Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh Area & Airport

Edinburgh Area & Airport Holiday Reviews

Linlithgow, Lothian

Explore the beauty of the rolling Lothian countryside or discover the heritage behind the many towns and villages along the Firth of Forth Coastline. Edinburgh Airport is located only 8 miles west of Edinburgh City with flights to over 85 destinations serviced by 50 airlines.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 54

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 25/10/06, a customer who stayed at 4* Norton House Hotel & Spa - A Hand Picked Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We stayed at the Norton House Hotel on the way from Newcastle through to the Highlands although difficult to find from the map downloaded we found the hotel and its staff to be excellent. The rooms See More  Read more information were average size but clean and tastefully decorated. The staff and the restaurant were first class and helpful We will return   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Easy Access to Edinburgh

Stay Date: 29/01/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

If you want a reasonable sized good clean rooms with some of the most helpful staff you'd not go wrong with this hotel. They ensured that I had soya milk available and chef checked that all food See More  Read more information prepared was suitable for me to eat taking into consideration all diatry needs. Good for business people or holidays, if you're on your own they are friendly and attentive. Remember to take yourswim and gym kit to use their facilities.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Edinburgh/Livingston

Stay Date: 09/02/07, a customer from Somerset who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

A Relaxing Weekend Near Edinburgh

Stay Date: 02/03/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

Decided to have a quiet weekend away with my 2 children so I thought somewhere near Edinburgh would be a nice choice. I chose Ramada Livingston as it offered good value for money, and most See More  Read more information importantly it had a swimming pool. We enjoyed the pool on both Friday evening and Saturday morning. The breakfast and evening meal were in pleasant surroundings. The hotel was not busy so it was veryrelaxing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Dungeons  
Edinburgh Museum of Childhood  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
O'Briens  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Macdonald Marine Hotel North Berwick

Stay Date: 28/03/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick wrote this review.

If you have not visited this hotel, then you are missing out on an opportunity to stay in elegent surroundings overlooking the sea. As our short break was only two nights we made the most of the See More  Read more information Spa at the Marine, which has a variety of steam rooms and a fantastic outdoor 'jacuzzi', quite something when it's cold and you are sitting outside in a hot seawater bath!! For both our nights we atein the restraunt. The dining room, a beautiful setting, with views to the sea,service discreet, but very warm, and the food, especially pudding, divine!! North Berwick is a lovely town, lots ofshops,cafes and (I do keep going on!) the sea!!! Great all year round destination.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Livingston

Stay Date: 28/07/07, a customer from Isle Of Bute who stayed at 4* Macdonald Houstoun House in Livingston wrote this review.

a very relaxing weekend doing very little See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
North Berwick  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chenzo's, Uphall  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 29/11/07, a customer from Isle Of Man who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Castle  
 
 

Weekend Away a the Marine Hotel, North Berwick

Stay Date: 07/11/08, a customer from Roslin who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick wrote this review.

The hotel is wonderful and the staff are very helpful. Bar prices are extortionate charging £4 for half a Magners and £4.05 for a single Baileys. The food is great but also pricey. The "Tiger See More  Read more information Coast" Indian Restaurant in North Berwick is wonderful it MUST be tried, the staff can't do enough for you. The best indian meal i've ever had   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
"Tiger Coast" Indian Restuarant, North Berwick  
Walk along the beach  
The Spa at the Marine Hotel  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
"Tiger Coast" Indian Restaurant, North Berwick  
"The Golfers Rest" North Berwick  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Weekend in North Berwick

Stay Date: 28/11/08, a customer from Renfrewshire who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick wrote this review.

