Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh City

Edinburgh City Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh City, Edinburgh



Book a hotel in Edinburgh and enjoy the historical capital of Scotland and its impressive and endlessly pretty castle skyline. Edinburgh offers fantastic galleries and museums, world-class theatres and great shopping, making this destination vibrant and modern with a traditional Scottish twist.

Hotels in Edinburgh are scattered all around the city, with the main concentration being in the city centre, around Princes Street and the Royal Mile. It doesn't really matter, however, as the city is well connected with an excellent bus and tram network. In most cases, the best parts of Edinburgh are with walking distance of your hotel.

As a capital city, Edinburgh offers all of the regular delights you would expect - including excellent shopping and a nightlife that is famous all over the world - yet it has so much more to offer.

  • The Royal Mile is the cultural heart of Edinburgh. In August this street is filled with artists and acts performing and selling tickets to their shows in the Edinburgh fringe. For the rest of the year, the Royal Mile offers excellent architecture, museums, The Whiskey Experience and a whole host of bars, tourist shops and restaurants. At the top of the Royal Mile, you reach Edinburgh Castle
  • Edinburgh Castle sits atop a large hill right in the centre of Edinburgh. From here you can get some of the best views of the city, you could even see your hotel! Visit the castle for a journey through Scotland's fascinating history.
  • The Palace of Holyroodhouse offers you a chance to see into how the royals live, with it still very much being one of the Queens residences. You can purchase tickets to visit the Palace from us when you book your Edinburgh Hotel


There is so much to see and do in this thriving city. To help plan your break, we have pulled together an Edinburgh Travel Guide that should help you decide what to do whilst there. What's more, if you want to make your most out of your short break, why not save some time and hop on one of our flight packages to Edinburgh So why not book your Hotel in Edinburgh and discover all the exciting things we've mentioned here.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1281

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Holiday Inn Express City Centre Edinburgh

Stay Date: 21/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Preston who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Our room was a good size and the hotel was convenient for all the city centre attractions. The breakfast was good but was let down by the powdered scrambled egg. There were many museums and See More  Read more information attractions within easy walking distance and the Christmas fairs and markets in Princes Street Gardens and St Andrew Square added to the overall atmosphere. There was too much to see in one weekend break sowe'll definitely be going back next year.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Giles Cathedral  
The Real Mary King's Close  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Viva Mexico  
Gordon's Trattoria  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic weekend in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 09/01/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Just returned from a fantastic SuperBreak weekend in Edinburgh. Stayed at Mercure Edinburgh Quay. The hotel was beautiful and spotlessly clean with friendly attentive staff. We upgraded to a See More  Read more information privilege room which was definitely worth it. The room was well appointed and well decorated. Had little extras like an espresso machine, fridge with complimentary soft drinks, good supply of toiletries. The hotel was about a 25 minute walk to Princes Street. Would definitely recommend both SuperBreak and the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Museum of Scotland  
The Dome  
Surgeons Hall museums  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Dome  
The black rose pub  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 4 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Romantic weekend away in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 02/01/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre in Edinburgh wrote this review.

After a 3 hour delay to get to Edinburgh we were pleasantly surprised to find a lovely hotel that was central to the city. Cosy, comfortable rooms in the hotel and helpful reception staff who gave See More  Read more information us directions and a local map. Hotel was a ten minute walk from all the shops which was handy after a days shopping with bags! We walked everywhere and found some lovely cafes and restaurants. Myparents referred me to SuperBreak after their Edinburgh trip in Sept, we have not been disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Arthur's Seat  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Amarone  
The boozy cow  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh break

Stay Date: 14/01/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Nice, clean and very friendly hotel. Staff were very helpful and chatty. Hotel was in quite a good position within easy walking distance of Royal Mile. Instructions from SuperBreak to get to the See More  Read more information hotel wasn't the best as was up a lot of steep steps which could have been avoided by going about an extra few minutes in the other direction avoiding steps.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle  
Royal Mile  
Princes Street  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
the worlds end pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Perfect venue for city visit

Stay Date: 29/01/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile in Edinburgh wrote this review.

On a leisure break in the city. Hotel very convenient - plus staff were excellent. Only criticism was the room was right next to lift which did disrupt the night. However we would definitely return See More  Read more information and recommend the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Giles Cathedral  
National Gallery  
Edinburgh Gin distillery  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Abbotsford  
Vittorio- South Bridge  
Cage Bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Food and cocktails

Stay Date: 16/04/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Well worth a visit. Great job done by SuperBreak. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Grassmarket  
Jenners  
Dome  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
blackwoods  
mothers gin house  
steak and mussel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 07/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 5* Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian in Edinburgh wrote this review.

From booking our break to arriving home at the end of it everything ran smoothly. The Waldorf Astoria has been one of the best hotels we have stay at...it was perfect, the staff, the room, the See More  Read more information breakfast...can't wait to go back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jamie's Italian  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 31/05/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 5* Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel room good for catering for a disabled child. Very friendly staff. Easy to get a taxi and lots of bus services at hand. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle  
Royal Mile  
Yacht Britania  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
sluge &lettuce  
valerie pattisarie  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyed our Trips but not the Hotel

Stay Date: 06/07/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre in Edinburgh wrote this review.

At the Holiday Inn Express, Edinburgh (Picardy Place): We had a very small room and although it was on ground floor (reception being on 1st floor), it was like being in the basement. We looked out See More  Read more information on a brick wall and small car park. We asked if we could be moved and was told they were full up. Considering I booked in January, I thought this was very poor. We went for breakfast just after 8 inthe morning and there were no seats, so we went to lower level and food was limited. I ate 2 cold croissants and supplied my own peppermint tea each day. We were here for 7 days. I couldn't wait to gethome for some daylight! We enjoyed our organised trips (which we did) but didn't like Edinburgh very much because of the hills. From our hotel it was hilly and a lot of the pavements are out of boundsdue to lots of roadworks. We asked the staff at reception where the nearest bus stop was and they didn't really know and also where to catch a particular bus to Holyrood Palace and again they didn'tknow. The train to and from was great and thoroughly enjoyed the ride plus food.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Botanic Gardens  
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Grayline Coach Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
David Bann Vegetarian Restaurant  
Pizza Express  
Restaurant in Edinburgh Botanic Gardens  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ed Fringe

Stay Date: 10/08/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel location was too far out to walk back at night after walking around Edinburgh looking for venues for the shows during the daytime. It was also too far in rainy weather or to go back and change See More  Read more information for the evening. We combined walking and taking taxis which were plentiful and reasonable.The hotel room itself was disappointing and although breakfast was superb the restaurant found it difficultto cope with residents who apparently came to breakfast all at once which meant it was difficult to find a table.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Gallery  
Festival shows  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lebanese Restaurant  
Pizza Express  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 31 - 40 of 1281 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:27

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 19:21:03

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 19:21:03

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.