Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Durham & Darlington Area

Durham & Darlington Area Holiday Reviews

Durham Cathedral, Durham

A popular destination for short breaks in the north east of England, Durham is jam-packed with attractions and there a great range of hotels in Durham to choose from.

  • The town is well known for its two UNESCO World Heritage Sites; the striking Norman Cathedral that towers above the River Wear and the Norman Castle, which is today home to University College Durham.
  • Visitors to Durham can enjoy a day out at the Oriental Museum which is near to many of our hotels in Durham to explore artefacts from ancient Asia.
  • Visitors staying in our hotels in Darlington can explore the world’s first passenger railway and can learn more about its rich rail history, by taking a trip to the Darlington Railway and Museum Centre.
With unique attractions plus all the benefits of a modern town, all of our hotels in Durham are an excellent base for enjoying a short break to the north east. Darlington is a modern and compact market town about 20 miles south of Durham with a superb range of hotels in Darlington to choose from. Darlington is easily accessed by the east coast railway making our hotels in Darlington an excellent base for exploring the north east.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 129

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Barcelo Redworth Hall

Stay Date: 25/10/08, a customer from West Midlands who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Barcelo Redworth

Stay Date: 07/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
Bowes Museum  
High Force  
Hadrians Wall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Hut  
Brewers Fayre  
 
 

Short Break in Durham area

Stay Date: 04/04/09, a customer from Glasgow who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Nice hotel, staff nice. There was not a big choice for breakfast though. Our room was near to cooling fans which were noisy but the room was very nice. Leisure centre within the hotel was very good See More  Read more information too. The staff and local people using the centre were very friendly. Overall i would recommend the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
Hartlepool  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jeera , 168 Northgate Darlington  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Redworth

Stay Date: 06/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Hotel and setting were very good. A little bit too far away from most of the places we wanted to visit. Staff at hotel and food in reataurant good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Barnard Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Barcelo Redworth Hall

Stay Date: 03/05/09, a customer from Harrogate who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hamsterley Forest  
 
 

Review Beamish

Stay Date: 23/07/09, a customer from Lancashire who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Darlington North A1M (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Handy to Aston hotel which is very good for the price. King size bed, kettle, tea and coffee in room, brilliant shower. Breakfast is exceptional, full english buffet style Beamish is a full day out See More  Read more information very interesting. Durham Cathedral is well worth a visit as is the university city.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aysgarth Falls  
Durham Cathedral  
Beamish  
Hawes  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Aston Hotel Restaurant  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Aston Martin Fun!

Stay Date: 13/04/10, a customer from Ripley who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

Took my partner away for surprise break and Aston Martin driving experience. Hotel was an ideal and romantic place to stay close by to the circuit and to Darlington. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Croft Circuit  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rani Indian, Darlington  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Durham Visit En Route To Northumberland

Stay Date: 10/09/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Darlington North A1M (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Very convenient location at aston hotel for our stop-over. Comfortable, well-equipped, helpful, friendly staff. Visited relatives and friends in the area. Spent a great day in durham city, and See More  Read more information enjoyed our brief trip to beamish. Would definitely recommend the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham City  
Beamish  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Barcelo Redworth Hall Hotel

Stay Date: 04/07/11, a customer from York who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

My husband and I stayed at Barcelo Redworth Hall the week after our wedding. The hotel was exactly what we needed after the stressful weekend beforehand; quiet, peaceful and relaxing whilst also See More  Read more information either having, or being in close proximity to, everything we needed to keep us entertained. Many lazy afternoons were spent at the poolside relaxing in the Jacuzzi and dipping in and out of the pool whenit wasn't too busy, we even got time to fit in a game of tennis before the weather got too wet. When booking the hotel, we chose to upgrade to the half board option which, when we got to the hotel,meant that we were entitled to a 3 course meal every evening - we felt very spoilt eating so much food every night, but the menu was so good that we didn't get bored, even on our last night we werestill excited by the food options. Away from the hotel, we spent a lovely day in Durham (Belmont Park & Ride service was only 40 mins away from the hotel making it really easy to get to) where weexplored the Cathedral and went on a boat tour of the city. We also went to Locomotion (NRM Shildon) which was only in the next village and provided us with a great morning of free activities, and offered afascinating insight into just how important rail was in the region. Overall, the hotel was exactly what we needed and perfect to spend a little time alone together to start our married life.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
Prince Bishop River Cruise  
Locomotion  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hide  
Barcelo Redworth Hall Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: This review was written by a member of Superbreak staff who stayed at the hotel.

 

Hotel Spoilt By Breakfast

Stay Date: 18/09/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

Hotel is a fantastic building. Room was great as was evening resturant. However, breakfast and breakfast staff were very poor. No fried eggs, no plates, no milk, no butter felt like a nag having to See More  Read more information keep asking for basic things that should have been there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 91 - 100 of 129 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:14

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 13:49:03

Last rendered @ 21/05/2019 13:49:03

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.