Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - East England

East England Holiday Reviews

St Johns College, Cambridge

Ideal for a relaxing escape to the country, our hotels in the East of England are an excellent choice for your next short break. Whether you fancy a chilled-out break on the Norfolk Broads, a quaint retreat in picturesque Suffolk or a city break in one of the many fascinating and historic destinations of Cambridgeshire, this is the place for you.

Family-friendly breaks abound, many of our East England hotels are great for a trip to the seaside –pretty Hunstanton, Great Yarmouth and Felixstowe are just some of the places the kids will love. For fantastic – and infamous – nightlife, Essex hotels are the best situated in the region, and for history and culture, our hotels in Ipswich are hard to beat.

  • Historic, cultural and cosmopolitan, the area’s biggest cities are not only great for sight-seeing, but are perfect spots to enjoy some shopping and some fine dining; be sure to take a look at our hotels in Norwich and our Cambridge hotels too.
  • Two of the finest gothic cathedrals in the country, be sure to visit both Peterborough Cathedral and Ely Cathedral – a real highlight of any break in the area.
  • If you decide to stay at one of our Suffolk hotels, be sure to check the race schedule at Newmarket – one of the country’s top horse-racing tracks and always a fun day out.


East Anglia is a richly diverse and exciting destination for short breaks – from budget accommodation to luxury country retreats, check out our list of East England hotels below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 390

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Close to Cambridge Lea Hospital

Stay Date: 16/10/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Cambridge in Cambridge wrote this review.

My husband had surgery at the hospital. I wanted to stay close just in case something happen so I didn't have to travel during the night. Because of Superbreak I was able to find the hotel 10minutes See More  Read more information away from the hospital. The hotel was easy to find and very helpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cambridge Lea Hospital  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Norwich

Stay Date: 23/12/07, a customer from Warwickshire who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Norwich City in Norwich rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Don Pepe Restaurant, 26 St. Benedicts Street  
 
 

Short Break in Bury St Edmunds

Stay Date: 30/01/08, a customer from Derby who stayed at 3* Dragonfly Hotel Bury St Edmunds in Bury St Edmunds rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
 

Just Chillaxed

Stay Date: 21/08/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Boston who stayed at 3* Hatfield Hotel in Lowestoft wrote this review.

Hotel is right on the beach and is making the difficult transition from Olde Worlde to new chic boutique. Not particularly my cup of tea, I prefer comfort rather than the smart discomfort these See More  Read more information designers prefer. Take some milk powder the milk cartons are not up to the job. Also be very chilled if using the lift, it's very scary.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beach and town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Peterborough

Stay Date: 06/12/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Days Inn Peterborough in Peterborough wrote this review.

Very cheap break including rail travel and hotel. Hotel was not great, quite run down but was mostly clean and was the best that we could hope for given the exceptionally low price. Would use See More  Read more information superbreak again without hesitation but maybe not the specific hotel. Excellent telephone support from superbreak, easy administration   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ipswich overnight

Stay Date: 25/07/14, a customer from Great Yarmouth who stayed at 4* Novotel Ipswich in Ipswich wrote this review.

Had laser eye surgery in the centre of Ipswich (optimax) so chose this hotel for close location after surgery, the hotel was less than a 10min walk from the centre, being disabled the room was See More  Read more information across from the lift, it was very spacious throughout, the bathroom was superb not only spacious but the walk in shower was a great help, two sinks at different heights and throughout my entireroom/bathroom it was spotlessly clean, had great facilities in room tv, safe, mini bar/fridge and wi-fi only downside was the price of food in restaurant I felt was a little expensive (hence ate elsewhere) andthe cost of extras like bottled water in my view. Overall very satisfied and would highly recommend to all next time you want somewhere clean, comfortable and affordable to stay in Ipswich.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harvester  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Norwich is beautiful

Stay Date: 17/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Mercure Norwich in Norwich wrote this review.

We came for a football away match. Hotel was great although a little far out from the city centre but got a bus no problem. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zizzi  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Very Nice Place to Stay

Stay Date: 19/07/15, a customer aged 65+ from Cheshire who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell in Ipswich wrote this review.

No complaints at all about this hotel. Good location on The A14. ...Would go there again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice hotel

Stay Date: 22/08/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Southend in Southend-On-Sea wrote this review.

Hotel - superb, facilities - great, location - OK.... However we couldn't check in (after check in time) as the staff were 'overwhelmed' by the number of clients! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Anne Boleyn  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Average

Stay Date: 09/12/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Novotel Ipswich in Ipswich wrote this review.

I wasn't very happy with this hotel at all and won't be recommending or staying here again. Upon arrival the concierge was rude, she asked if I was checking in, to which I replied "yes I am" and See More  Read more information then there was silence. She then sarcastically said "well I need your name". There was no need for her tone or belittling attitude and considering this is a guest arriving should have been morewelcoming. We went offsite to eat both nights (Friday and Saturday) and struggled to park both times upon returning. As I am disabled I needed to at least be dropped off in the car park but on theSaturday concierge were arguing about letting our car in to even drop me off. He then proceeded to argue with me when I asked if the car park was private or public - his response "a private car park thatanyone can park in" very contradicting. I was aware that I was going to need to pay to park but no where did I read that space is limited and not available to staying guests first. The hotel offersChristmas parties, which I wasn't aware of upon booking through yourself and would have liked to have been informed by the hotel that they were going to be extremely busy and not just with hotelguests. Not only did the parties attribute to me not being able to park or sit, they were also loud and we could hear from our hotel room, meaning we had to shut the window. Overall I was verydisappointed with the hotel, the treatment and in turn my whole experience of Christmas shopping in Ipswich.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Patisserie Valerie  
Ask  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 381 - 390 of 390 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 14:50:12

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 14:50:12

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.