Fantastic spa & pool facilities. Don't Prebook the set meal if you're vegetarian as I don't think it would be good value. (Cost of ingredients for meat eaters is much higher). See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
17 Quality Street  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in North Berwick

Stay Date: 27/03/09, a customer from Lockerbie who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Berwickshire Coast  
 
 

Livingston

Stay Date: 06/04/09, a customer from Dumfries who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

The hotel was ideally situated to visit shops and edinburgh.The hotel was great for myself and my 11 year old son with facilities we both could use See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Local Shopping  
Scottish History Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Frankies and Benny's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Trip

Stay Date: 15/05/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel Edinburgh Park in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Went to Edinburgh on a Superbreak Trip. Novotel outside Edinburgh. Chose this hotel for leisure facilities which were excellent. Absolutely first class hotel, would recommend it to anyone. Went on See More  Read more information the HMS Britannia which was a good trip and combined with a shopping expedition at the shopping mall. Great boat trip on the Firth of Forth, saw seals, a porpoise and puffins. Will definitely bevisiting Edinburgh again and will take other trips by the Superbreak again, but the train was delayed by half an hour going and the train booked was cancelled coming back so had to catch the London trainto Newcastle and change. Put lots of folk in a bad mood as they let everyone get on with their luggage and get sat down before they told everyone the train was cancelled because of no guard.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Princes Street  
HMS Britannia  
Open Top City Bus  
Boat Trip on Firth of Fourth  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Very Nice Hotel

Stay Date: 01/06/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick wrote this review.

Great Staff at Reception and in the Restaurant. Great food and atmosphere. Gymn and pool were also super. Service in the Bar was ok. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Macdonald Marine Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Lovely Wedding

Stay Date: 06/06/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick wrote this review.

We stayed at the Macdonald Marine Hotel for one night to attend a wedding. The hotel was very nice, we had a sea view from our room. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was See More  Read more information amazing, too much choice! I could not fault the hotel in anyway.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 21/10/09, a customer from South Ronaldsay who stayed at 4* Novotel Edinburgh Park in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Giles Cathedral  
 
 

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 20/05/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Norton House Hotel & Spa - A Hand Picked Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Super hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Away From The Hustle & Bustle Of The City

Stay Date: 29/08/11, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Novotel Edinburgh Park in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The city hotels are great and at the end of a long day at the fringe you can just roll into bed, but they're costly...For great value, comfort and a hearty breakfast we couldn't fault the novotel. See More  Read more information The staff were welcoming and had information to hand regards train times and city street maps.Edinburgh park railway station is literally on the doorstep, so the commute to edinburgh city (waverleystation) is really easy - ten mins.It puts you in the heart of the city with less than a ten minute walk to the royal mile and edinburgh castle. It costs less than three quid each way - bargain. Taxifares would be £12 to £15 each way. Rooms were spacious, far bigger than similar counterparts and the building was well sound proofed. We heard no noise from the nearby airport, retail park, ringroad/motorway and very little from the trains, but they don't run between about 23:30 and 06:00 anyway. Breakfast buffet was excellent, both for cooked and continental food, with good quality produce onoffer and piping hot. Unfortunately the pool was undergoing repair during our visit so we didn't get to try it out but overall a really pleasant stay and good to get away from the hustle and bustle of thecity centre for a few hours - it's v.v busy and noisy into the wee hours on sat night/sun morning. We wouldn't hesitate to book again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh City  
Edinburgh Fringe Festival  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Viva Mexico  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 11/09/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Houstoun House in Livingston rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Museum of Scotland  
Edinburgh Museum  
 
 

Excellent Weekend In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 18/09/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel Edinburgh Park in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Princes Street  
Scottish National Gallery  
 
 

30th Birthday in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 30/11/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Stockton-On-Tees who stayed at 4* Novotel Edinburgh Park in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Had a fantastic stay. Enjoyed the christmas market and the festivities. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stobart spotting

Stay Date: 27/03/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

A very nice hotel Asda supermarket about 5 minutes walk away and attached to a shopping centre with a bus terminal just outside the shopping centre. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Anniversary

Stay Date: 25/07/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Norton House Hotel & Spa - A Hand Picked Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Nice room upgrade and very comfortable kept very clean and very good service, would recommend to my friends. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Botanical gdns,  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Hotel in Good Location

Stay Date: 26/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Preston who stayed at 4* Macdonald Houstoun House in Livingston wrote this review.

