Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh City

Edinburgh City Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh City, Edinburgh



Book a hotel in Edinburgh and enjoy the historical capital of Scotland and its impressive and endlessly pretty castle skyline. Edinburgh offers fantastic galleries and museums, world-class theatres and great shopping, making this destination vibrant and modern with a traditional Scottish twist.

Hotels in Edinburgh are scattered all around the city, with the main concentration being in the city centre, around Princes Street and the Royal Mile. It doesn't really matter, however, as the city is well connected with an excellent bus and tram network. In most cases, the best parts of Edinburgh are with walking distance of your hotel.

As a capital city, Edinburgh offers all of the regular delights you would expect - including excellent shopping and a nightlife that is famous all over the world - yet it has so much more to offer.

  • The Royal Mile is the cultural heart of Edinburgh. In August this street is filled with artists and acts performing and selling tickets to their shows in the Edinburgh fringe. For the rest of the year, the Royal Mile offers excellent architecture, museums, The Whiskey Experience and a whole host of bars, tourist shops and restaurants. At the top of the Royal Mile, you reach Edinburgh Castle
  • Edinburgh Castle sits atop a large hill right in the centre of Edinburgh. From here you can get some of the best views of the city, you could even see your hotel! Visit the castle for a journey through Scotland's fascinating history.
  • The Palace of Holyroodhouse offers you a chance to see into how the royals live, with it still very much being one of the Queens residences. You can purchase tickets to visit the Palace from us when you book your Edinburgh Hotel


There is so much to see and do in this thriving city. To help plan your break, we have pulled together an Edinburgh Travel Guide that should help you decide what to do whilst there. What's more, if you want to make your most out of your short break, why not save some time and hop on one of our flight packages to Edinburgh So why not book your Hotel in Edinburgh and discover all the exciting things we've mentioned here.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1290

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Birthday Edinburgh

Stay Date: 22/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Leith Waterfront in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We used vouchers from family to go to Edinburgh for a weekend in Leith. The hotel location was perfect.We had a quiet room spacious and comfortable bed.The shower room was clean and warm and good See More  Read more information hot water supply.We hope to revisit next year to do more museums etc.This time Christmas shopping took up more of our visit but as shops were close at hand it was stress free. The staff were veryfriendly.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ocean Terminal Shopping Centre  
Brittania  
christmas fair edinburgh  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shopping in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 24/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Hartlepool who stayed at 3* Mercure Edinburgh City Princes Street Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

My daughter and myself wanted to go Christmas shopping in Edinburgh.The hotel is in the main street and easy to find,it is good value for money,clean and comfortable.We had lovely views of the See More  Read more information Christmas market and the big wheel it was magical when all lit up.We were lucky enough to see the Christmas lights being turned on and the firework display.We travel to Edinburgh often and I am pleased tosay we have now found our ideal hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Loved Edinburgh!

Stay Date: 03/12/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We loved Edinburgh, so many beautiful views, sites and choices of places to eat and drink. Arthur's Seat is quite a challenging walk (well at this cold and wet time of year anyway!) But well worth See More  Read more information it for the views and sense of achievement. There's so many very different areas of the city to explore (Princes Street, Rose Street, George Street, the Royal Mile and Grassmarket as examples!). Thelocation of the hotel is perfect however our experience of the hotel itself was unfortunately not. The first room we were in was small but had a nice window which was double glazed. However it smeltso overwhelmingly of paint within 2 minutes of being in there our eyes and nose were streaming. It wasn't healthy for people to stay in as the fumes had built up to such a level and we were amazedthey tried to put us in there. They then moved us to apparently our only other option. This room had only a very small window which looked straight into an empty building overlooking a small serviceaccess road and the bins. This room had more space but neither of us slept for 2 nights. We heard every car, lorry and emptying into and of the bins. The light from the corridor lit the room so badlyaround the ill fitting door the room was neither dark nor quiet enough to sleep and I am a heavy sleeper. No sleep is not what you need in Edinburgh! So it seems it's very hit and miss what you get withthe rooms in terms of size, window and noise insulation. We reported the above problems with the room to 2 different individuals when asked how things were and were met with shrugs of the shoulders (inother words they don't really want to know!). Breakfast is not worth paying extra for. It is understaffed and under-resourced. We had to follow up for hot drinks and eggs we ordered on each day andthere were always people queuing for food and crockery to be replaced plus a long queue for the one toaster. The hotel itself was clean however and warm which were positives.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Palace of Holyrood  
Arthur's Seat  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Amarone  
Monteiths  
Milne's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Winter Trip to Edinburgh

