Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Durham & Darlington Area

Durham & Darlington Area Holiday Reviews

Durham Cathedral, Durham

A popular destination for short breaks in the north east of England, Durham is jam-packed with attractions and there a great range of hotels in Durham to choose from.

  • The town is well known for its two UNESCO World Heritage Sites; the striking Norman Cathedral that towers above the River Wear and the Norman Castle, which is today home to University College Durham.
  • Visitors to Durham can enjoy a day out at the Oriental Museum which is near to many of our hotels in Durham to explore artefacts from ancient Asia.
  • Visitors staying in our hotels in Darlington can explore the world’s first passenger railway and can learn more about its rich rail history, by taking a trip to the Darlington Railway and Museum Centre.
With unique attractions plus all the benefits of a modern town, all of our hotels in Durham are an excellent base for enjoying a short break to the north east. Darlington is a modern and compact market town about 20 miles south of Durham with a superb range of hotels in Darlington to choose from. Darlington is easily accessed by the east coast railway making our hotels in Darlington an excellent base for exploring the north east.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 129

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great 3 day break in County Durham

Stay Date: 16/07/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Hotel was excellent value staff all very helpful and courteous. Hotel was clean and all amenities were in good order. All the sites visited were all good value and very interesting. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alnwick Castle  
Durham City  
Beamish Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tawn owl  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Average

Stay Date: 26/07/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Booked for me and my partner - staff were very friendly. However, our executive rooms TV did not work in the bedroom, the light or lamp did not work in the living area, bathroom was disappointing, See More  Read more information we paid extra for a nicer room and I have stayed in nicer places that give you nicer little 'treats' for nicer rooms (dressing gowns, jacuzzi bath etc). Our main course in the restaurant was very blandand the coke tasted like very cheap coke! And my partners lemonade was flat. The staff were very friendly though.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great stay at Walworth

Stay Date: 19/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel in Darlington wrote this review.

Enjoyed super two day break at Walworth Hall Hotel. Spent full day at Beamish Museum. Excellent dinner, good night's sleep, excellent breakfast. Couldn't want for more. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great setting

Stay Date: 22/08/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Redworth Hall Hotel in Newton Aycliffe wrote this review.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is in a superb setting with spacious grounds to walk around. There are many attractions to visit within reasonable travelling See More  Read more information distance.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish Museum  
Maritime Museum, Hartlepool  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Hotel and Location

Stay Date: 28/11/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Had room in cottage area 100 yards from main hotel 6 or so rooms in two storey building. Lovely and quiet. A large bedroom, lounge with sofa and chair and tv. Laze away after hard day away. Food in See More  Read more information Hotel was basic but good, staff great. Loads of free parking. Bar area small and basic. Only 15 minute walk to town centre or £4 in a taxi. Main hotel had plenty of functions at weekend so may bebit noisy but we had great time in cottage.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Relaxing Break in Darlington

Stay Date: 07/02/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

We were given a warm welcome when we arrived both by the taxi driver who picked us up from the station to the hotel receptionist who was on duty throughout our stay. We travelled by bus and buying a See More  Read more information day ticket certainly saves you money. We had a pub lunch in the William Stead and we asked the waitress if she knew where the local Catholic Church was she went on the computer and found out where itwas and what bus we needed to catch to get there. (I wish I'd asked her name). The Blackwell Grange Hotel provided us with a comfortable room and the leisure facilities were great after a busy dayshopping. Breakfast was self service and our evening meal in the hotel was served to us by staff who were very pleasant and helpful if we needed anything. On our last night we went into the town centreand the restaurant I'd seen on the internet actually stopped serving at 8pm on the Sunday evening so we popped round the corner and found a real gem in Uno Momento. The young staff were very attentiveand the food was excellent quality and great value. We shared a pizza and pasta mains and couldn't finish either, the portions were immense. We had pleasant rail journeys both ways and I tell all myfriends what excellent value Superbreaks are, in fact I've just booked us another weekend away for Mother's Day in Carlisle, so you'll be hearing from me again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Uno Momento  
Wiliam Stead  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great little weekend

Stay Date: 20/03/15, a customer aged 25-44 from Hope Valley who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Nice hotel, only a £4 taxi ride into Darlington which is a great night out. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Durham Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Getting there.

Stay Date: 09/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Derby who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

On a previous stay I found the hotel very run down and dismal. However, under new ownership I could identify a lot of cosmetic work which greatly improves the ambience of the hotel. 1st evening See More  Read more information dinner on 7th April was very good but seemed very slow with dessert (only ice cream so not really any prep to do) and only came after what seemed like a long time. Unfortunately dinner on 2nd night wastotally spoiled by a severe breakdown in communications between the kitchen/restaurant staff and guests over breakdown with electronic ordering system. Fortunately due to the intervention of the dutymanager this matter was resolved in a most professional and amicable manner. The duty manager also took on board a couple of points where staff training could be improved to the benefit of all. The onlyclosing comments I can make are the following: all credit to the new owners and good luck in your improvements and that the professional attitude of both the duty manager and the staff in the LeisureCentre should be commended and used as the benchmark for Staff training and I look forward to returning to the Blackwell Grange in the future.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Kirkleatham Musuem  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tea Room at Kirkleatham Musuem  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beamish Hall Hotel

Stay Date: 26/08/15, a customer aged 45-64 from West Yorkshire who stayed at 4* Beamish Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Durham (Nr) wrote this review.

Excellent service, food and friendly staff - great break! See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Beamish  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 11/09/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Poulton-Le-Fylde who stayed at 3* Blackwell Grange Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Darlington wrote this review.

Excellent time at the hotel and the attractions we visited. Great deal at the hotel through SuperBreak. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 71 - 80 of 129 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:14

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 18:40:55

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 18:40:55

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.