Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Durham & Darlington Area

Durham & Darlington Area Holiday Reviews

Durham Cathedral, Durham

A popular destination for short breaks in the north east of England, Durham is jam-packed with attractions and there a great range of hotels in Durham to choose from.

  • The town is well known for its two UNESCO World Heritage Sites; the striking Norman Cathedral that towers above the River Wear and the Norman Castle, which is today home to University College Durham.
  • Visitors to Durham can enjoy a day out at the Oriental Museum which is near to many of our hotels in Durham to explore artefacts from ancient Asia.
  • Visitors staying in our hotels in Darlington can explore the world’s first passenger railway and can learn more about its rich rail history, by taking a trip to the Darlington Railway and Museum Centre.
With unique attractions plus all the benefits of a modern town, all of our hotels in Durham are an excellent base for enjoying a short break to the north east. Darlington is a modern and compact market town about 20 miles south of Durham with a superb range of hotels in Darlington to choose from. Darlington is easily accessed by the east coast railway making our hotels in Darlington an excellent base for exploring the north east.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 129

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Dearly days

Stay Date: 23/05/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

As this was for a family member recovering from an operation, the hotel was in a great spot with great parks. Hotel staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely clean rooms. Great See More  Read more information value food. Overall great experience.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beamish Hall Hotel

Stay Date: 26/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from West Yorkshire who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Excellent service, food and friendly staff - great break! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 11/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Poulton-Le-Fylde who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Excellent time at the hotel and the attractions we visited. Great deal at the hotel through SuperBreak. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year in a castle

Stay Date: 30/12/15, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel New Year Break in Darlington wrote this review.

Hotel room was chilly and heating did not appear to be sufficient for the size of the suite (we upgraded to 2nd highest value room). Parts of the hotel/castle required a bit of TLC i.e. paint See More  Read more information flaking off the wall in the breakfast room with same bits on rail for the 2 mornings we had breakfast. Carpets in suite could do with refitting as lumpy due to stretching. No shower in bathroom had to askfor a jug to wash/rinse hair! Afternoon tea on arrival disappointing as only 2 x scones & 2 x mince pies - no sandwiches. Good point was when we had to leave early due to illness a refund of extranight premium was refunded without question.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Whitley Bay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Catching up with friends

Stay Date: 08/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Morpeth who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner in Darlington wrote this review.

Our hotel was very nice right from the reception desk to breakfast and bar staff. The only problem we had was with the quality of the mattress and pillows were not the best, but other than that we See More  Read more information had a lovely break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Day to Darlington

Stay Date: 17/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Great day out in Darlington. Hotel a little dated but food good and staff very good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great hotel.

Stay Date: 27/02/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Gb who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

Stayed here for just one night. The hotel is a really nice and the staff were very friendly. The food in the Farmers Bar was very nice and cheap at £11 for 2 courses. My only issue was the fact that See More  Read more information in the Farmers Bar on the evening it was quite cold due to the building being old and a lack of heating. We found we had to move to the lounge next to the fire to keep warm. The room was nice butagain a little cold in the bathroom. I would visit again but with a jumper and some warm pyjamas or maybe in summer.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short stay at Beamish Hall

Stay Date: 04/05/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

We had a lovely stay at Beamish Hall. The staff were polite and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We had afternoon tea which was divine. We stayed in a deluxe double room and it was perfect. See More  Read more information The rooms are furnished in a way that is very in keeping with the building and the grounds. We had breakfast brought to our room in the morning and that was superb also.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
South causey inn  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

A visit to remember

Stay Date: 24/05/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Just stayed for two nights here and food, bedroom facilities and staff were excellent. However I am a wheelchair user and hotel access was an adventure trip. There are lots of stairs which I See More  Read more information expected in a hotel (17th century) of this age so I enquired if there was a lift which there is. I should have asked if there was a lift which could accommodate a wheelchair sadly this lift couldn't so hadto be folded. My husband carried it on the stairs and met me at the lift stop to get back in the chair. The hotel is excellent - restaurant staff very helpful but even a ground floor room has a problemas dining room is on first floor. Beautiful hotel and a memorable stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic Weekend

Stay Date: 27/05/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

From start to finish our stay was just great! The staff were very welcoming, the rooms were wonderful, comfortable bed, ironing facilities, great bathroom en suite and coffee and tea facilities! See More  Read more information The restaurant where we dined as part of our package on the first evening was called The Stables. The food was lovely with plenty of choice, and breakfast in the Eden Room had everything you wouldwant! All in all a fabulous weekend!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Beamish Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stables  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 31 - 40 of 129 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 19:08:34

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 19:08:34

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.