Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh City

Edinburgh City Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh City, Edinburgh



Book a hotel in Edinburgh and enjoy the historical capital of Scotland and its impressive and endlessly pretty castle skyline. Edinburgh offers fantastic galleries and museums, world-class theatres and great shopping, making this destination vibrant and modern with a traditional Scottish twist.

Hotels in Edinburgh are scattered all around the city, with the main concentration being in the city centre, around Princes Street and the Royal Mile. It doesn't really matter, however, as the city is well connected with an excellent bus and tram network. In most cases, the best parts of Edinburgh are with walking distance of your hotel.

As a capital city, Edinburgh offers all of the regular delights you would expect - including excellent shopping and a nightlife that is famous all over the world - yet it has so much more to offer.

  • The Royal Mile is the cultural heart of Edinburgh. In August this street is filled with artists and acts performing and selling tickets to their shows in the Edinburgh fringe. For the rest of the year, the Royal Mile offers excellent architecture, museums, The Whiskey Experience and a whole host of bars, tourist shops and restaurants. At the top of the Royal Mile, you reach Edinburgh Castle
  • Edinburgh Castle sits atop a large hill right in the centre of Edinburgh. From here you can get some of the best views of the city, you could even see your hotel! Visit the castle for a journey through Scotland's fascinating history.
  • The Palace of Holyroodhouse offers you a chance to see into how the royals live, with it still very much being one of the Queens residences. You can purchase tickets to visit the Palace from us when you book your Edinburgh Hotel


There is so much to see and do in this thriving city. To help plan your break, we have pulled together an Edinburgh Travel Guide that should help you decide what to do whilst there. What's more, if you want to make your most out of your short break, why not save some time and hop on one of our flight packages to Edinburgh So why not book your Hotel in Edinburgh and discover all the exciting things we've mentioned here.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1284

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Exellent Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 30/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The good weather for the time of year was a great bonus. From the minute we stepped off the train to our return it was a fantastic break. Having never been north of the border before we wern`t sure See More  Read more information what to expect, but everything was marvelous, the hotel the bars and resturants, the shops and the people. The open top bus trips are very good as was the royal yacht brittania. Can`t wait to go back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Yacht Brittania  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mussel Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 24/10/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle  
Cinema  
Brittaina  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Local Pub  
 
 

3 Days in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 15/04/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

My sister and I chose to stay at the Mercure Mount Royal as we had stayed there before. our room overlooked Princes Street with fantastic views ot the castle and gardens.Our room was a little bit on See More  Read more information the small side with only one drawer between the two of us and we felt that it lacked surfaces to put things especially in the bathroom.We also felt that the single duvets on the beds were too smallfor adults and our sleep was not as comfortable as it might . have been as a result. The hotel as a whole was well run and the staff very helpful.The hotel was very well situated and we walkedeverywhere except for the Royal yacht when we caught a bus on Princes street.The castle is amazing and we also enjoyed our visit to the Scottish parliament . The museum of childhood is a wonderful place tovisit-something for everyone and great when the weather is not too good.The royal yacht is good to visit but allow some time to visit the ocean terminal shopping mall as well   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scottish Parliament Building  
Edinburgh Castle  
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 11/10/13, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Had a lovely weekend in Edinburgh staying at the Mercure hotel which is perfectly located in the centre of Edinburgh. The hotel is very good quality and well worth the extra cost of staying See More  Read more information centrally and has fantastic views of the castle from the bedroom window. For the first time in Edinburgh we had to visit the castle which was interesting, however I'm not sure it was truly worth the money totake the full tour. I would recommend getting the bus to Ocean Terminal and visiting the Royal Yacht Britannia. Great historical city and lovely visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Dungeons  
Royal Yacht Brittania  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hadrian's Edinburgh  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Break

Stay Date: 15/10/13, a customer aged 65+ from Glasgow who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Edinburgh hotel location excellent very handy for train shopping and theatre hotel room a bit too hot. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Bus Tour  
Scottish Parliament  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shopping in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 24/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Hartlepool who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

My daughter and myself wanted to go Christmas shopping in Edinburgh.The hotel is in the main street and easy to find,it is good value for money,clean and comfortable.We had lovely views of the See More  Read more information Christmas market and the big wheel it was magical when all lit up.We were lucky enough to see the Christmas lights being turned on and the firework display.We travel to Edinburgh often and I am pleased tosay we have now found our ideal hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 27/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Glasgow who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Great time in Edinburgh the location and views from our room where excellent .The show was great the shops and the bars where on our doorstep. . See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lion King  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
indian near theatre  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 10/01/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Great position for shopping and getting around Edinburgh See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

York is a great place to visit

Stay Date: 03/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Peterborough who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

My first trip here ,a great place to stay and look round.everything is within easy reach.Certainly dont need a car . See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Yacht  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jimmys  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great break in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 16/04/14, a customer aged 65+ from Wembley who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

With just a 2 night stay we managed to fit in 5 major Edinburgh attractions. We were lucky with the weather. Prepared for rain, I actually got touched by the sun, in April. The Mercure hotel, a See More  Read more information stone's throw from Waverley station, was pleasant with just a few niggles (nothing's perfect); I would revisit. The train from London was good but rather crowded. Going home, alcohol was banned inScotland only and in England some of the young soldiers etc. that got on were drunk & foul mouthed; take music and a headphone!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Botanic Gardens  
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 261 - 270 of 1284 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:14

Last rendered @ 22/05/2019 06:10:23

Last rendered @ 22/05/2019 06:10:23

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.