Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh

Edinburgh Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh



Discover all the capital city of Scotland has to offer with our amazing Edinburgh hotels. From the beautiful Lothian countryside to the cosmopolitan historic centre ? Edinburgh has it all.

Whether you?re flying from Edinburgh and require an airport hotel, looking to explore the city?s many wonderful attractions, or heading to the rolling hills, towns and villages of The Lothians, a short break in this vibrant and diverse city is a guaranteed hit.

  • With a lively cultural scene including an array of international festivals, plus a choice of fascinating historic attractions and a vibrant shopping scene on Princes Street ? Edinburgh city centre has plenty to keep you entertained on a short break. Pay a visit to Edinburgh Castle or Holyrood Palace for a historic day out, or if you?re feeling adventurous climb to the top of Arthur?s Seat for spectacular views across the city.
  • Explore the tranquil countryside of The Lothians ? the ideal place for a gentle stroll or a hiking challenge along the Pentland Hills. Rich with ancient castles and century-old battle grounds, The Lothians also boast miles of golden beaches along the coast and abundance of fantastic golf courses.
  • Edinburgh Airport is located only 8 miles west of the city with flights to over 85 destinations worldwide making it a popular choice for European short breaks. Take the stress out of flying by choosing one of our handy and convenient Edinburgh airport hotels.
By choosing one of our hotels in Edinburgh, you will on the doorstep of so many amazing historic attractions, cultural delights and vibrant shopping scenes, as well as the beautiful countryside and hidden coastal retreats. To discover more of what a short break in the Sottish capital has to offer, check out our handy Edinburgh travel guide.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1336

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 10/06/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Grassmarket Hotel in Edinburgh rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Holyrood  
Calton Hill  
Mary King Tour  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Mussel & Steak Bar, Grassmarket  
 
 

Great weekend in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 12/10/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Edinburgh House Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We had a great weekend in Edinburgh visiting our son, a student at the University of Edinburgh. Travel arrangements excellent ,no problems whatsoever. Hotel ideally situated to our son's hall of See More  Read more information residence. However, hotel essentially clean, in process of being refurbished ! Very 'hick' organisation, bedroom dingy ,shower could do with a good clean. Windows very draughty ,curtains difficult todraw. Would not consider staying at hotel again ! Should not be included in list of recommended accommodation in Edinburgh. Could not complain to management as no one available to speak to after 10 00am, had to leave key with a cleaner who did not speak English!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City of Edinburgh  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Loved Edinburgh!

Stay Date: 03/12/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We loved Edinburgh, so many beautiful views, sites and choices of places to eat and drink. Arthur's Seat is quite a challenging walk (well at this cold and wet time of year anyway!) But well worth See More  Read more information it for the views and sense of achievement. There's so many very different areas of the city to explore (Princes Street, Rose Street, George Street, the Royal Mile and Grassmarket as examples!). Thelocation of the hotel is perfect however our experience of the hotel itself was unfortunately not. The first room we were in was small but had a nice window which was double glazed. However it smeltso overwhelmingly of paint within 2 minutes of being in there our eyes and nose were streaming. It wasn't healthy for people to stay in as the fumes had built up to such a level and we were amazedthey tried to put us in there. They then moved us to apparently our only other option. This room had only a very small window which looked straight into an empty building overlooking a small serviceaccess road and the bins. This room had more space but neither of us slept for 2 nights. We heard every car, lorry and emptying into and of the bins. The light from the corridor lit the room so badlyaround the ill fitting door the room was neither dark nor quiet enough to sleep and I am a heavy sleeper. No sleep is not what you need in Edinburgh! So it seems it's very hit and miss what you get withthe rooms in terms of size, window and noise insulation. We reported the above problems with the room to 2 different individuals when asked how things were and were met with shrugs of the shoulders (inother words they don't really want to know!). Breakfast is not worth paying extra for. It is understaffed and under-resourced. We had to follow up for hot drinks and eggs we ordered on each day andthere were always people queuing for food and crockery to be replaced plus a long queue for the one toaster. The hotel itself was clean however and warm which were positives.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Palace of Holyrood  
Arthur's Seat  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Amarone  
Monteiths  
Milne's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor condition

Stay Date: 24/11/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Britannia Hotel Edinburgh in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel was in poor condition first room toilet didn't work second room was not very clean. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Our awful trip to Edinburgh

Stay Date: 07/02/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Britannia Hotel Edinburgh in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The Britannia Hotel in Edinburgh was a huge disappointment, on arrival the front door was broken and covered with yellow and black tape. The receptionist that checked us in gave us no information at See More  Read more information all, apart from the fact that our room was on the fourth floor and follow the blue (dirty) carpet to the lift. The decoration throughout was old, paint chipped off and generally dowdy. The room wasvery scruffy with carpet hanging off the wall, a very scratched table and hairs in the bath. The worst thing was the toilet had a very poor flush, when you thought it had flushed the waste wouldreappear after a couple of hours. We did report these concerns to the staff, I would never stay here again or recommend this hotel to anyone.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
St Marys Cathedral  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ryans  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 03/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Britannia Hotel Edinburgh in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Lovely place, friendly people and taxi drivers. Attractions nice but Britannia Hotel is very poor. Run down and needs a good overhaul - not clean in rooms etc location not good nothing close by taxi See More  Read more information into city and back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle  
Christmas Markets  
Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chinese  
The Dome  
Thai Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor hotel

Stay Date: 27/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The hotel was old and tired - needs updating, no double glazing might as well slept on the street, breakfast left us having bad stomach. Gave us a room, we went sightseeing and came back, they had See More  Read more information given to someone else, gave us a back room, so small, had to be asked to move. Staff very unfriendly, slapped keys down on desk, manager just didn't give a hoot, no customer skills. Your staff wereabsolutely fantastic when I booked this mini break, you are doing yourself an injustice to your staff and company, promoting this hell hole, the only good thing was location. We worked hard to go on thistrip, a decent night's sleep was the least we expected, and some courtesy, extremely disappointed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bus Tour  
Cadtle  
Mary's cross  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hard Rock  
Bells Italia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 21/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Tyne and Wear who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Edinburgh (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We had an appalling stop in our hotel. No sleep due to running up and down corridors throughout evening & morning. No hot water for a bath due to power cut. Awful restaurant and service due to being See More  Read more information busy. Food was so salty could not eat. Wine was awful. Edinburgh was beautiful - liked everything about the city. Breakfast was superb.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edinborough Gallery  
Edinborough museum  
Grey Fryers Graveyard  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Dinner  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel room small and cold

Stay Date: 26/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Barnsley who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel staff were good but the maintenance of the rooms was poor. Had to change rooms because the door would not lock, room was cold and the heating was not powerful enough to maker a difference. See More  Read more information Windows were single glazed and were freezing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Christmas Market  
Museum of Scotland  
Royal Mile  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre Royal  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh House Hotel

Stay Date: 16/12/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Doncaster who stayed at 3* Edinburgh House Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The hotel was an absolute shambles, no heating, no hot water, curtails that didn't close, draughty windows, sloping bed and carpets that didn't fit so were a trip hazard. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Castle  
Dungeons  
Christmas Market Edinburgh  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Last Drop  
Frankie & Benny  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1321 - 1330 of 1336 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:19

Last rendered @ 24/06/2019 14:28:20

Last rendered @ 24/06/2019 14:28:20

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.