Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Durham & Darlington Area

Durham & Darlington Area Holiday Reviews

Durham Cathedral, Durham

A popular destination for short breaks in the north east of England, Durham is jam-packed with attractions and there a great range of hotels in Durham to choose from.

  • The town is well known for its two UNESCO World Heritage Sites; the striking Norman Cathedral that towers above the River Wear and the Norman Castle, which is today home to University College Durham.
  • Visitors to Durham can enjoy a day out at the Oriental Museum which is near to many of our hotels in Durham to explore artefacts from ancient Asia.
  • Visitors staying in our hotels in Darlington can explore the world’s first passenger railway and can learn more about its rich rail history, by taking a trip to the Darlington Railway and Museum Centre.
With unique attractions plus all the benefits of a modern town, all of our hotels in Durham are an excellent base for enjoying a short break to the north east. Darlington is a modern and compact market town about 20 miles south of Durham with a superb range of hotels in Darlington to choose from. Darlington is easily accessed by the east coast railway making our hotels in Darlington an excellent base for exploring the north east.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 129

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Redworth

Stay Date: 27/07/07, a customer from Prestonpans who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Light Water Valley  
Durham City Centre  
 
 

Redworth Hotel

Stay Date: 19/09/07, a customer from Doncaster who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

At £80 a night we felt like we had gotten the cheap seats when allocated a room on ground floor with no view and a fold away bed for our daughter. The heating was permanently on which made the room See More  Read more information very hot and minmal coffee facilities or options for our daughter was disappointing.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Castle  
Durham  
Metro Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Durham area

Stay Date: 04/04/09, a customer from Glasgow who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Nice hotel, staff nice. There was not a big choice for breakfast though. Our room was near to cooling fans which were noisy but the room was very nice. Leisure centre within the hotel was very good See More  Read more information too. The staff and local people using the centre were very friendly. Overall i would recommend the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
Hartlepool  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jeera , 168 Northgate Darlington  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Darlington

Stay Date: 29/11/09, a customer from Faringdon who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel in Darlington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Nice setting, friendly staff but ...

Stay Date: 16/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Blandford Forum who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

* Significant depression in the matress made for an uncomfortable night. * Very noticeable damp and musty smell throughout the room (10) - too tired to complain at the end of a long drive north. * See More  Read more information Nice friendly staff   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wedding

Stay Date: 30/12/07, a customer from County Durham who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Heating problem in hotel resulted in banging noise in our room unable to sleep and after reporting to a memeber of staff eventually saw assistant duty manager who contacted another member of staff See More  Read more information it finally was sorted due to lack of sleep and getting the problem sorted it spoilt out night and we were unable to enjoy the facilities the next day   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Darlington

Stay Date: 31/07/08, a customer from Sheffield who stayed at 3* Hall Garth Hotel, Golf & Country Club in Darlington rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
 
 

A Week End In The North East

Stay Date: 08/08/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Hall Garth Hotel, Golf & Country Club in Darlington wrote this review.

The hotel is a period building surrounded by a golf course which is very pleasant. The staff were very polite and the room was smart and clean. The break was spoiled by the positioning of the room See More  Read more information (43) directly over the function room. The party below lasted until 12:30am on both nights and the noise was such that I felt I was on the dance floor when I was in bed. Sleep was impossible.Unfortunately we were not warned about this and it spoiled our break. Its advised to check the position of your room when booking.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tall Ships At Hartlepool  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We do request that all the hotels we work with inform us of any large events or conferences they may be holding so we can inform clients. Unfortunately on this occasion we were not made aware of this.

 

Darlington Wow

Stay Date: 11/05/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Darlington is a fantastic place to visit - lots to see and wonderful buildings. The bus stop is outside Blackwell Grange hotel, 5 minutes into town and Durham is 15 minutes away by train. Hotel is See More  Read more information very good value but our superior room was above the front door so extremely noisy from the car park and late night revellers. Would return but request quieter room.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 121 - 129 of 129 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 18:35:24

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 18:35:24

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.