Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - East England

East England Holiday Reviews

St Johns College, Cambridge

Ideal for a relaxing escape to the country, our hotels in the East of England are an excellent choice for your next short break. Whether you fancy a chilled-out break on the Norfolk Broads, a quaint retreat in picturesque Suffolk or a city break in one of the many fascinating and historic destinations of Cambridgeshire, this is the place for you.

Family-friendly breaks abound, many of our East England hotels are great for a trip to the seaside –pretty Hunstanton, Great Yarmouth and Felixstowe are just some of the places the kids will love. For fantastic – and infamous – nightlife, Essex hotels are the best situated in the region, and for history and culture, our hotels in Ipswich are hard to beat.

  • Historic, cultural and cosmopolitan, the area’s biggest cities are not only great for sight-seeing, but are perfect spots to enjoy some shopping and some fine dining; be sure to take a look at our hotels in Norwich and our Cambridge hotels too.
  • Two of the finest gothic cathedrals in the country, be sure to visit both Peterborough Cathedral and Ely Cathedral – a real highlight of any break in the area.
  • If you decide to stay at one of our Suffolk hotels, be sure to check the race schedule at Newmarket – one of the country’s top horse-racing tracks and always a fun day out.


East Anglia is a richly diverse and exciting destination for short breaks – from budget accommodation to luxury country retreats, check out our list of East England hotels below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 533

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Returning customers

Stay Date: 22/05/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Harlow who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Cambridge (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Cambridge wrote this review.

We have been staying at Menzies Hotel in Cambridge for over 10 years. It is a perfect location for us as we work in Newcastle & have family down south. However as loyal customers, we were See More  Read more information disappointed to be assigned a small room. It was unusually dark (despite arriving on a sunny spring afternoon!) & we struggled to move in the tiny bathroom. We didn't bother to complain as it was only for 2nights.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cambridge & all the wonderful historic sites  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Prezzo  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Fabulous Family Weekend Away

Stay Date: 23/05/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Uk who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Colchester wrote this review.

This was a super discovery - enjoyed the Essex coast at the Crown Plaza hotel in Colchester. Hotel excellent - received complimentary drink at reception - room was ready at check in and located off See More  Read more information the spa centre -so experienced the soothing sounds and fragrances on route to our room. Bathroom and room facilities were grand - everything in place with quality products. Food varied and reallyenjoyed dining in both restaurants particularly the grill room - fine dining. Would highly recommend the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
West Mersey festival  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great weekend - disappointing food

Stay Date: 05/06/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Nottingham who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Cambridge (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Cambridge wrote this review.

The hotel setting, grounds and room including coffee/tea facilities were good. We had dinner on the first night included in the deal and in the restaurant the second couple in the original booking See More  Read more information for six were served an acceptable starter but the quinoa salad they both chose as a main was full of the washing water, had no dressing, was tasteless and inedible. They complained and were offered areplacement meal which by that time they felt it was too late to digest, and they were obviously put off eating in the restaurant the following evening which was the alternative offer. Is there anyother way they could be recompensed? Unfortunately the third couple could not check in owing to illness and obviously forfeit their money. The breakfast was okay although the porridge I had was barelywarm and the sausages were of low quality. My husband and I ate in the bar area on the second night. His meal was okay but mine was initially served with skinny fries though the menu clearly stated fatchips. These were substituted though not before I had eaten the majority of the fish. The mushy peas were almost cold. I think that the food was overpriced for its quality overall. Having stayed atfour star hotels before, this one was disappointing. The tourist leaflets were out of sight behind a free-standing noticeboard and the only map of Cambridge available at reception was of little use. Wewere however given a bus timetable which was very handy as an alternative to Park and Ride, and the bus stop was only a short distance from the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed the time spent lookingaround Cambridge and visited Huntingdon on the way back which was also an interesting place.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Colleges and Backs  
Great St Mary's Church and Tower  
Kelly's Yard  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Kings Lynn

Stay Date: 15/06/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Dukes Head Hotel in Kings Lynn wrote this review.

