Mare  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Absolutely superb hotel.

Stay Date: 28/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

The best hotel we've stayed in for ages. Staff were so accommodating and friendly. The room was fantastic, perfect for the dog and brilliant enormous bed. Would definitely return here. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ennerdale water walk  
Wast water walk  
At Bees coastal walk  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable stay

Stay Date: 27/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We stayed 2 nights at the Ennerdale Country House to celebrate my husband's birthday. The hotel though clean and tidy looks tired and is in need of upgrade, especially the bathroom, in the room we See More  Read more information had anyway. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent and we could not fault. We were blessed with beautiful weather.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brook Inn, Cleator  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ennerdale

Stay Date: 31/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Gb who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Hotel could do with a upgrade, beautiful house but looks very tired rooms in need of redecoration. The food was really good and we enjoyed what we ordered, breakfast on Easter Monday did take a long See More  Read more information time we were sat 40 minutes when I asked if we could order so in total we were over two hours. You need a car and make sure you have plenty of petrol as garages are few and you need to drive to getanywhere Keswick half hour, Windermere 50 minutes...   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Buttermere  
Whitehaven  
Windermere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The ship  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ennerdale

Stay Date: 18/03/18, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Beautifully appointed and very warm and comfortable hotel with very attentive staff and excellent cuisine. Nice location easy to find and great position for both coast and lakes. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Keswick Town  
Whitehaven Marina  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Brook Inn Cleator  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

After work break

Stay Date: 10/02/18, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

My husband and I wanted a break for just 2-3 nights in England but not near home. We found a Gem of a Hotel on the Super Break site which was everything we needed. The staff were helpful from the See More  Read more information start, food out 4 star, the wine reasonable priced and good quality, bar area comfortable and restful, and all was effortless for us. A wonderful rest and hopefully return there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
we went in Feb and did not do any sight seeing, just a get away and rest  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
we stayed in the hotel it was that good  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A great weekend at The Lakes

Stay Date: 15/09/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Gb who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

It was a great deal, the hotel and train attraction were lovely, we enjoyed it very much. It was a great weekend at the Lakes! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ennerdale Country House Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shocking!

Stay Date: 30/12/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

We arrived at Ennerdale Country House Hotel with the hope of spending a relaxing New Year's break, well, what a nightmare! The hotel looks nice and inviting at a first glance - but stepping inside See More  Read more information - it's very dated. Our room was cosy but once we put the lights on we saw the cobwebs everywhere...also the ventilator in the bathroom doesn't work, the heating oscillates between off/on -making youfeel either extremely hot or freezing cold! The breakfast was good - the only part of the experience that was acceptable! The dinner - the worst food I've tried in my life - blunt, overcooked, andtasteless! But the food was nothing compared to the shocking service! On the New Year's Eve - the festive dinner was a joke - prawns thrown on top of a soggy salad as a starter. And then the maincourse - expired fish! - smelled bad on top of mushy spinach! I dared to complain, asking for something else - chicken - they just took my plate away, no apology, no nothing - 5 minutes later - an oldlady came to say bluntly -"your chicken is being cooked" - no apology, like nothing happened! The chicken arrived - extra dry, with a slice of bacon on top, microwaved on full power to look hot - Icouldn't eat it! I've tried to speak with the older women who seem to be in charge -she just ignored me. Nobody came over to ask me how is my meal, finally the old woman, Jackie if i'm not mistaken,came to clear my plate - I've told her -again - that I haven't enjoyed and she has a problem with the service - her answer -"oh, really?" and she just turned her back and walked away! Purelyshocking, the most rude person I've ever met! The pudding - my partner had "the cheese platter" - one piece of blue cheese and one piece of cheddar and some celery - at dinner! New Year's Eve! Youshouldn't think that the rest of the staff are better - not even a smile, they all look like being punished to work in hospitality - unaware of what the notion means! So, at that point, starving! On a NewYear dinner that we paid for - me and my partner went to our room, luckily we had a sandwich in our rucksacks! That was our lovely "New Year experience" - not even an apology or anything -we leftearly the next day - after also paying extra for the drinks! A special mention at the end for the girl at reception whom we asked that we can take a walk to Ennerdale water - and she told us, "yes ofcourse, just go out on the right hand side of the hotel and walk, is fairly close". When walking in Cleator - we asked a local about Ennerdale water and he told us is miles away, and we couldn't gowithout a taxi or a private car! Speechless! This is by far the most rude and shocking attitude that I've encountered in a hotel, well... anywhere, and I travel a lot! Just avoid this place,don't say I didn't warn you!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cleator  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Ennerdale Country House Hotel

Stay Date: 11/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

Hotel was tired but staff and food were first class. A bit out the way but if touring a nice stop off point. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Carlisle  
Lake Windemere  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dog friendly break in the Lakes

Stay Date: 28/10/16, a customer who stayed at this hotel wrote this review.

I stayed at the Ennerdale Country House Hotel for two nights during October Half Term week with my husband & dog. We received an incredibly warm reception from the staff and I have to say this was See More  Read more information the most dog-friendly break I've been on - our dog was given treats on arrival & throughout our stay, including a sausage for breakfast! We stayed in a dog friendly room, which had patio doors thatopened out onto the garden. The room was spacious, although the bathroom was quite outdated. If you have your dog with you, you can take breakfast in the comfortable bar area or alternatively, the hoteloffers free room service. The hotel is a perfect base for exploring the area, with St Bee's beach 10 mins, Buttermere Lake 45 mins & Ennerdale Water 20 mins drive away. If you're heading out toButtermere, then be sure to visit the Bridge Hotel - it was incredibly dog friendly, with a warm atmosphere, great food & service - perfect for resting after a full day exploring! On our drive up to theLakes, we also took a trip on the Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway - not sure the dog was too impressed but he loved exploring the waterfalls at the end of the line! This review was written by a memberof SuperBreak staff.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ennerdale Water  
Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway  
Buttermere Lake  
St Bee's Beach  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bridge Hotel Buttermere  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

This review was written by a member of SuperBreak staff.

 

Showing 1-10 of 124 reviews

Write a Review

The information on this website are the views and opinions of TripAdvisor members and not TripAdvisor LLC. It is provided 'as is' and we accept no responsibility for any loss, injury or inconvenience sustained by anyone resulting from this information. You should verify critical information (like visas, health and safety, customs, and transportation) with the relevant authorities before you travel.

©2007 TripAdvisor LLC. All rights reserved

Read reviews for Ennerdale Country House Hotel 2 Night New Year Break, Cockermouth (Nr). We only accept reviews from customer who have booked Ennerdale Country House Hotel 2 Night New Year Break, Cockermouth (Nr) through us. This means better quality reviews which you can trust. View Hotel Details. These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:10

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 12:08:29

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 12:08:29

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForHotel

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForHotel.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.