Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Edinburgh

Edinburgh Holiday Reviews

Edinburgh



Discover all the capital city of Scotland has to offer with our amazing Edinburgh hotels. From the beautiful Lothian countryside to the cosmopolitan historic centre ? Edinburgh has it all.

Whether you?re flying from Edinburgh and require an airport hotel, looking to explore the city?s many wonderful attractions, or heading to the rolling hills, towns and villages of The Lothians, a short break in this vibrant and diverse city is a guaranteed hit.

  • With a lively cultural scene including an array of international festivals, plus a choice of fascinating historic attractions and a vibrant shopping scene on Princes Street ? Edinburgh city centre has plenty to keep you entertained on a short break. Pay a visit to Edinburgh Castle or Holyrood Palace for a historic day out, or if you?re feeling adventurous climb to the top of Arthur?s Seat for spectacular views across the city.
  • Explore the tranquil countryside of The Lothians ? the ideal place for a gentle stroll or a hiking challenge along the Pentland Hills. Rich with ancient castles and century-old battle grounds, The Lothians also boast miles of golden beaches along the coast and abundance of fantastic golf courses.
  • Edinburgh Airport is located only 8 miles west of the city with flights to over 85 destinations worldwide making it a popular choice for European short breaks. Take the stress out of flying by choosing one of our handy and convenient Edinburgh airport hotels.
By choosing one of our hotels in Edinburgh, you will on the doorstep of so many amazing historic attractions, cultural delights and vibrant shopping scenes, as well as the beautiful countryside and hidden coastal retreats. To discover more of what a short break in the Sottish capital has to offer, check out our handy Edinburgh travel guide.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 1336

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Edinburgh Waverly Hotel

Stay Date: 11/09/12, a customer aged 25-44 from London who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

room 207 had no view, in fact it face the back of a back street but couldn't see out of it because they had put something on the window which prevented any natural daylight into the room at all See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Britannia  
Edinburgh Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh Good, Hotel Poor

Stay Date: 04/01/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Auchtermuchty who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Edinburgh (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

when we arrived were seen quickly and given room key.BUT the sofa bed only had a scratch blanket folded in a quilt cover.Also 12 year old had to bend knees to sleep as it was too short.The evening See More  Read more information meal was a carvery but the roast potatoes were reheated and the vegetables frozen not fresh.The waiter forgot our drinks order even though the restaurant was nearly empty.The desserts were very poorquality.Breakfast was dripping in grease.We had to stand holding food over the tray to drain it.We were only given 3 cups and 3 milks for a family of 4.We asked for more and were given just a mug.Thenwe had to ask for another the next day as we were back to 3.Both door cards failed after one use and had to be reset.This is first time used a Holiday Inn. thought we would give them a try but willstay at Premier Inn in future a far better experience.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dungeon  
Mary kings  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Crown Carvery  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A Weekend in Edinburgh

Stay Date: 08/02/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Selby who stayed at 3* Old Waverley Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Edinburgh is a great place to spend a weekend but just be aware that many of the shops don't open on a Sunday. Just strolling around the Old Town is a wonderful experience. Admission to the castle See More  Read more information is a rip-off at £14.50 a head. We'll go back in summer so that we can walk up Arthur's Seat. The Waverley Hotel was convenient but below standard - noisy, a bit scruffy and a very small room. We ate atLa Lanterna, which is a superb old-style, family-run Italian restaurant in Hanover Street - but book in advance because it's very popular.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Underground Edinburgh  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
La Lanterna  
Hardrock Cafe  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 10/09/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Britannia Hotel Edinburgh in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Hotel staff helpful and pleasant. View from the hotel room was lovely - river and woodland, but this was spoilt by accumulated rubbish thrown onto the flat roof outside room that had not been See More  Read more information cleared up. Minor things cosmetically to the hotel could make a huge improvement. The hotel was clean, though very very basic and tatty in some areas - but it was cheap and you get what you pay for.Reminded me of some youth hostels I have stayed in. If you want a no frills bed for the night it's fine. Walked from railway station - supposed to be 1.2 mls away from station - that may be as the crowflies, but more like 2.5miles on foot?   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Art Galleries  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
John Lewis  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 27/01/14, a customer aged 65+ from Ledbury who stayed at 3* Grassmarket Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

