Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Durham & Darlington Area

Durham & Darlington Area Holiday Reviews

Durham Cathedral, Durham

A popular destination for short breaks in the north east of England, Durham is jam-packed with attractions and there a great range of hotels in Durham to choose from.

  • The town is well known for its two UNESCO World Heritage Sites; the striking Norman Cathedral that towers above the River Wear and the Norman Castle, which is today home to University College Durham.
  • Visitors to Durham can enjoy a day out at the Oriental Museum which is near to many of our hotels in Durham to explore artefacts from ancient Asia.
  • Visitors staying in our hotels in Darlington can explore the world’s first passenger railway and can learn more about its rich rail history, by taking a trip to the Darlington Railway and Museum Centre.
With unique attractions plus all the benefits of a modern town, all of our hotels in Durham are an excellent base for enjoying a short break to the north east. Darlington is a modern and compact market town about 20 miles south of Durham with a superb range of hotels in Darlington to choose from. Darlington is easily accessed by the east coast railway making our hotels in Darlington an excellent base for exploring the north east.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 83

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Little gem

Stay Date: 06/04/19, a customer aged 45-64 from Fife who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Hotel/food/staff/facilities/area/friendliness/town centre - would recommend to anyone. And especially the local people, met some good friends and they showed us around, overall just a great short See More  Read more information break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Entertainment  
Parks  
Football  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hole In The Wall  
penny weight  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beamish Hall

Stay Date: 06/04/18, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Had a fantastic time, beautiful place, will definitely be back to stay. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish hall  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish hall  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent short break

Stay Date: 22/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Huddersfield who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

We booked a two night break, offered with breakfast and one dinner included. This was to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary. The breakfast was buffet style with lots of choice and very good See More  Read more information quality. Dinner was also very good quality and the service was excellent. We also ate in the restaurant on our second night and once again were not disappointed. We had a surprise on our return tothe hotel, on our anniversary as the staff had left us a card and a plate full of cakes. During our short stay we spent a day at Beamish outdoor museum, approximately 45 minutes drive away. I wouldrecommend this highly. It is the best museum I've ever been to. Overall our short break was excellent and very good value.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Beamish Hall Hotel

Stay Date: 04/01/18, a customer from Barnsley who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

FABULOUS! We needed a break and to recharge, well this is the place. So quiet and peaceful, yet close by to towns and attractions if you want them. Nothing could be faulted at all. We will be See More  Read more information rebooking for later in the year on another break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
none  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Snowy Beamish

Stay Date: 29/12/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Lovely location. We used it as a base for a wedding nearby so didn’t eat in hotel other than breakfast or visit nearby attractions. The hotel has character although the bedroom looked tired and in See More  Read more information need of freshening up. Would visit again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great stay

Stay Date: 21/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from North Yorkshire who stayed at 3* Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel in Durham wrote this review.

We only stayed one night but can highly recommend the hotel. Food was gorgeous and the staff very helpful and friendly. Our hotel room had amazing views over the deer park too. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham  
Dalton Park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Patisserie Valerie  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Beautiful Beamish

Stay Date: 11/10/17, a customer aged 65+ from Ulverston who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Fabulous two day break - the hotel is set is gorgeous grounds, it is full of old style grandeur. The staff were welcoming and informative. We spent the day at Beamish Outdoor Museum which was See More  Read more information wonderful. A great two days!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beautiful Beamish

Stay Date: 13/09/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

We only came to see Beamish Museum which we visited last 35 years ago! It was good then and is excellent now, we spent 5 hours there. It was Beamish Hall Hotel where we stayed, really close to the See More  Read more information attraction but in itself is a great hotel with wonderful northeastern staff, really good food and pleasant rooms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely weekend around Beamish

Stay Date: 02/09/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Doncaster who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Beamish Hall Hotel is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. The staff, especially the dining staff, are lovely and the room was super. V quiet even though there are lots going on at the hotel we See More  Read more information were not disturbed. There were fireworks after a wedding, it might have been nice to have known and we would have stayed up and watched them. Went to Beamish Museum couldn't have been easier and thenbeing National Trust members we visited Cherryburn and Gibside which were both lovely a fabulous weekend, will definitely be back.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Gibside  
Cherryburn  
Beamish  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Stables  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend at Darlington

Stay Date: 12/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

We stayed at The Blackwell Grange Hotel, we were made welcome on arrival, our room was spotless. After a good night's sleep we went for breakfast, the staff were friendly and welcoming, there was a See More  Read more information good range of food to pick from and was all good. Would not hesitate to stay there again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Darlington Town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 83 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 19:40:33

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 19:40:33

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.