We stayed at the Houston House Hotel for a four night stay to visit the Commonwealth Games. The hotel is really nice and individual with a great swimming pool and gym. Tennis Courts are in the See More  Read more information grounds which our children used. We only had breakfast in the hotel which was of a high standard, a good choice of fruit etc, nice quality freshly made toast etc. The cooked breakfast was made to order andwas very good quality, but may take a short time to be prepared. Overall a really good hotel and would be happy to return. ps: Uphall station is nearby with free parking and regular trains toEdinburgh and Glasgow centres.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Glasgow Commonwealth Games  
Glasgow Peoples Palace  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beefeater at Livingston  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 15/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Wallasey who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

I cant imagine anyone not enjoying a visit to Edinburgh, so the only worry is where to stay and having stayed on a superbreak deal last month we invited 7 other members of the family to return and See More  Read more information see if they enjoyed it as much as we did the first time. We were not disappointed, the hotel is quite new and is situated on the edge of a shopping centre in a quiet location it has very clean andspacious rooms, a very nice bar/restaurant area and underneath a free pool, steam room and gym. staff were very helpful and always pleasant. this hotel is situated outside of Edinburgh centre at theend of the M8 motorway and has excellent travel links by tram and train next door to the hotel (£3.50 for an all day tram and bus travel pass). (The noise from the tram and trains passing is notapparent).my family and I are seasoned travellers and we think this was one of the best deals we have ever had.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Castle  
edinburgh dungeons  
royal yaght brittania  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 23/01/15, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 4* Novotel Edinburgh Park in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Absolutely awesome, couldn't ask for better! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Art Museum  
banshee labyrinth bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beautiful stay in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 08/01/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Norton House Hotel & Spa - A Hand Picked Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

My partner and I spent two nights in the beautiful Norton House Hotel and Spa as a Christmas treat and to celebrate her birthday. We arrived rather late in the evening on Friday but were met with See More  Read more information smiling staff who were more than happy to help us. One member of staff was undergoing some training and it was great to see the level of care taken in making sure he was properly briefed by the seniormember of staff. After this we were shown to our executive double room and our bags carried for us. The service was top notch from the start. We enjoyed a stunning 3 course meal in the Brasserie, wherethe staff were attentive and receptive to our needs. The room was stylishly decorated and extremely clean with all necessary items provided, it was ready for our arrival and the heating had beenturned on, making it very welcoming and comfortable. We spent our Saturday morning in the Spa which was open to hotel guests, the receptionist showed us around and answered our questions. I managed tospeak to a couple of locals who use the Spa as members and they gave us some pointers on where to go and what to do in Edinburgh (they too commented on how pristine the spa facilities were). On theSunday morning before we checked out we decided to have room service deliver our breakfasts, a telephone courtesy call informed us they were on their way with our food, so as not to surprise us, and twosmartly dressed, very polite young men brought our food to us, taking care to arrange it carefully on the table. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the hotel and are in the process of arranging our nextvisit, the only thing we would change (if we could!) is the weather, but with it being January we knew what to expect. I cannot fault the hotel at all, thank you for making our stay an enjoyable one.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Centre  
Edinburgh Zoo  
Norton House Spa  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Norton House Brasserie  
Napoli Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Getting Around

Stay Date: 13/10/06, a customer from Sandwich who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

If staying in and around Edinburgh use the buses, excellent services. Hire a car its cheap during the winter and go and see the scenery and visit more places out of the city. Let the train take the See More  Read more information strain, not many cities have the train station in the centre of the city.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blair Drummond Safari Park  
Camera Obscura  
Drummond Fishery  
Ski Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hungry Horse  
TGI Fridays  
Pizza Hut  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fab Time in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 13/10/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
McArthur Glen  
 
 

Great Days Out in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 21/10/06, a customer from Coventry who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

Shopping in Princes Street Excellent. We paid £12.00 per adult to have a ticket for 24 hours for tour buses. This enabled us to catch all four buses which go to different attractions throughout See More  Read more information Edinburgh. You visit all main attractions and it is hop on and hop off. Absolutely excellent for seeing everything in short space of time and extremely economical. Highly recommended. Avoid Royal YachtBritannia - overpriced and not very interesting.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Yacht Britannia  
Greyfriars Bobby Monument  
Dramatic Earth  
Edinburgh Tour Bus  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dry Run

Stay Date: 03/11/06, a customer from Sandwich who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

Midlothian Ski Centre..What a great place to teach some one to ski without the snow before you go! my little daughter loved it. Its the longest in the UK and Europe. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Midlothian Ski Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 05/03/07, a customer from Darwen who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick wrote this review.