We had a lovely break and saw Evita. However, I was ill on way up to Edinburgh and asked the theatre to change the tickets to the next night but they wouldn't! We arrived at hotel and were asked if See More  Read more information we'd like to upgrade our room for ?35 per night and we would get the parking free, and a newspaper, so we decided we would, but that was not worth it. We actually had a most depressing room the firstnight, but the next day I mentioned we weren't happy with the room and they moved us and whilst the room was at the back and quieter it was bigger. Bathrooms were very poor indeed and we were toldthey were all like that. No face cloths, and only one large towel and one very small hand towel. The room was clean though. Television very poor with many channels not connected like Film 4 which shouldbe standard in this day and age. We had decided to pay and extra ?117 pounds for the three nights dinner, but the menu was basic to say the least, the waitresses were hopeless, and in fact we wishedwe hadn't paid the extra and eaten out. The breakfast was better than the dinner! We had to ask for bread and butter and it was like we were on rations, so very disappointing. We had a really nicegirl called Eva at breakfast and she stood out as a good waitress and just very pleasant. There was a manager I think at reception of a different nationality to British and he too was delightful. Weused the swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi and that was excellent and very enjoyable. Having said all of the above we did enjoy our break but hotel needs to smarten up their staff and the hotel inparts looked a little sad in d?cor. Finally after our break had been booked by our son as a treat for us we asked Superbreak to alter the hotel etc, and the staff were absolutely excellent, so thank youto Superbreak. We would book through you again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cinema  
Museums  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ate in hotel only  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Holiday Inn

Stay Date: 14/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Sandwich who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Edinburgh (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Poor hotel, poor staff. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Loch Fyne  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edingburgh Break

Stay Date: 29/05/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Britannia Hotel Edinburgh in Edinburgh wrote this review.

The hotel was very basic a lot of basic things you would find elsewhere were missing would not stay there again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Edingburgh Castle  
Holyrood House  
Yacht Britania  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Filling Station  
Auld hundred  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointing Stay

Stay Date: 05/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Aberdeen who stayed at 4* Macdonald Holyrood Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

This hotel is definitely not a 4 star hotel, our stay was very disappointing. The room, which had apparently just been refurbished, had a cracked sink, shower that ran hot/cold, a flaking ceiling See More  Read more information and a cupboard door that would not open. Breakfast was ok, but service a bit disappointing. Also no in-house movie channel available. As a positive the leisure facilities were excellent, however we willnot be returning to this hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dynamic Earth  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pancho Villas  
Filling Station  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

McDonald Holyrood

Stay Date: 22/10/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Osbaston who stayed at 4* Macdonald Holyrood Hotel in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Having stayed in a number of McDonald hotels (Oxford, Bath, Woodstock etc,), we found this one disappointing. When we arrived the fire door next to our room had a sign which said that the closing See More  Read more information mechanism was broken and asking guests to close the door quietly. As you can imagine the door banged quite often until quite late at night from early in the morning. We were offered a change of roomsbut didn't want the disruption of doing so. I would have thought that in the 3 nights we were there a repair could have been carried out. The keys to the room continually failed to work. On the secondnight we were there neither key let us into the room and when new keys were coded these didn't either. So at least one trip per day back to reception to get keys sorted. We had breakfast each morningwe were there and each time little things were missing - butter knives, a cup, butter etc. My wife ordered poached eggs on toast and they arrived without the toast. Little things but they add up to thefact that we would not return to this hotel. I must, however, mention the excellent gym facilities.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Yacht Brittania  
Holyrood House  
Edinburgh Castle  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Howies, Victoria Street  
Angels with Bagpipes  
Whiski  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Edinburgh

Stay Date: 08/01/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Cupar who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Edinburgh - Royal Terrace (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Edinburgh wrote this review.

Small room with draughty windows (newspaper stuffed into all the gaps). Bathroom was tiny. Dinner was nice and staff were attentive. Good location for city centre. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Calton Hill  
Playhouse  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Witchery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1301 - 1310 of 1336 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 15:47:52

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 15:47:52

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.