Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh City

Edinburgh City Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh City, Edinburgh



Book a hotel in Edinburgh and enjoy the historical capital of Scotland and its impressive and endlessly pretty castle skyline. Edinburgh offers fantastic galleries and museums, world-class theatres and great shopping, making this destination vibrant and modern with a traditional Scottish twist.

Hotels in Edinburgh are scattered all around the city, with the main concentration being in the city centre, around Princes Street and the Royal Mile. It doesn't really matter, however, as the city is well connected with an excellent bus and tram network. In most cases, the best parts of Edinburgh are with walking distance of your hotel.

As a capital city, Edinburgh offers all of the regular delights you would expect - including excellent shopping and a nightlife that is famous all over the world - yet it has so much more to offer.

  • The Royal Mile is the cultural heart of Edinburgh. In August this street is filled with artists and acts performing and selling tickets to their shows in the Edinburgh fringe. For the rest of the year, the Royal Mile offers excellent architecture, museums, The Whiskey Experience and a whole host of bars, tourist shops and restaurants. At the top of the Royal Mile, you reach Edinburgh Castle
  • Edinburgh Castle sits atop a large hill right in the centre of Edinburgh. From here you can get some of the best views of the city, you could even see your hotel! Visit the castle for a journey through Scotland's fascinating history.
  • The Palace of Holyroodhouse offers you a chance to see into how the royals live, with it still very much being one of the Queens residences. You can purchase tickets to visit the Palace from us when you book your Edinburgh Hotel


There is so much to see and do in this thriving city. To help plan your break, we have pulled together an Edinburgh Travel Guide that should help you decide what to do whilst there. What's more, if you want to make your most out of your short break, why not save some time and hop on one of our flight packages to Edinburgh So why not book your Hotel in Edinburgh and discover all the exciting things we've mentioned here.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1252

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

A Fantastic Girlie Weekend

Stay Date: 11/12/09, a customer from West Yorkshire who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

I went to Edinburgh with my mum, we stayed on Princes Street, right in the heart of it all and had a fantastic girlie weekend!. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Princes Street  
Christmas Market  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Pre-Christmas Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 09/12/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Murrayfield Hotel and House in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Great few days and managed to cram Holyrood Palace, Edinburgh dungeons, Camera Obscura and Mary Kings close into such a short time. Unfortunately, my husband's suitcase was stolen from the train on See More  Read more information the way back - but all his washing was in my case! typical.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Camera Obscura  
Edinburgh Dungeons  
Holyrood Palace  
Mary Kings Close  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Winter Break

Stay Date: 29/11/09, a customer from Ferryhill who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel was lovely. The room was small but clean. Having no complimentary biscuits on the refreshment tray sames a little mean. If booking train with Superbreak beware train availablity. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ramada Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor’s comments: Seats can be reserved on trains by taking Superbreak tickets to the station. This is possible with any type of train ticket which Superbreak provides, as train times are not held in our offices.

 

Pity About The Weather

Stay Date: 24/11/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

It never once stopped raining so spoilt our short break but we will try again and hope for better weather next time. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Castle  
Holyrood Palace  
National Gallery of Scotland  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Old Waverly Hotel  
Saigon Saigon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 26/10/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Murrayfield Hotel and House in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holyrood House  
HMS Brittania  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Royal  
 
 

Weekend In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 24/10/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Murrayfield Hotel and House in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The Murryfield hotel was really nice. The rooms were clean and warm but a little short on space around the bed and furniture. The facilities in the room and hotel were really good. The location was See More  Read more information quite good as the bus service in and out of the centre was brilliant.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rose Street  
Edinburgh Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Weekend By Train

Stay Date: 24/10/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Murrayfield Hotel and House in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Our break was mainly to visit our twin 1 year old grand-daughters, and also to visit some attractions with them and their parents. The dates were thus planned in advance without knowing that network See More  Read more information rail were undertaking engineering work and would close the line. We took this as an advantage as we were able to identify through service which took in the roman wall country, Hexham and Carlisle - abeautiful journey. The hotel we had been booked into ceased trading, so we were allocated anothyer nearby. The first room we were shown at the murrayfield was a joke - there was literally no room toget around one side of the bed and the furniture was badly worn. We asked to be re-roomed and that was done courteously. Cleanliness was good, although the hotel seemed 'worn' - despite it recentlyachieving a 3 star rating from visitscotland (so we were told). The staff were excellent, knowledgeable and attentive.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Botanical Gardens, Edinburgh  
National Museum Of Scotland, Chambers Street, Edin  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 23/09/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The Ramada hotel is most conveniently situated on Princes St. near to all the tour buses & station & overlooking the gardens & Scott monument. First class shops either side. Hotel was comfortable See More  Read more information and staff friendly and helpful. Bedroom was too hot, though a fan was provided, if we had wished to use it. The tour buses are a good way of seeing the city. Take the 2-day pass for an extra £2 and useany bus, getting on and off as you please.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scottish Parliament & Debating Chamber  
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Botanic Gardens  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ramada Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Few Days In Snowy Edinburgh

Stay Date: 03/01/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Murrayfield Hotel and House in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We thoroughly enjoyed our post new year break at the Murrayfield hotel & lodge in Edinburgh. The city looked wonderful in the snow. Everywhere we went the people were always very friendly and See More  Read more information helpful. The city's bus service was excellent despite the inclement weather. We can highly recommend our hotel, a lovely mix of traditional design with a modern influence which meant we were verycomfortable and well looked after. The meals at the hotel were fantastic and the staff were extremely friendly and professional. The main purpose of our stay was a little sight seeing mixed in with a lot ofshopping and we were not disappointed with the large variety of excellent shopping facilities, and great places to eat out, even though my husband would not let me go in harvey nichols! Also we were veryhappy to find studio xiii tattoos and can highly recommend them if you are looking for some great ink!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Princes Street  
Royal Mile  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Frankie & Benny's  
Murrayfield Hotel  
Toby Carvery, Corstophine Road  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Murrayfield Hotel Stay

Stay Date: 01/02/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Murrayfield Hotel and House in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel was within easy reach of centre/attractions, hotel clean with excellent and helpfull staff. Local bus service excellent and cheap, only down point Edinburgh not disabled freindly ie wheel See More  Read more information chair users. Would return again and have receommend to family and friends.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Zoo  
Dungeons  
Edinburgh Castle  
Royal Britannia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1121 - 1130 of 1252 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:21

Last rendered @ 27/06/2019 09:31:04

Last rendered @ 27/06/2019 09:31:04

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.