Offers both new and old something for everyone.the scenery is stunning especially from the Castle.old part of city extra special!! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh  
Bird Sanctuary  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Livingston

Stay Date: 21/06/08, a customer from Caernarfon who stayed at 4* Macdonald Houstoun House in Livingston rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Britannia  
Royal Highland Show  
Peebles  
 
 

Overnight Stay

Stay Date: 19/01/09, a customer from Aberdeen who stayed at 4* Novotel Edinburgh Park in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Booked the hotel because it was convenient for an early morning meeting less than 5 minutes from the hotel. Can't fault the room, the staff or the breakfast but wouldn't return (unless for another See More  Read more information early meeting in same place!) because of location - some way from City Centre, next to a retail park and the city by-pass and with no amenities close by.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

More to say...MacDonald Marine Hotel

Stay Date: 14/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick wrote this review.

I do have information comments on the hotel which was generally OK but also a few points which could be improved upon, 7/10 For this 4 Star Hotel. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip to Edinburgh - A value for Money Deal

Stay Date: 10/04/09, a customer from Middlesex who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

The stay in the Hotel is excellent with good breakfast. Leisure facilities like Spa, Swimming, Steam bath is an added advantage. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Livingstone

Stay Date: 24/04/09, a customer from Sandwich who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

Just a hotel nothing flashy nothing to go wow, but a good hotel where we have stayed many times. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
New Lanark Heritage  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ramada Edinburgh / Livingston

Stay Date: 01/05/09, a customer from Wakefield who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

Magic weekend in Edinburgh. Great atmosphere in Edinburgh and at the rugby at Murrayfield. Everyone mixed together for a great family day out.Hopefully will do it again next year. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rugby Magic Weekend  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 20/07/09, a customer from Newcastle Upon Tyne who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

An overnight stay at the beginning of our holiday See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Livingston

Stay Date: 15/08/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Houstoun House in Livingston rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

North Beriwck, Edinburgh And Hotel.

Stay Date: 13/08/09, a customer from Northampton who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick wrote this review.

Main objective husband played golf, visited the fringe festival, joined some friends who live in North Berwick. Good meals, lovely hotel and great shopping unfortunately, we had interrupted sleep See More  Read more information because of the heat in the bedrooms, had a hot water pipe running around the room. Window would only open about 18 inches, finally received a fan which helped. When it rains the overflow pipe outsideour window dripped constantly. It did rain for about 2 days, did not detract from enjoying ourselves, we expect this in Scotland. I did complain to reception about heat and filled in a comment cardaccordingly.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh Fringe Festival Various Venues  
Hopetoun House & Tea Rooms  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Rugby Weekend In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 13/03/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Norton House Hotel & Spa - A Hand Picked Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

After struggling to get booked into a hotel for 1 night on the day of England v Scotland at murrayfield, we had no difficulty getting a room at Norton House. We imagined it was a fair way from the See More  Read more information city but actually it was no trouble at all. It was a simple ten minute drive into town. We took our own car but had checked out the public transport and there is a bus and taxis available too. Thehotel staff were very friendly and the hotel itself was very nice. The rooms are of a very good standard and my only criticism would be that the bathroom was a tad small but this was easy to overlook.Decor of the rooms is very modern with a huge tv on front of the bed. The scenery here is amazing with nothing but trees, grass and even some wildlife. In fact we could not see a road at all from ourroom. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I cannot comment on restaurant or bar as we went out instead and had breakfast in bed which was a lovely treat.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh City  
Murrayfield  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Caledonian  
Yo! Sushi In Harvey Nichols  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In North Berwick

Stay Date: 02/08/10, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Executive Twin Room

Stay Date: 17/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick wrote this review.

