Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh City

Edinburgh City Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh City, Edinburgh



Book a hotel in Edinburgh and enjoy the historical capital of Scotland and its impressive and endlessly pretty castle skyline. Edinburgh offers fantastic galleries and museums, world-class theatres and great shopping, making this destination vibrant and modern with a traditional Scottish twist.

Hotels in Edinburgh are scattered all around the city, with the main concentration being in the city centre, around Princes Street and the Royal Mile. It doesn't really matter, however, as the city is well connected with an excellent bus and tram network. In most cases, the best parts of Edinburgh are with walking distance of your hotel.

As a capital city, Edinburgh offers all of the regular delights you would expect - including excellent shopping and a nightlife that is famous all over the world - yet it has so much more to offer.

  • The Royal Mile is the cultural heart of Edinburgh. In August this street is filled with artists and acts performing and selling tickets to their shows in the Edinburgh fringe. For the rest of the year, the Royal Mile offers excellent architecture, museums, The Whiskey Experience and a whole host of bars, tourist shops and restaurants. At the top of the Royal Mile, you reach Edinburgh Castle
  • Edinburgh Castle sits atop a large hill right in the centre of Edinburgh. From here you can get some of the best views of the city, you could even see your hotel! Visit the castle for a journey through Scotland's fascinating history.
  • The Palace of Holyroodhouse offers you a chance to see into how the royals live, with it still very much being one of the Queens residences. You can purchase tickets to visit the Palace from us when you book your Edinburgh Hotel


There is so much to see and do in this thriving city. To help plan your break, we have pulled together an Edinburgh Travel Guide that should help you decide what to do whilst there. What's more, if you want to make your most out of your short break, why not save some time and hop on one of our flight packages to Edinburgh So why not book your Hotel in Edinburgh and discover all the exciting things we've mentioned here.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1267

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Edinburgh break.

Stay Date: 07/12/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Edinburgh (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Great two days in Edinburgh - we visited the market and shops and enjoyed travelling on the local bus service. The meal on first night was very nice. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shops  
Xmas Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Market  
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Xmas shopping

Stay Date: 06/12/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Newcastle Upon Tyne who stayed at 4* Macdonald Holyrood Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel room cold. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Xmas market edinburgh  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Edinburgh Break

Stay Date: 05/12/17, a customer aged 65+ from Middlesbrough who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

All arrangements went smoothly - train travel, seat reservations, and hotel. We were extremely pleased with our hotel and could find no fault with it at all - including the lovely dinner. The See More  Read more information Scottish staff were all very friendly and helpful. Needed to be fit for a lot of walking to get to all the attractions, but it was worth it!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Market  
Palace of Holyrood House  
Edinburgh Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Christmas Markets

Stay Date: 05/12/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Jurys Inn Edinburgh in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Jurys Inn located next to Waverley Station and ideal for getting around Edinburgh. A comfortable hotel, but some parts could be improved. It was very clean, lovely comfortable bed with nice bedding. See More  Read more information Bathrooms need some renovations. Breakfast in morning okay but much better on the 2nd day. Would stay again though as hotel in great location.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Dome  
Gin Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Grain Store  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great stay in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 28/11/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Ten Hill Place Hotel (2 Night Upgrade & Wine Offer) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel was about a 15 minute walk from train station but you could get a taxi. The location was very quiet. A modern hotel but still had charm with friendly staff. Although no double glazing the room See More  Read more information was still warm with good drapes and heating. Fantastic bathroom and great towels. Breakfast was delicious.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Market  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh in December

Stay Date: 03/12/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Gb who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The Crowne Plaza hotel was a lovely hotel with the friendliest staff I've ever met. Edinburgh really dresses itself for the Christmas period especially The Dome which was breathtakingly beautiful. See More  Read more information We visited the 'Scotland through the Ages' ice sculptures which were amazing and well worth the entry fee and the -10 temperature! When darkness fell the Christmas market and fairground sparkledmagically! A wonderful experience especially with a cup of mulled wine to keep you warm as you are tempted by the beautiful stalls. A memorable break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Dome  
Christmas Markets  
Ice Sculptures  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Dome  
Amarone  
The Refinery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 03/12/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Edinburgh (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Nice to revisit Edinburgh again after quite a few years break. Holiday Inn by the Zoo was very convenient as the bus service into the city was excellent. The Christmas markets were on so it was very See More  Read more information busy. It was just a nice couple of days time out.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Mile  
Princess St  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Top weekend in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 01/12/17, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Crowne Plaza Hotel was very clean, served good food, was in a great location and had very helpful, friendly and welcoming staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Xmas Market  
black bull pub  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre Royal  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Flying visit to Edinburgh

Stay Date: 30/11/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The Old Waverley Hotel was very convenient for the station and for visiting the Christmas markets etc. The hotel was very nice, excellent room but the only problem is that being on Princes Street See More  Read more information there was traffic noise all night.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Gallery of Scotland  
Christmas Markets  
national museum scotland  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 29/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Dundee who stayed at 4* Macdonald Holyrood Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

When we arrived at the hotel we could not check in as we were early. We were able to leave our luggage so we had a walk around the Christmas markets. When we arrived back our luggage had been taken See More  Read more information upstairs. When we arrived into room we emptied our cases & had a lie down, that's when it all went wrong. We asked for a quite room but we were right next to the lift. Nightmare you heard the liftgoing up and down & doors opening & closing. The room was cold so turned on heating but was not working found a small heater in wardrobe turned that on but plug was loose & plug was hot - very hot - sohad to turn off. Went downstairs to have a word with reception, they said we could have another room. As we were going out for the evening when we arrived back we then had to move our clothes etc.After having an early start & long day it really spoilt my stay. Very disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 51 - 60 of 1267 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001995 @ 15/11/2018 15:25:46

Last rendered @ 17/11/2018 10:35:39

Last rendered @ 17/11/2018 10:35:39

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.