Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - East England

East England Holiday Reviews

St Johns College, Cambridge

Ideal for a relaxing escape to the country, our hotels in the East of England are an excellent choice for your next short break. Whether you fancy a chilled-out break on the Norfolk Broads, a quaint retreat in picturesque Suffolk or a city break in one of the many fascinating and historic destinations of Cambridgeshire, this is the place for you.

Family-friendly breaks abound, many of our East England hotels are great for a trip to the seaside –pretty Hunstanton, Great Yarmouth and Felixstowe are just some of the places the kids will love. For fantastic – and infamous – nightlife, Essex hotels are the best situated in the region, and for history and culture, our hotels in Ipswich are hard to beat.

  • Historic, cultural and cosmopolitan, the area’s biggest cities are not only great for sight-seeing, but are perfect spots to enjoy some shopping and some fine dining; be sure to take a look at our hotels in Norwich and our Cambridge hotels too.
  • Two of the finest gothic cathedrals in the country, be sure to visit both Peterborough Cathedral and Ely Cathedral – a real highlight of any break in the area.
  • If you decide to stay at one of our Suffolk hotels, be sure to check the race schedule at Newmarket – one of the country’s top horse-racing tracks and always a fun day out.


East Anglia is a richly diverse and exciting destination for short breaks – from budget accommodation to luxury country retreats, check out our list of East England hotels below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 399

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Don't Forget Your Map!

Stay Date: 01/08/06, a customer from Hampshire who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Cambridge in Cambridge wrote this review.

I would suggest that anyone visiting Cambridge buys a street map before they go. The hotel's instructions which were sent to me were useless and they had no street maps in the hotel. All the See More  Read more information roundabouts are identical, making it very difficult to get your bearings.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Bridge at Waterbeach  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's comments: Based on this valuable feedback received from our customers we have corrected the directions for this hotel. Thank you!

 

Short Break in Woodford

Stay Date: 30/09/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Plus Epping Forest in Woodford rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 03/08/07, a customer from Liverpool who stayed at 4* Mercure Norwich in Norwich wrote this review.

Placed in a family room next to hotel plant room. family hardly slept with noise and the room was stifling (do to heat). We complained at the time of arrivel but no other suitable rooms avialable See More  Read more information so we had to put up with it. My Husband is an engineer and spends most of his time in plant rooms so he wasn't impressed. Wouldn't stay there again or another ramada!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not What We Expected from a Holiday Inn

Stay Date: 21/11/08, a customer from Peterborough who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Norwich in Norwich wrote this review.

We arrived at our destination late; and looked at the 'specials' board. We paid for our meals and sat down with a drink. After some tooing and froing; what we had chosen was not available, nor was See More  Read more information anything else on the menu (that appealed to us) that evening. Our money was refunded accordingly. We popped to a Pub up the road; and had a meal that was not particularly nice; so commented as such,and were given a part refund. Just when we thought it couldn't get any worse. In the morning when we went down for beakfast (at about 9.00am); there was little choice; as they had 'ran out' ofeverything. We had toast; and a glass of orange juice. Although staff apologised; it wasn't good. We had a day out looking at the sites; the castle and city centre. It started to snow; so we went back to theHotel. The room was freezing! We asked for assistance, but it was a known problem, and the engineers came out; we waited several hours for the temperature to come back up to spec! Even the landing waswarmer than our room. It was so cold in our room that that evening we went to bed fully dressed. In the morning, we were just so fed up; and the snow by now was tumbling; we had a breakfast (and therewas a bit more than there was the previous day,; despite us going down an hour later!?); we ventured home. Not sure that we will book with Superbreak again. Up until now, always thought the Qualityof your hotels has been good. This was too disappointing   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Norwich Castle  
City Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Ipswich

Stay Date: 05/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ipswich rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cambridge  
Waterfront Ipswich  
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 23/06/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Plus Epping Forest in Woodford rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Michael Ball - Royal Albert Hall  
 
 

Lovely City Shame About The Hotel

Stay Date: 11/03/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Royal Cambridge Hotel in Cambridge wrote this review.

This hotel has excellent staff but the hotel itself is very rundown indeed and is clearly due for a refurb....Preferably by several years ago! The windows rattle when anyone walks about and the See More  Read more information paintwork is peeling wherever you look. There was hardly a wooden surface in our room where the varnish hadn't been worn off. The wood on the doors to the rooms is badly marked where the key fobs haverubbed the finish off which shows how long it has been since any serious upkeep programme has been in place. It seemed as though every door had a self closing device which meant that instead of allowingthem to close silently they slammed shut. Cambridge...Mmmm....What a great place. Follow the 'pub trail' described in engleby by sebastian faulks and go punting from scudamores boatyard. Thecolleges are wonderful....Through the gates and enter another world. Eating etc.....Browns bistro was good but try not to sit in the 'kids area' (unless you bring your own!) all bar one was great fora tapas type experience and we passed what looked like an excellent fish restaurant just down the road from browns. Enjoy your time ...Just don't expect too much luxury from the royal cambridgehotel!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Punting On The River  
All The Colleges  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Not a Good Start

Stay Date: 16/02/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Halstead who stayed at 4* The Ickworth Hotel in Bury St Edmunds wrote this review.

Arrived at the hotel to be told room was not available because of problem with shower. We were told we could upgrade to another room but was fifteen minute walk to a separate block which was old, See More  Read more information tired and in need of a lot of tlc, so we opted to take the room with the broken shower. Room was comfortable, had a nice bed with good quality bedding but was not told when booking about renovations athotel which were ongoing. Evening meal was good and staff were pleasant and knowledgeable. Breakfast was very poor, disorganised and lacking in leadership. Was not told it was buffet style, whichordinarily would not have been a problem but food was supposed to have been available from 07.30 and was more like 08.00 with lots of families with young children waiting for the rest of the hot food tobe put out. Was not asked if we wanted toast or bread and they only just managed to ask if we wanted tea or coffee! We booked and paid in advance and on check out I was expecting some sort ofrecompense for being without a shower but was offered nothing, indeed, we were asked to pay in full. I explained we had already paid but it took a while for the receptionist to work it out even though I hadour booking paperwork with us! would not recommend this hotel to any one ever and reading the TripAdvisor comments would not have booked it save for a recommendation from a work colleague.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Red Lion Hotel in Colchester has really gone down hill

Stay Date: 21/02/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Trowbridge who stayed at 3* Brook Red Lion Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Colchester wrote this review.

After staying at the Red Lion Hotel in Colchester on a few occassions around 6- 8 years ago i was appalled at how bad it has deteriorated and how unclean it is now. We changed to three different See More  Read more information rooms because of the standard of furniture and the cleanliness of the bathrooms and all three were very substandard. The first two rooms had two single beds pushed together (first room they weredifferent sized beds so slight difference in height) which was strange as we had booked a double bed and all were very un hygenic with body hair in plug holes and dirty toilets and a toilet brush that wasquite frankly disgustingly filthy. The third room we finally stayed in did at least have a double bed and wasn't as bad but still had other residents hair over the carpet. There was no hot water eitherbut this was explained from the manager that we had to run both bath and sink hot water taps for around 15 minutes to get it to come through as the hot water comes from the other side of the hotel.There was mould on all the ceilings in the bathrooms it was explained by members of staff that the head cleaner had had an accident and that the staff who were now doing the cleaning were not doing avery good job. Over all I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone.....it spoiled what was a good weekend to return to Colchester to meet family and friends.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Local Restaurant and bars  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Slug & Lettuce  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 391 - 399 of 399 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:24

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 00:06:34

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 00:06:34

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.