Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh City

Edinburgh City Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh City, Edinburgh



Book a hotel in Edinburgh and enjoy the historical capital of Scotland and its impressive and endlessly pretty castle skyline. Edinburgh offers fantastic galleries and museums, world-class theatres and great shopping, making this destination vibrant and modern with a traditional Scottish twist.

Hotels in Edinburgh are scattered all around the city, with the main concentration being in the city centre, around Princes Street and the Royal Mile. It doesn't really matter, however, as the city is well connected with an excellent bus and tram network. In most cases, the best parts of Edinburgh are with walking distance of your hotel.

As a capital city, Edinburgh offers all of the regular delights you would expect - including excellent shopping and a nightlife that is famous all over the world - yet it has so much more to offer.

  • The Royal Mile is the cultural heart of Edinburgh. In August this street is filled with artists and acts performing and selling tickets to their shows in the Edinburgh fringe. For the rest of the year, the Royal Mile offers excellent architecture, museums, The Whiskey Experience and a whole host of bars, tourist shops and restaurants. At the top of the Royal Mile, you reach Edinburgh Castle
  • Edinburgh Castle sits atop a large hill right in the centre of Edinburgh. From here you can get some of the best views of the city, you could even see your hotel! Visit the castle for a journey through Scotland's fascinating history.
  • The Palace of Holyroodhouse offers you a chance to see into how the royals live, with it still very much being one of the Queens residences. You can purchase tickets to visit the Palace from us when you book your Edinburgh Hotel


There is so much to see and do in this thriving city. To help plan your break, we have pulled together an Edinburgh Travel Guide that should help you decide what to do whilst there. What's more, if you want to make your most out of your short break, why not save some time and hop on one of our flight packages to Edinburgh So why not book your Hotel in Edinburgh and discover all the exciting things we've mentioned here.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1267

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Good Weekend In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 18/02/10, a customer from Sunderland who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We travelled up to Edinburgh by train after work, so were pleased to find out the hotel was 5 mins from station. Asked staff if we could have a room at the front with a view over Princess street, See More  Read more information and they were only too happy to do it. Room had three of us in it, but was a reasonable size compared with some we have been in, and the view was tremendous. Hotel was a little tired in the decor, butthe room facilities were good as was the breakfast, and the staff were very helpful. Location couldn't be bettered, with transport and restaurants right on the doorstep, and the main attractions withinwalking distance.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Zoo  
Real Mary Kings Close  
Climbed Up Scott Monument  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Petit Paris In Grassmarket  
Upstairs In The Abbotsford Pub, Rose St  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wedding Anniversary Trip To Edinburgh

Stay Date: 08/03/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We spent three nights away to celebrate our wedding anniversary so with only a little time the combined bus tour/tour entry ticket suited us fine. We also did a lot of walking as Edinburgh is quite See More  Read more information compact although nothing prepared us for the number of steps/hills! The drivers on the royal tour weren't very helpful and didn't stop unless alerted to where people wanted to get on and off. If youdidn't know where the stops were you found ourselves abandoned in unfamiliar streets. The three locations included are an absolute must and we also visited the new parliament building and listened to adebate. The guided tours of different aspects of the city which are available can be quite fun to go on. We were surprised that more isn't made of the Rebus books which are popular at present, veryfew people in Edinburgh seemed to have heard of Rebus/Ian Rankin. There are lots of interesting places to eat, especially the wide variety of pubs; we recommend the cafe royal, the advocate, kays barand the halfway house. We treated ourselves to a wonderful anniversary meal at the wedgwood, wonderful cooking especially the vegetables. The Holiday Express Inn was a pleasant hotel in a convenientlocation. All in all we had a wonderful time.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holyroodhouse Palace  
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Edinburgh Castle  
Royal Edinburgh Bus Ticket  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Royal  
The Wedgwood  
Advocate Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 22/03/10, a customer from West Glamorgan who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Worlds End, Royal Mile Edinburgh  
 
 

Another Great Visit

Stay Date: 25/03/10, a customer who stayed at 5* The Principal Edinburgh George Street in Edinburgh wrote this review.

This was the second time I had used Superbreak to arrange travel and accommodation at the George. Needless to say I will book a third trip. Try to book a room that is not overlooking the alley at See More  Read more information the rear as the rubbish collections can replace an alram call ... If you were wanting one! the location is fab! local bars and restaurants are fab too!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Andalucia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Visit

Stay Date: 27/03/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Murrayfield Hotel and House in Edinburgh wrote this review.

A truely wonderful trip. The rail journey was very confortable, taking under 4 hours. But time flew past. Hotel overall was very good. We found out that because we booked through Superbreak was were See More  Read more information given a budget room. This was very small and badly in need of decorating. My husband was anxious for something to eat after our journey and would not make a fuss. I was very disappointed with theroom. Later found out if we had asked, we could have paid a small premium and had a better standard room. Overall we had a very good 3 days. Will book again with Superbreak, but will check we are gettinga more comfortable room. Edinburgh is well worth a visit. Need to go back again, there is so much more to see.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Castle  
Holyrood House  
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Botanic Garden  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Yacht Britannia Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Birthday Treat In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 17/04/10, a customer from Newark who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

My birthday treat was 2 nights at the Ramada Mount Royal and tickets to see Kate Rusby at the usher hall. Very good comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Excellent Princes Street location with See More  Read more information great views over the gardens to the castle in the dining room and bar.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Old Town  
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Howies, Grassmarket  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Playhouse Theatre Les Mis

Stay Date: 30/04/10, a customer from Sauchie who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Enjoyed the show, but the seats were very crammped spoiling it for me and my wife. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Playhouse Les Miserables  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Couple Of Days In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 26/04/10, a customer from Sittingbourne who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Great views of Edinburgh castle from our hotel room. Restaurants, bars, train station and shops just a short stroll from the hotel. Edinburgh zoo a couple of miles from city centre well worth a See More  Read more information visit. Hanams Kurdish & Middle eastern restaurant situated just off the Royal Mile served excellent food. The staff were very friendly and the restaurant was very cosy. No alcohol served but still a greatevening.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Zoo  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Viva Mexico Cockburn Street Edinburgh  
Hanam's Kurdish and Middle East Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wonderful Break

Stay Date: 15/06/10, a customer who stayed at 5* The Principal Edinburgh George Street in Edinburgh wrote this review.

It was our 24th wedding anniversay and the hotel staff were absooutely wonderful, they brought us a cake and a couple of glasses of champagne to our room. This was our second visit to the George See More  Read more information Hotel and it we would highly recommend it to anyone, the rooms are very good as are all the staff. The location is perfect, for every reason you would want to vist Edinburgh - shops, theatre, etc etc.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Shopping  
Local Walks  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Browns, On George Street.  
The George Hotel Bar and Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 15/07/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Shopping  
 
 
 

Showing 921 - 930 of 1267 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001995 @ 15/11/2018 15:01:08

Last rendered @ 18/11/2018 00:11:19

Last rendered @ 18/11/2018 00:11:19

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.