Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - East England

East England Holiday Reviews

St Johns College, Cambridge

Ideal for a relaxing escape to the country, our hotels in the East of England are an excellent choice for your next short break. Whether you fancy a chilled-out break on the Norfolk Broads, a quaint retreat in picturesque Suffolk or a city break in one of the many fascinating and historic destinations of Cambridgeshire, this is the place for you.

Family-friendly breaks abound, many of our East England hotels are great for a trip to the seaside –pretty Hunstanton, Great Yarmouth and Felixstowe are just some of the places the kids will love. For fantastic – and infamous – nightlife, Essex hotels are the best situated in the region, and for history and culture, our hotels in Ipswich are hard to beat.

  • Historic, cultural and cosmopolitan, the area’s biggest cities are not only great for sight-seeing, but are perfect spots to enjoy some shopping and some fine dining; be sure to take a look at our hotels in Norwich and our Cambridge hotels too.
  • Two of the finest gothic cathedrals in the country, be sure to visit both Peterborough Cathedral and Ely Cathedral – a real highlight of any break in the area.
  • If you decide to stay at one of our Suffolk hotels, be sure to check the race schedule at Newmarket – one of the country’s top horse-racing tracks and always a fun day out.


East Anglia is a richly diverse and exciting destination for short breaks – from budget accommodation to luxury country retreats, check out our list of East England hotels below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 533

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Not What We Expected from a Holiday Inn

Stay Date: 21/11/08, a customer from Peterborough who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Norwich in Norwich wrote this review.

We arrived at our destination late; and looked at the 'specials' board. We paid for our meals and sat down with a drink. After some tooing and froing; what we had chosen was not available, nor was See More  Read more information anything else on the menu (that appealed to us) that evening. Our money was refunded accordingly. We popped to a Pub up the road; and had a meal that was not particularly nice; so commented as such,and were given a part refund. Just when we thought it couldn't get any worse. In the morning when we went down for beakfast (at about 9.00am); there was little choice; as they had 'ran out' ofeverything. We had toast; and a glass of orange juice. Although staff apologised; it wasn't good. We had a day out looking at the sites; the castle and city centre. It started to snow; so we went back to theHotel. The room was freezing! We asked for assistance, but it was a known problem, and the engineers came out; we waited several hours for the temperature to come back up to spec! Even the landing waswarmer than our room. It was so cold in our room that that evening we went to bed fully dressed. In the morning, we were just so fed up; and the snow by now was tumbling; we had a breakfast (and therewas a bit more than there was the previous day,; despite us going down an hour later!?); we ventured home. Not sure that we will book with Superbreak again. Up until now, always thought the Qualityof your hotels has been good. This was too disappointing   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Norwich Castle  
City Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Peterborough

Stay Date: 20/03/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough in Peterborough wrote this review.

The Hotel was very pleasant but our stay was marred by lots of schoolchildren making a lot of noise early in the morning. After requesting a quiet room was most disappointed. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor’s comments: All requests are given to the hotel when a booking is made. Hotels make every attempt to accommodate every guest’s requests as best they can, but cannot always meet every request made

 

Colchester Break

Stay Date: 01/12/09, a customer from Sleaford, who stayed at 3* The George Hotel (2 Nt Offer & 1st Nt Dinner) in Colchester wrote this review.

Everything was fine with two exceptions. The hotel was noisy (first night external noise from "clubbers" boarding coaches until 3a.m. Room changed for one at rear of hotel, but this had a noisy See More  Read more information extractor fan or ac unit next door. We were billed for the entire stay at checkout and had to work quite hard to get agreement that the accommodation and the first dinner had been paid for in advance toSuperbreak.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Fingringhoe Wick Nature Reserve  
Walton-On-The-Naze  
Frinton  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Peterborough

Stay Date: 11/09/09, a customer from Keighley who stayed at 3* Dragonfly Hotel Peterborough in Peterborough rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break In Woodford

Stay Date: 23/08/09, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Plus Epping Forest in Woodford rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Oliver At The Theatre  
 
 

Short Break In Ipswich

Stay Date: 05/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ipswich rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cambridge  
Waterfront Ipswich  
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 23/06/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Plus Epping Forest in Woodford rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Michael Ball - Royal Albert Hall  
 
 

Short Break In Essex

Stay Date: 27/05/12, a customer who stayed at 3* Brook Red Lion Hotel in Colchester rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
 

Executive it wasn't!

Stay Date: 09/08/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ipswich wrote this review.

We were upgraded to an "Executive Room" but the beds were so uncomfortable. Reception rang our room at 10.30 pm to get us to authorise our credit card. Was that really necessary at that time? See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ipswich Town  
Felixstowe  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brewers Fayre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Just Chillaxed

Stay Date: 21/08/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Boston who stayed at 3* Hatfield Hotel in Lowestoft wrote this review.

Hotel is right on the beach and is making the difficult transition from Olde Worlde to new chic boutique. Not particularly my cup of tea, I prefer comfort rather than the smart discomfort these See More  Read more information designers prefer. Take some milk powder the milk cartons are not up to the job. Also be very chilled if using the lift, it's very scary.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beach and town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 521 - 530 of 533 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001991 @ 01/11/2018 10:45:45

Last rendered @ 15/11/2018 10:31:16

Last rendered @ 15/11/2018 10:31:16

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.