Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - East England

East England Holiday Reviews

St Johns College, Cambridge

Ideal for a relaxing escape to the country, our hotels in the East of England are an excellent choice for your next short break. Whether you fancy a chilled-out break on the Norfolk Broads, a quaint retreat in picturesque Suffolk or a city break in one of the many fascinating and historic destinations of Cambridgeshire, this is the place for you.

Family-friendly breaks abound, many of our East England hotels are great for a trip to the seaside –pretty Hunstanton, Great Yarmouth and Felixstowe are just some of the places the kids will love. For fantastic – and infamous – nightlife, Essex hotels are the best situated in the region, and for history and culture, our hotels in Ipswich are hard to beat.

  • Historic, cultural and cosmopolitan, the area’s biggest cities are not only great for sight-seeing, but are perfect spots to enjoy some shopping and some fine dining; be sure to take a look at our hotels in Norwich and our Cambridge hotels too.
  • Two of the finest gothic cathedrals in the country, be sure to visit both Peterborough Cathedral and Ely Cathedral – a real highlight of any break in the area.
  • If you decide to stay at one of our Suffolk hotels, be sure to check the race schedule at Newmarket – one of the country’s top horse-racing tracks and always a fun day out.


East Anglia is a richly diverse and exciting destination for short breaks – from budget accommodation to luxury country retreats, check out our list of East England hotels below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 402

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Christmas near Coventry

Stay Date: 24/12/12, a customer aged 45-64 from Spalding who stayed at 4* Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire 3 Night Christmas Break in Coventry (Nr) wrote this review.

We stayed over Christmas to give a break from cooking etc.The hotel and its facilities were excellent, also the staff and it was good value for money. The only downside of our stay was that the See More  Read more information hotel was very busy with a group booking which almost monopolised the bar and seating areas on each day, also lots of bookings for Christmas lunch meaning that we and other guests had to eat away fromthe restaurant. Although fantastic for the hotel the spreading of the hard-working staff over three areas meant that we did not get as much attention as we expected resulting in Christmas lunch takingover 3 hours missing tea and almost bumping into the buffet supper. This was not too much of a problem but if we decide to have a Christmas beak again we will be going to a smaller hotel!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Access to Amenities

Stay Date: 23/11/12, a customer aged 25-44 from Wisbech who stayed at 4* Dukes Head Hotel in Kings Lynn wrote this review.

This hotel was in a good place to access the town for shopping and food etc and for commuting to surrounding attractions like the Christmas Fayre, Sandringham, Hunstanton etc. It was a shame that See More  Read more information the hotel marred the enjoyment of the break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hunstanton  
Sandringham  
Christmas Fayre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Lattice  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not a Good Start

Stay Date: 16/02/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Halstead who stayed at 4* The Ickworth Hotel in Bury St Edmunds wrote this review.

Arrived at the hotel to be told room was not available because of problem with shower. We were told we could upgrade to another room but was fifteen minute walk to a separate block which was old, See More  Read more information tired and in need of a lot of tlc, so we opted to take the room with the broken shower. Room was comfortable, had a nice bed with good quality bedding but was not told when booking about renovations athotel which were ongoing. Evening meal was good and staff were pleasant and knowledgeable. Breakfast was very poor, disorganised and lacking in leadership. Was not told it was buffet style, whichordinarily would not have been a problem but food was supposed to have been available from 07.30 and was more like 08.00 with lots of families with young children waiting for the rest of the hot food tobe put out. Was not asked if we wanted toast or bread and they only just managed to ask if we wanted tea or coffee! We booked and paid in advance and on check out I was expecting some sort ofrecompense for being without a shower but was offered nothing, indeed, we were asked to pay in full. I explained we had already paid but it took a while for the receptionist to work it out even though I hadour booking paperwork with us! would not recommend this hotel to any one ever and reading the TripAdvisor comments would not have booked it save for a recommendation from a work colleague.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Break in Norwich

Stay Date: 22/04/13, a customer aged 65+ from Oakham who stayed at 4* Mercure Norwich in Norwich wrote this review.

Hotel was ok. staff a bit distant. Room OK but only 1 tea bag each per day!! in the room services. For a 4 star hotel the breakfast cooked and left heated under lamps was not quite what we expected. See More  Read more information Very accessible to the town centre. My friends thoroughly enjoyed the area, we went to the broads, round the city of Norwich and on the way home did the north coast of Norfolk - Cromer, Sheringham,Wells, Blakeney, Brancaster etc.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Norwich City  
Sheringham  
Broads  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jamie Oliver Italian  
The Last  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Birthday Meal at Five Lakes

Stay Date: 24/08/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Ilford who stayed at 4* Best Western Marks Tey (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Colchester wrote this review.

We stayed at the Best Western in Marks Tey which was very pleasant and had a lovely meal in the hotel on the first night. We then went to Five Lakes hotel for a Birthday celebration meal. I found it See More  Read more information strange that we had 26 guests all dressed up & in the same restaurant we had a group of girls on a hen who had only white robes on who were using the spa facilities just seemed strange to be in thesame place.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Five Lakes Hotel  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Five lakes brasserie  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cambridge

Stay Date: 05/10/13, a customer aged 65+ from York who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Cambridge in Cambridge wrote this review.

Punted on cam and visited kings collegeafter lunch walked to the castle hill overlooking Cambridge superb views. Drove to Anglesy Abbey and lode mill excellent day out See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Anglesey Abbey  
kigs college  
wimpole este  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Loch Fyne  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Trip to Colchester

Stay Date: 10/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Ashford who stayed at 4* Best Western Marks Tey (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Colchester wrote this review.

We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist and upon entering our room we thought it was clean, but the carpet was thread bear and the furniture was very dark. The curtains were also very dark and See More  Read more information tied back in a way that didn't let much light in.the hotel looked habit tired, but it didn't stop us enjoying our stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas trip to London

Stay Date: 19/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Castleford who stayed at 4* Marygreen Manor in Brentwood wrote this review.

Drove to Brentwood, excellent stay at Marygreen Manor, next morning train into London shopping on Kensington high street . Afternoon Horse show at Olympia then evening at Covent garden meal at Cote See More  Read more information Bistro and a walk down Oxford street to see the lights Next day a leisurely breakfast drove home stopping for some Christmas shopping in Stamford . All ready for a family Christmas.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Olympia  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
marygreen manor  
cote bistrot covent garden  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Colchester/Chelmsford

Stay Date: 25/01/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Best Western Marks Tey (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Colchester wrote this review.

Excellent value the staff were first class as was the food and hotel facilities,we will stay again . See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cambridge

Stay Date: 19/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Cambridge in Cambridge wrote this review.

We had a wonderful relaxing time in Cambridge the hotel, was wonderful. Swimming pool clean & well staffed. Bills resturant is simply the best place to eat! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Punting  
Colleges  
Fix william museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bills  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 61 - 70 of 402 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 18/07/2019 05:42:24

Last rendered @ 18/07/2019 05:42:24

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.