Good view from the room overlooking a golf course and out to the sea. The room number 131 was to the right hand side of the lounge and overlooked a section of roof which was covered in sundry debris See More  Read more information which was unsightly and spoilt the overall view. The size of the excutive room was a little disappointing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Night Away At North Berwick

Stay Date: 09/08/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick wrote this review.

On arriving at the hotel with friends we went to their room 1st. Goegeous room overlooking golf course with huge bathroon robes etc and 4 poster bed. We were so excited about seeing our room however See More  Read more information we were to be dissapointed. Small double in the attic with a tiny bathroon and poor shower. They definately won this time. The facilities in the hotel were good and a lovely position overlooking golfcourse and sea and a nice walk to the town centre.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beach And Harbour  
Haddington  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Longniddry Inn  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Edinburgh

Stay Date: 07/04/12, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Novotel Edinburgh Park in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

How to Relax and Work

Stay Date: 19/04/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Novotel Edinburgh Park in Edinburgh wrote this review.

I had to attend a day course for work at Napier University, but made the most of the trip by meeting a friend afterwards and enjoying the sights and sounds of Edinburgh. We had something to eat in See More  Read more information old Edinburgh and I went shopping. The hotel was very pleasant - the room was relaxing and quiet and the staff were friendly and cheerful. There was a good choice at breakfast in a nice airy room.Thehotel was very convenient for me with easy parking,and near the City Bypass with straightforward access to the Forth Road Bridge and the North. I'm not sure how easy public transport is from the hotelas I didn't use it on this occasion.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Napier University  
Princes Street  
Royal Mile  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

GREAT HOTEL NEAR EDINBURGH

Stay Date: 16/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Macdonald Houstoun House in Livingston wrote this review.

LOVELY QUIET HOTEL WITH EXCELLENT BREAKFAST See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jamies Italian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Hotel, Great Location

Stay Date: 09/05/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Aberdeen who stayed at 4* Novotel Edinburgh Park in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel was really good and met all of our needs. The hotel has a fantastic location. Right next to a tram stop to make it easy to get in and out of the centre of Edinburgh. It is also right across See More  Read more information the road from Krispy Kreme Doughnuts which was the icing on the cake!!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harvey Nicholls  
Afternoon Tea Carlton Hotel  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Carlton Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Alarming wake up

Stay Date: 03/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Macdonald Houstoun House in Livingston wrote this review.

Everything was fine except fire alarm at 1:00 am on first night - staff didn't seem to know how to deal with guests. And again fire alarm on Sunday at 9:00 am mid breakfast. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinburgh  
kelpies  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Livingston

Stay Date: 26/05/07, a customer from Harrogate who stayed at 4* Macdonald Houstoun House in Livingston rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ocean Terminal  
South Queensferry  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Browns, Edinburgh  
Two Bridges, South Queensferry  
 
 

Short Break in North Berwick

Stay Date: 07/02/09, a customer from Midlothian who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bass Rock Bistro  
 
 

Stay in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 09/07/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Norton House Hotel & Spa - A Hand Picked Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel room was fine, food wasn't piping hot, staff not very friendly, leisure facilities good and staff there were friendly. Very pricey for our second night. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping  
Experience day  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Mini break in North Berwick

Stay Date: 22/11/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Newcastle Upon Tyne who stayed at 4* Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa in North Berwick wrote this review.

Hotel room poor, very cold and had to ask for a portable heater. Restaurant very pleasant, evening meal and breakfast very good. Swimming pool good although changing areas were untidy, with lots of See More  Read more information abandoned robes, slippers and towels - thus area needs to be checked more frequently. Conservatory area beside the bar was cold and seating too low so could not see the beautiful view.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
North Berwick  
Dirleton Beach  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break

Stay Date: 21/05/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Mercure Livingston (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh/Livingston wrote this review.

Hotel is well past its best, needs a complete refurbishment. Bedrooms are clean and comfortable. We had the lamb for dinner and it was dry and tough, not a good dining experience. The hotel is See More  Read more information well placed for the excellent shopping experience.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Restaurants  
shpping mall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
hotflame  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 54 of 54 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 16/07/2019 15:36:05

Last rendered @ 16/07/2019 15:36:05

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.