Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh City

Edinburgh City Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh City, Edinburgh



Book a hotel in Edinburgh and enjoy the historical capital of Scotland and its impressive and endlessly pretty castle skyline. Edinburgh offers fantastic galleries and museums, world-class theatres and great shopping, making this destination vibrant and modern with a traditional Scottish twist.

Hotels in Edinburgh are scattered all around the city, with the main concentration being in the city centre, around Princes Street and the Royal Mile. It doesn't really matter, however, as the city is well connected with an excellent bus and tram network. In most cases, the best parts of Edinburgh are with walking distance of your hotel.

As a capital city, Edinburgh offers all of the regular delights you would expect - including excellent shopping and a nightlife that is famous all over the world - yet it has so much more to offer.

  • The Royal Mile is the cultural heart of Edinburgh. In August this street is filled with artists and acts performing and selling tickets to their shows in the Edinburgh fringe. For the rest of the year, the Royal Mile offers excellent architecture, museums, The Whiskey Experience and a whole host of bars, tourist shops and restaurants. At the top of the Royal Mile, you reach Edinburgh Castle
  • Edinburgh Castle sits atop a large hill right in the centre of Edinburgh. From here you can get some of the best views of the city, you could even see your hotel! Visit the castle for a journey through Scotland's fascinating history.
  • The Palace of Holyroodhouse offers you a chance to see into how the royals live, with it still very much being one of the Queens residences. You can purchase tickets to visit the Palace from us when you book your Edinburgh Hotel


There is so much to see and do in this thriving city. To help plan your break, we have pulled together an Edinburgh Travel Guide that should help you decide what to do whilst there. What's more, if you want to make your most out of your short break, why not save some time and hop on one of our flight packages to Edinburgh So why not book your Hotel in Edinburgh and discover all the exciting things we've mentioned here.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1282

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 17/07/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Fountain Court Apartments - Morrison in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Very nice and clean hotel apartments, I like the town overall. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle  
Whisky experience  
Earth History  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

First Time At Edinburgh Festival!

Stay Date: 06/08/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Royal Scots Club in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Amazing city and loved the festival - lots of free eventst and shows were amazing and cheaper than london - a chance to see three shows in a day! hotel was short walk - nice room and great breakfast See More  Read more information although a bit formal in the dining room where men are expected to wear jackets and ties - not sure if that applied to breakfast but my husband didnt and felt a bit out of place!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fringe Theatre  
Edinburgh Castle  
Fringe Comedy  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 11/08/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Fountain Court Apartments - Morrison in Edinburgh wrote this review.

From initial booking online to coming home the break was great. Could have done with a bit more advice on booking seats on the train from kings cross to edinburgh as it was packed and slightly See More  Read more information uncomfortable. The hotel location was perfect and getting around by bus could not have been any easier. The royal yaught britannia was well worth a visit. A busy city with plenty to see. 3 nights was notlong enough. The hotel apartment fountain court exceeded our expectations. It was clean, well furnished for a pleasant stay and secure. Just far enough on the edge of town to also be quiet.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 26/08/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Royal Scots Club in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Leith  
Castle  
Arthur's Seat  
Pleasance - Festival Shows  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Le Monde  
Bells Diner  
Thai In University Area  
 
 

Edinburgh Tatoo 2011

Stay Date: 21/08/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Murrayfield Hotel and House in Edinburgh wrote this review.

An excellent event to suit all ages. Bit of a trek up to the castle but well worth it. We opted for later event on the saturday which included a firework display, well worth paying the extra couple See More  Read more information of quid if you don't mind being out 'til past midnight!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Tatoo 2011  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ryans Bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break To Edinburgh

Stay Date: 31/08/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Stay Central in Edinburgh wrote this review.

When we arrived in edinburgh we went straight to check into the hotel only to find out that there had been a leak and we could not check into our room. We were allowed to leave our bags and have a See More  Read more information look around the city and left a phone number to be contacted when we could check in to our room. We spent about 4 hours around edinburgh and after receiving a phone call were able to check into ourroom about 8pm. The bathroom in the room was in major need of refurbishment. The shower, toilet and bath's worked fine but were not very clean. We were warned that if we had a room overlooking thecourtyard that it may be noisy but this was not a problem. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast we had the first morning was very nice. Edinburgh is a lovely city and definitly should bevisited at least once in your lifetime.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Dungeons  
Ghost Walk  
Scotch Whisky Experience  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
Garfunkels  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good But Not That Good

Stay Date: 09/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Murrayfield Hotel and House in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Getting there was good but room they sent us to was not ready and still in the process of cleaning it, to the credit of the staff I was upgraded to a superior room free of charge but that room was See More  Read more information the same of the other room but the staff gave me complimentary drinks in the bar until room was ready. The very busy main road could also be herd from the hotel. The staff made up for this below parhotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Dungeons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Central Location

Stay Date: 14/09/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

This hotel is in a perfect spot... A lovely hotel and the room was lovely, only complaint is that we were at the back of the hotel and the bottle banks were just outside our room, which was niosy See More  Read more information during the night...Had no phone line either so had to ring on my mobile for room service and then physically go down to reception to order food from their 24hr menu, only to be told that it wasn'tavailable...Eventually it arrived....Spoilt the hotel....   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Gallery  
The Art Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Cellar Door, George 4Th Bridge  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Standards Dropped

Stay Date: 11/09/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Royal Scots Club in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Our third stay to find bar and catering standards have dropped. Pleasant staff once they answer the phone! extremely limited high tea menu and limited wine selection not even a chardonney. Nice See More  Read more information place and otherwise ok but there are other better value places locally to stay and eat.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Boys Break

Stay Date: 22/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

I meet up with an old college friend each year in september for a few days. This year we visited edinburgh. Main things to see, the botanic gardens and the national gallery. We sustained ourselves See More  Read more information with coffee and cakes and ate at 3 restaurants in rose street. Good view of the castle etc from the hotel dining room/bar/breakfast bar.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Gallery  
Botanic Gardens  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rose Street X3  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1111 - 1120 of 1282 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 17:36:29

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 17:36:29

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.