Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh City

Edinburgh City Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh City, Edinburgh



Book a hotel in Edinburgh and enjoy the historical capital of Scotland and its impressive and endlessly pretty castle skyline. Edinburgh offers fantastic galleries and museums, world-class theatres and great shopping, making this destination vibrant and modern with a traditional Scottish twist.

Hotels in Edinburgh are scattered all around the city, with the main concentration being in the city centre, around Princes Street and the Royal Mile. It doesn't really matter, however, as the city is well connected with an excellent bus and tram network. In most cases, the best parts of Edinburgh are with walking distance of your hotel.

As a capital city, Edinburgh offers all of the regular delights you would expect - including excellent shopping and a nightlife that is famous all over the world - yet it has so much more to offer.

  • The Royal Mile is the cultural heart of Edinburgh. In August this street is filled with artists and acts performing and selling tickets to their shows in the Edinburgh fringe. For the rest of the year, the Royal Mile offers excellent architecture, museums, The Whiskey Experience and a whole host of bars, tourist shops and restaurants. At the top of the Royal Mile, you reach Edinburgh Castle
  • Edinburgh Castle sits atop a large hill right in the centre of Edinburgh. From here you can get some of the best views of the city, you could even see your hotel! Visit the castle for a journey through Scotland's fascinating history.
  • The Palace of Holyroodhouse offers you a chance to see into how the royals live, with it still very much being one of the Queens residences. You can purchase tickets to visit the Palace from us when you book your Edinburgh Hotel


There is so much to see and do in this thriving city. To help plan your break, we have pulled together an Edinburgh Travel Guide that should help you decide what to do whilst there. What's more, if you want to make your most out of your short break, why not save some time and hop on one of our flight packages to Edinburgh So why not book your Hotel in Edinburgh and discover all the exciting things we've mentioned here.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1290

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short break in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 21/10/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Excellent location for city centre and transport links. Room although large was disappointing as on lower ground floor and therefore couldn't open windows as they did not have locks. Also, large See More  Read more information pillar in middle of floor completely obstructed view of television from bed. Having said that we have stayed here a few times before and it has always met our requirements.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Filling Station  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Old Waverley Hotel

Stay Date: 24/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Wigan who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Edinburgh. It is extremely convenient being located opposite the station. The rooms are spacious and the staff can't do enough See More  Read more information for you - very professional and accommodating. We did not eat in the restaurant but had breakfast which was the usual cereals, toast eggs, bacon etc and very tasty.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Open Top Bus  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great break in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 26/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Stayed at the Old Waverley, which is a great location to explore all the attractions. Our room was spacious, with a really large bed, clean and not too warm. Breakfast was good with enough choice See More  Read more information and the cost of drinks at the bar was not exorbitant. Would definitely use this hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
devils advocate  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short break in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 28/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Britannia Hotel Edinburgh in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Good value for money. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dome  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Standing Order  
The Alexander Graham Bell  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 30/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Angus who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We had stayed in this hotel previously for a special birthday and had very good memories of it as the staff, food and bedrooms were lovely. This time our bedrooms were in the basement and though See More  Read more information both were clean and comfortable, one of them had a window with frosted glass. This meant the room was quite dark and felt very claustrophobic as you could not see out at all even just to check theweather. The same room was also very noisy on the Friday night when it appeared that supplies were being moved or delivered on the ground floor above the bedroom.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gladstone's House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A few days in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 01/11/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Beverley who stayed at 4* Holyrood Aparthotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The Holyrood ApartHotel was in a fantastic location for exploring Edinburgh; everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. The hotel was only 10-15 minutes walk from the train station, so See More  Read more information no need for a taxi. Our apartment was small, but more than enough space for the two of us. The room was cleaned every day to a very high standard. The room had a nice little kitchen and bathroom. Ouronly criticism was that it was a little noisy in the mornings. We visited Edinburgh Castle and the Camera Obscura which were both approximately a 15-20 minute walk away from the hotel; a verypleasant walk up the Royal Mile. We also went on a ghost walk with City of Edinburgh Tours which takes you to Greyfriars churchyard and underground; the guide on this tour was excellent! We ate at some greatplaces during our trip: Holyrood 9A (great burgers), The Dogs and Field. A lot of great restaurants to choose from. Overall, a brilliant break in a fantastic city!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Camera Obscura  
Edinburgh Castle  
City of Edinburgh Tours - Graveyard & Underground Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Dogs  
Holyrood 9A  
Field  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinbrugh

Stay Date: 03/11/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Macdonald Holyrood Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Edinburgh - a good place to visit from attractions to theatre to shopping. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub  
Bella Vista  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Break

Stay Date: 06/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Received a warm welcome at the hotel. The room was lovely and it was warm on a dismal and cold day. The bathroom unfortunately was extremely cold and although there was a radiator on the wall it was See More  Read more information never on - despite our best attempts to get it to work. We had an evening meal included in our package and it was disappointingly mediocre. The breakfasts however were much better.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Gallery  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Andaluz  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Holiday Inn Edinbugh

Stay Date: 19/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Perth who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Edinburgh (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Handy for buses to city centre, next door to Zoo was good for panda visit. Final morning sun shining and was nice to hear the gibbons and baboons welcoming the sun rise reminded us of our holidays See More  Read more information to Africa and the Far East.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zoo  
Shops  
Pubs  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tiles  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

First time in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 21/11/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Wakefield who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Edinburgh City West in Edinburgh wrote this review.

On arrival we got a taxi to our hotel as we thought it was further than it actually was. Our hotel room was on the 4th floor which gave us a great view of the coast and castle. We went back to the See More  Read more information hotel after an afternoon and evening in town for a glass of wine. I found this a little on the expensive side. The buffet breakfast W's is great - all hot and tasty and not short of anything. Serverswere good and friendly and served hot tea and coffee.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shops  
Christmas Markets  
Train station  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Rose Hip  
Holiday inn buffet breakfast  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 751 - 760 of 1290 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:24

Last rendered @ 19/05/2019 17:21:57

Last rendered @ 19/05/2019 17:21:57

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.