Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh City

Edinburgh City Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh City, Edinburgh



Book a hotel in Edinburgh and enjoy the historical capital of Scotland and its impressive and endlessly pretty castle skyline. Edinburgh offers fantastic galleries and museums, world-class theatres and great shopping, making this destination vibrant and modern with a traditional Scottish twist.

Hotels in Edinburgh are scattered all around the city, with the main concentration being in the city centre, around Princes Street and the Royal Mile. It doesn't really matter, however, as the city is well connected with an excellent bus and tram network. In most cases, the best parts of Edinburgh are with walking distance of your hotel.

As a capital city, Edinburgh offers all of the regular delights you would expect - including excellent shopping and a nightlife that is famous all over the world - yet it has so much more to offer.

  • The Royal Mile is the cultural heart of Edinburgh. In August this street is filled with artists and acts performing and selling tickets to their shows in the Edinburgh fringe. For the rest of the year, the Royal Mile offers excellent architecture, museums, The Whiskey Experience and a whole host of bars, tourist shops and restaurants. At the top of the Royal Mile, you reach Edinburgh Castle
  • Edinburgh Castle sits atop a large hill right in the centre of Edinburgh. From here you can get some of the best views of the city, you could even see your hotel! Visit the castle for a journey through Scotland's fascinating history.
  • The Palace of Holyroodhouse offers you a chance to see into how the royals live, with it still very much being one of the Queens residences. You can purchase tickets to visit the Palace from us when you book your Edinburgh Hotel


There is so much to see and do in this thriving city. To help plan your break, we have pulled together an Edinburgh Travel Guide that should help you decide what to do whilst there. What's more, if you want to make your most out of your short break, why not save some time and hop on one of our flight packages to Edinburgh So why not book your Hotel in Edinburgh and discover all the exciting things we've mentioned here.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1282

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Weekend in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 08/12/06, a customer from Jarrow who stayed at 4* Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

stayed at the Ten Hill Place Hotel ,a brand new hotel situated in a quiet location but still just a short walk from the many busy shops bars & restraunts. the staff at the Ten Hill Place Hotel were See More  Read more information very warm friendly & helpfull making staying there a real pleasure i reccomend using the Edinburgh city tour buses as they are very frequent.a ticket is valid for 24 hours you can get on and off asoften as you like an ideal way to get your bearings and get to the many tourist attractions   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Princes Street  
The Royal Mile  
Edinburgh Christmas Market  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Turkish View

Stay Date: 28/12/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Had a great breakfast in Dalkeith Turkish owned. Went to City Centre for the day enjoyed the sights of the castle mile. In the evening went on the Auld Reekie Tour not the best tour areas inside the See More  Read more information vaults very shabby and smelly. Saturday we went to city again got lost TOM TOM sent us into a restricted area Bus drivers very helpful. The hotel we stayed in on the Waterfront was basic rooms verycold. The breakfast wasnt very good no cooked food. Not good value for money we paid the same for a better hotel in Newcastle which had heaters in the rooms and cooked breakfast.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Mile  
Obscura  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Turkish Restaurant, Hanover Street  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 27/04/07, a customer from Newcastle Upon Tyne who stayed at 3* Grassmarket Hotel in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scottish Museum  
Scottish Art Gallery  
 
 

Short Break in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 15/02/08, a customer from Cumnock who stayed at 4* Ten Hill Place Hotel in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Dungeons  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia, Royal Mile  
Filling Staion  
 
 

Express by Holiday Inn

Stay Date: 19/10/08, a customer from Stockport who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Museum of Illusions  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Giuliano's  
 
 

Birthday Edinburgh

Stay Date: 22/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We used vouchers from family to go to Edinburgh for a weekend in Leith. The hotel location was perfect.We had a quiet room spacious and comfortable bed.The shower room was clean and warm and good See More  Read more information hot water supply.We hope to revisit next year to do more museums etc.This time Christmas shopping took up more of our visit but as shops were close at hand it was stress free. The staff were veryfriendly.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ocean Terminal Shopping Centre  
Brittania  
christmas fair edinburgh  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyed our Trips but not the Hotel

Stay Date: 06/07/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre in Edinburgh wrote this review.

At the Holiday Inn Express, Edinburgh (Picardy Place): We had a very small room and although it was on ground floor (reception being on 1st floor), it was like being in the basement. We looked out See More  Read more information on a brick wall and small car park. We asked if we could be moved and was told they were full up. Considering I booked in January, I thought this was very poor. We went for breakfast just after 8 inthe morning and there were no seats, so we went to lower level and food was limited. I ate 2 cold croissants and supplied my own peppermint tea each day. We were here for 7 days. I couldn't wait to gethome for some daylight! We enjoyed our organised trips (which we did) but didn't like Edinburgh very much because of the hills. From our hotel it was hilly and a lot of the pavements are out of boundsdue to lots of roadworks. We asked the staff at reception where the nearest bus stop was and they didn't really know and also where to catch a particular bus to Holyrood Palace and again they didn'tknow. The train to and from was great and thoroughly enjoyed the ride plus food.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Botanic Gardens  
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Grayline Coach Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
David Bann Vegetarian Restaurant  
Pizza Express  
Restaurant in Edinburgh Botanic Gardens  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor hotel

Stay Date: 27/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The hotel was old and tired - needs updating, no double glazing might as well slept on the street, breakfast left us having bad stomach. Gave us a room, we went sightseeing and came back, they had See More  Read more information given to someone else, gave us a back room, so small, had to be asked to move. Staff very unfriendly, slapped keys down on desk, manager just didn't give a hoot, no customer skills. Your staff wereabsolutely fantastic when I booked this mini break, you are doing yourself an injustice to your staff and company, promoting this hell hole, the only good thing was location. We worked hard to go on thistrip, a decent night's sleep was the least we expected, and some courtesy, extremely disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bus Tour  
Cadtle  
Mary's cross  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hard Rock  
Bells Italia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor Hotel

Stay Date: 22/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Worksop who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The room was small, there was a rubber bath mat which was covered in mould, really dirty. The fire escape blocked the window, paper was peeling off the ceiling, one of the lifts was broken. The food See More  Read more information was really bad. Only good thing about the hotel was that the restaurant overlooked Princes Street.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 16/09/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel - bedroom comfortable, light bulb missing over bed, shower reported faulty - fixed same day. Bar area extremely cold. Restaurant - extremely cold, asked staff to reduce air conditioning but See More  Read more information they were unable to do this and reported it to maintenance. Cold again the next day. Hot food at breakfast both mornings very cold. Evening meal first night excellent but the second evening was adifferent chef and food was awful. One meal sent back and alternative offered but declined. After speaking to several members of staff they all said the management was 'hopeless'.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Museum of Childhood  
Holyrood Palace  
Royal Yacht Britannia  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1141 - 1150 of 1282 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:23

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 15:57:58

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 15:57:58

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.