Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh City

Edinburgh City Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh City, Edinburgh



Book a hotel in Edinburgh and enjoy the historical capital of Scotland and its impressive and endlessly pretty castle skyline. Edinburgh offers fantastic galleries and museums, world-class theatres and great shopping, making this destination vibrant and modern with a traditional Scottish twist.

Hotels in Edinburgh are scattered all around the city, with the main concentration being in the city centre, around Princes Street and the Royal Mile. It doesn't really matter, however, as the city is well connected with an excellent bus and tram network. In most cases, the best parts of Edinburgh are with walking distance of your hotel.

As a capital city, Edinburgh offers all of the regular delights you would expect - including excellent shopping and a nightlife that is famous all over the world - yet it has so much more to offer.

  • The Royal Mile is the cultural heart of Edinburgh. In August this street is filled with artists and acts performing and selling tickets to their shows in the Edinburgh fringe. For the rest of the year, the Royal Mile offers excellent architecture, museums, The Whiskey Experience and a whole host of bars, tourist shops and restaurants. At the top of the Royal Mile, you reach Edinburgh Castle
  • Edinburgh Castle sits atop a large hill right in the centre of Edinburgh. From here you can get some of the best views of the city, you could even see your hotel! Visit the castle for a journey through Scotland's fascinating history.
  • The Palace of Holyroodhouse offers you a chance to see into how the royals live, with it still very much being one of the Queens residences. You can purchase tickets to visit the Palace from us when you book your Edinburgh Hotel


There is so much to see and do in this thriving city. To help plan your break, we have pulled together an Edinburgh Travel Guide that should help you decide what to do whilst there. What's more, if you want to make your most out of your short break, why not save some time and hop on one of our flight packages to Edinburgh So why not book your Hotel in Edinburgh and discover all the exciting things we've mentioned here.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1284

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great Getaway

Stay Date: 01/11/12, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2 in Edinburgh wrote this review.

A great girly getaway. I was very impressed with the apartment especially as the price included the rail fare. It was spacious with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The service include cleaning, See More  Read more information towels, tea, coffee and milk. It was a perfect location and getaway for a girls weekend.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Dungeons  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gusto  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Auld Reekie!

Stay Date: 03/11/12, a customer aged 25-44 from Peterhead who stayed at 4* Macdonald Holyrood Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Had a lovely night away with my husband to celebrate our anniversary, we got Superbreak vouchers for our anniversary. What a great gift! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Family History Research Trip

Stay Date: 13/11/12, a customer aged 65+ from York who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Edinburgh (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Everybody with Scottish ancestors should visit the Scotlands People centre.For ?15 you can spend a whole day there looking up where people were born ,lived and died.Staff are very helpful and there See More  Read more information is also a cafe on site.For a more up market lunch there are the Guilford Arms and Royal Bar just round the corner.These are both magnificent historic buildings. A shopathon on Princes Street is amust for evey visitor to Edinburgh together with a coffee at Jenners.Another must is the Zoo and the Pandas right next door to the Holiday Inn where we stayed .From our window we could see across to theapes.The hotel had a pool and gym.Staff were very good.We travelled by train and found buses excellent and frequent.You can ride around all day for ?3.50.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Princes Street Shops  
scotlands people centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cool Jade Chinese Opposite the Hotel  
Guilford Arms  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shopping and Socialising

Stay Date: 16/11/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Edinburgh (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Good range of shops and plenty of pubs what more does one want See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 17/11/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

super hotel in the centre and very close to railway station. Hotel was very clean and very friendly. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bus Tour  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our Break to Scotland's Capital

Stay Date: 21/11/12, a customer aged 65+ from York who stayed at 4* Macdonald Holyrood Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Our hotel was located near to the Scottish Parliament Building. It was a very quiet location at the end of the Royal Mile. The bedroom was beautiful, the staff most welcoming and courteous and the See More  Read more information food good. Our visit to the Portrait Gallery was most enjoyable with brilliant BP exhibition. Princes Street is very disrupted with the ongoing tram works but that apart we met up with friends, shoppedand generally enjoyed our visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Scottish Portrait Gallery  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Howie's  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Hotel in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 19/11/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Views from hotel on Prince st. Excellent See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Open top bus  
Edinburgh Castle  
Resturants  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Italian  
Jamie Oliver  
Tiger lily  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break Away in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 10/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 5* Principal Edinburgh George Street in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We had five wonderful days in edinburgh. sightseeing high points - a trip to the castle, while we were there I discovered my family tartan and coat of arms which was very interesting .Then a See More  Read more information leisurely stroll till we found a pub to have lunch which was called dirty dicks I dont have an address for this one except it was on Rose Street but it was warm and welcoming as were all the places we ateand drank though I have to say they're generous with the portions! we struggled to eat it all .Well I hope this inspires you to visit Scotland we certainly will be going back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Whiski Bar  
Cafe Marlayne  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh at Christmas

Stay Date: 24/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Dunstable who stayed at 3* Royal Mile Accommodation in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We decided to go away for a few days over Christmas and selected Edinburgh as an ideal place to experience the festivities. The apartments were a little difficult to find but were excellent as a See More  Read more information base andin easy walking distance of the Royal Mile. All-in-all it was a good value trip with good restaurants, friendly people and greta travel arrangements.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh City  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cellar Door  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh a few days before New Year 2013

Stay Date: 27/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Macdonald Holyrood Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

This was an ideal break for us in between Christmas and New Year and going by train made it even better. Edinburgh still had all the Christmas Decorations which were exceptionally nice in our hotel. See More  Read more information The location of our Hotel near to Holyrood was ideal and very quiet (away from the main town but we were still able to walk into Princes Street etc easily). We sampled a variety of differentrestaurants and we were pleased that we had booked in advance, as they were all very busy. We went to a concert at Usher Hall on our first night (The SFO) which was amazing as well as the building itself. Amust to see if you can. The Jazz Bar in Chambers Street was also a very good evenings entertainment. There is so much variety in Edinburgh to suit everybody's taste. We shall definitely return again ona Superbreak break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Usher Hall Concert  
Vaults Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Witchery  
David Bann  
Zucca Italian Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 411 - 420 of 1284 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:24

Last rendered @ 22/05/2019 15:38:31

Last rendered @ 22/05/2019 15:38:31

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.