Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh City

Edinburgh City Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh City, Edinburgh



Book a hotel in Edinburgh and enjoy the historical capital of Scotland and its impressive and endlessly pretty castle skyline. Edinburgh offers fantastic galleries and museums, world-class theatres and great shopping, making this destination vibrant and modern with a traditional Scottish twist.

Hotels in Edinburgh are scattered all around the city, with the main concentration being in the city centre, around Princes Street and the Royal Mile. It doesn't really matter, however, as the city is well connected with an excellent bus and tram network. In most cases, the best parts of Edinburgh are with walking distance of your hotel.

As a capital city, Edinburgh offers all of the regular delights you would expect - including excellent shopping and a nightlife that is famous all over the world - yet it has so much more to offer.

  • The Royal Mile is the cultural heart of Edinburgh. In August this street is filled with artists and acts performing and selling tickets to their shows in the Edinburgh fringe. For the rest of the year, the Royal Mile offers excellent architecture, museums, The Whiskey Experience and a whole host of bars, tourist shops and restaurants. At the top of the Royal Mile, you reach Edinburgh Castle
  • Edinburgh Castle sits atop a large hill right in the centre of Edinburgh. From here you can get some of the best views of the city, you could even see your hotel! Visit the castle for a journey through Scotland's fascinating history.
  • The Palace of Holyroodhouse offers you a chance to see into how the royals live, with it still very much being one of the Queens residences. You can purchase tickets to visit the Palace from us when you book your Edinburgh Hotel


There is so much to see and do in this thriving city. To help plan your break, we have pulled together an Edinburgh Travel Guide that should help you decide what to do whilst there. What's more, if you want to make your most out of your short break, why not save some time and hop on one of our flight packages to Edinburgh So why not book your Hotel in Edinburgh and discover all the exciting things we've mentioned here.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1290

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Mini break to Edinburgh

Stay Date: 23/05/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We found the hotel, breakfast and the evening meal on the first night all good value, our meal was cooked and presented as we'd requested. The staff were al very pleasant and most helpful. Our room See More  Read more information was clean and well stocked with toiletries. I also thought the extra touch of dressing gowns in the room very handy after having a bath. We would definitely be using this hotel again and we wouldalso use SuperBreak for another short break. Thank you for a lovely holiday.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scottish Parliament  
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Edinburgh castl  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Mini Break in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 26/05/16, a customer aged 25-44 from King's Lynn who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Lovely city. Lots of lovely sights and things to do but be prepared for lots of walking. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Dungeons  
Edinburgh Castle  
Edinburgh Musuem  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Filling Station  
Hotel Crowne Plaza  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 31/05/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 5* Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel room good for catering for a disabled child. Very friendly staff. Easy to get a taxi and lots of bus services at hand. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle  
Royal Mile  
Yacht Britania  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
sluge &lettuce  
valerie pattisarie  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic celebratory break in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 01/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The staff in The Crowne Plaza Hotel gave us lots of help and advice on local tourist attractions, short cuts and scenic walking routes around the city and interesting historical stories about the See More  Read more information local area as well as being so helpful with luggage and with all the usual hotel info. The location, food and facilities were perfect for our group. The garden was a hidden gem, perfect for a drink inthe sunshine. Every person on our trip said they would definitely return to Edinburgh and to this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Yacht Brittannia  
Holyrood House  
Edinburgh city bus tours  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great visit to Edinburgh

Stay Date: 03/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Our hotel had a great location in the new town. Staff were really friendly and attentive. . See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mary Kings Close  
Open Top Bus  
Holyrood House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent Edinburgh

Stay Date: 19/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Fab hotel, great location, lovely sightseeing close by with nice food in hotel. We had dinner included on 1st night, breakfast was good. Visited the Camera Obscura which was very good especially the See More  Read more information mirror maze. Had dinner and lunch at Jamie Oliver's - perfect! All in all a great trip.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Camera Obscura  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jamie's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh special

Stay Date: 24/06/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Novotel Edinburgh Centre in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Number 27 or 23 bus from outside hotel takes you right into centre of town. For £4 day ticket. Hotel staff at breakfast were excellent. No matter how busy. Manager was so attentive. "Good morning " See More  Read more information how are you today? Shown to table! Asked tea or coffee? Is there anything else we can get you? In fact he was the nicest restaurant manager I have ever met! Location little bit to far out of town. Wewould have preferred to have been in city centre. Rooms need decorating. Pool small.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Palace  
Zoo  
Art musium  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

First but not last time in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 04/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Todmorden who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Wow Edinburgh has spectacular architecture in spades and this won't be the only time we visit. Picked the Old Waverley Hotel from the brochure because it was very close to the train station so we See More  Read more information could walk with suitcase to it. Yep it was very close, it also has great views from the bar and breakfast area across to old Edinburgh, great for a nice drink and people watch. We also had an afternoontea which was very nice and a reasonable price £11.95 each. Room was very comfortable and the bed was firm so got good sleep. Was some noise but this was from building works in nearby office\shopcomplex. Breakfast was great, plenty of it one of the reasons I booked the hotel, my husband likes a full Scottish! We didn't need any lunch! All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Wouldrecommend a sightseeing bus tour. We went all way round first time so we knew when to stop off next time. Also went to Mary King's Close (was recommended to me). It was a good attraction with real lifeexamples of the people who lived there and was unusual. Also went to Hanam's restaurant at the castle end of the Royal mile. We like Persian food and their Ghormeh Sabzi was very tasty, the staff werefriendly and the prices were reasonable given it's location and the portion sizes!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mary King's Close  
Bank of Scotland  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hanams  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Warm welcome

Stay Date: 08/07/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Royal Scots Club in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Holiday was great, though the journey up was difficult because our train was cancelled and we had to dash to Euston (with hundreds of others) to catch another. The only problem with the hotel was See More  Read more information that our room was VERY warm due to its location above kitchen and hot water boiler, due to health and safety the widow opening was inadequate. We would stay there again but in a different room. Otherthan that it was a great break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scottish Portrait Gallery  
Palace of Holyroodhouae  
Thistle chapel  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bar Napoli  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great value for money

Stay Date: 16/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Crown Plaza Edinburgh is well located and very good value for money. The staff are a credit to Crown Plaza Group and the food was excellent. Great stay - Thanks. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Castle Concert  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Crown Plaza  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 121 - 130 of 1290 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:24

Last rendered @ 19/05/2019 17:21:48

Last rendered @ 19/05/2019 17:21:48

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.