Stay Date: 04/12/13, a customer aged 65+ from Oban who stayed at 3* Edinburgh Playhouse Apartments in Edinburgh wrote this review.

My friend and I had a short trip to Edinburgh to see The Lion King, have lunch in The Dome, Dinner in The Wildfire restaurant and did some Christmas shopping. The atmosphere was great all around the See More  Read more information capital with the lovely colourful displays of lights and attractions added to the experience. We were even tempted onto the Starflyer that flies 60 metres above the ground - exhilarating but alsonerve racking. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and look forward to a return visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Dome  
Shopping  
The Lion King  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Dome  
Wildfire  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 07/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The hotel was extremely convenient for the show, The Lion King, which was excellent. Also quite near the railway station. The hotel was ok, clean and adequate but I was disappointed that we were in See More  Read more information the basement and had one made up bed settee which was low to the floor with another double bed instead of the twin room I booked well in advance. Therefore we didn't have much room. I would havecomplained but my mum didn't want to make a fuss although it wasn't what I booked.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip to See The Lion King

Stay Date: 11/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Stay Central in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Fantastic show. Hotel was excellent staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless. Wouldn't recommend it if your after a quiet break but for those who like to party or don't mind noise See More  Read more information it would be great.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lion King  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Biddy Mulligans Bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Break

Stay Date: 11/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Retford who stayed at 3* Best Western Braid Hills Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We should have booked for a three or four day break as Edinburgh has so much to offer, and we couldn't facilitate all of what was on offer. So we spent the first night looking around the market and See More  Read more information shops before retiring to the lovely lounge bar of our hotel. Our only full day was spent looking at what was were in Edinburgh before visiting Mary Kings Close, followed by shopping and the marketagain. We started first thing that day and eventually retired to the hotel late at night, exhausting but fully worth every penny.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Market  
Mary Kings Close  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Edinburgh

Stay Date: 13/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Best Western Braid Hills Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Had a great weekend away at the Christmas Market and meeting up with some friends. Hotel was really good and bus fares are so cheap! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cosmo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Family Visit to Edinburgh

Stay Date: 13/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Thornhill who stayed at 3* Best Western Braid Hills Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

An enjoyable long weekend for the whole family at the Best Western Braid Hills Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) , the decor in our rooms was a little dated but clean, staff were brilliant, See More  Read more information lots to eat on Friday night, not the most exciting menu but good food and wine. Our wardrobe door was off its track and wouldn't open, the pillows were a bit hard, the radiator in the bathroom wasleaking and the toilet flush needed attention but overall good value for money and adequate for our needs. Really loved the Lion King performance at the playhouse and managed to get a bus from outside thehotel straight to the playhouse and back again, £3.50 for an adult all day ticket was great value and buses very regular and easy to use.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Christmas Markets  
The Lion King  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Locanda De Gusti  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Time in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 18/12/13, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Royal Mile in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Went for my 65 Birthday ,and as always had a good time. Spent time at Leith in the Shopping Centre and on the Royal Yacht Britannia both very enjoyable See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Britannia  
X Mas Market  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wolds End Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1011 - 1020 of 1290 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:24

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 14:55:49

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 14:55:49

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.