The hotel was ideally situated for shopping. We were lucky to park in the hotels free parking but the room was expensive for what it was. There were areas that needed cleaning such as the staircase See More  Read more information and the bedroom windows outside. We didn't like where you eat breakfast as it was not in the dining room like in other hotels we have stayed in - more like a canteen, but people on bus trips couldhave theirs in the dinning room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hunstanton  
Sandringham  
Norfolk Lavender  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wonderful Stay

Stay Date: 27/06/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Ickworth Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Bury St Edmunds wrote this review.

Fantastic Hotel, attentive staff, excellent food. You don't need to go anywhere else, but in the grounds, as there is plenty to do and see. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ickworth House  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Maybush Near Woodbridge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Sandringham

Stay Date: 26/06/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Dukes Head Hotel (Cream Tea Offer) in Kings Lynn wrote this review.

Hotel was very good all round - just a small thing husband couldn't get the shave socket to work - reception staff did have a plug for us but forgot to give it to us so husband had a two day growth. See More  Read more information The hotel was perfectly positioned right in the centre of Kings Lynn, plenty of shops and pubs within walking distance. Visited the Sandringham Estate House and Garden - the museum was good value formoney and the weather was perfect.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sandringham  
Spalding Springfields  
Wells next the Sea  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wetherspoons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Cambridge

Stay Date: 04/07/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Cambridge (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Cambridge wrote this review.

We were very impressed with The Menzies Hotel, the bus into Cambridge stopped just outside the hotel, so was very convenient. We loved Cambridge from its architecture to the lovely shops. A great See More  Read more information place for a short city break. We would definitely stay in The Menzies again, the room was excellent, very comfortable and spacious. Although we didn't use the leisure facilities ourselves it all lookedvery impressive. The breakfast was very good as was the evening meals, although there could have been more choice at dinner.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cambridge City  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Menzies Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great visit to Cambridge

Stay Date: 20/08/15, a customer aged 65+ from King's Lynn who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Cambridge (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Cambridge wrote this review.

Excellent hotel easily accessed from the A14. Excellent facilities including a golf course and fitness centre. Regular local bus service 5 minutes from hotel which takes you into the centre of See More  Read more information Cambridge. We will definitely use this hotel again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Fitzwilliam Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel (Dinner)  
Cote in Cambridge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice hotel

Stay Date: 22/08/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Southend in Southend-On-Sea wrote this review.

Hotel - superb, facilities - great, location - OK.... However we couldn't check in (after check in time) as the staff were 'overwhelmed' by the number of clients! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Anne Boleyn  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Ideal touring centre

Stay Date: 21/08/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Dukes Head Hotel (Cream Tea Offer) in Kings Lynn wrote this review.

Another great value break. Hotel was excellent. First class included breakfast and good value and very enjoyable restaurant meals. Friendly and helpful staff made this a very enjoyable stay. Only See More  Read more information downside, very noisy in room at night due to adjacent pub garden attracting particularly loud and boisterous young people and same pub staff emptying bottles from one bin to another at one o'clock inthe morning. Spoke to hotel staff who are very aware of the problem but are unable to do much about it. However, this will not put me or my wife off staying again (which we intend to do) but we willtake ear plugs and a small desk fan (so we can close the window and use the fan in warm weather). The positives far outweighed the negatives so don't be put off, be prepared. Kings Lynn is for usideally situated for the areas we wanted to visit, and has an excellent bus service which we took advantage of using our old fogies bus passes, and when we return we will take even more advantage of now weknow the ropes. The car will probably not leave the car park! All in all a first class trip. Many thanks SuperBreak, we will be back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Langham Glass Fakenham  
Trues Yard museum  
General area  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Prezzo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 61 - 70 of 533 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001991 @ 01/11/2018 10:45:45

Last rendered @ 15/11/2018 10:19:37

Last rendered @ 15/11/2018 10:19:37

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.