Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Down

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 20

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Ireland

Stay Date: 20/01/07, a customer who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

A great climb

Stay Date: 12/08/07, a customer who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

Our main reason for visiting the area was to climb Slieve Donard the highest mountain in Ireland as we had already completed the highest in England, Wales and Scotland. The Mountains of Mourne is a See More  Read more information lovely area and we would like to come back to explore further. The Slieve Donart Spa and Resort was a super hotel the only negative comment being the main restaurant was over priced for the serviceand food provided. The gift shop was not open when most residents were circulating in the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Giants Causeway  
Slieve Donard Mountain  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
Percy French Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wedding Reception And Overnight Stay

Stay Date: 29/12/06, a customer who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

On our arrival at the hotel they were unable to provide us with a cup of tea "as only twenty had been ordered". We were After all registered guests. Service at the meal was "sloppy" e.g. My wife See More  Read more information did'nt have a soup roll. They came with twenty ten minutes after she had finished her soup The waiter service at the wedding reception was poor. It was slow, the orders were incomplete and incorrect.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Belfast to Waterford and Back

Stay Date: 08/06/07, a customer from Chesterfield who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

Belfast City tour for the second time was better than the first time and unmissable. A truly fascinating experience. Waterford Crystal Factory Tour, an interesting tour, very professionally See More  Read more information conducted and a beautiful product to purchase at the end of it. Slieve Donard Hotel is a magnificent Hotel in fabulous surroundings next to one of the world's truly great golf courses. Great food at theSeafood Cafe in Dundrum approximately 5 miles away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Waterford Crystal Factory  
Belfast City Tour  
Royal County Down Golf Course  
Kilmore Quay  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Faithlegg Hotel  
Cayenne in Belfast (Paul Rankin's Restaurant)  
The Silver Fox (Kilmore Quay)  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Family Break

Stay Date: 12/01/08, a customer from Craigavon who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

My husband, myself and 2 children had a lovely one night stay in the Slieve Donard Resort in January. This was our second visit and the hotel has been extended and refurbished since our last visit. See More  Read more information The family rooms were massive - two large king sized beds, very big and airy bathroom, LCD TV. Newly opened spa was one of the best we have been in - you lie in the jacuzzi and look out of the windowover the Mourne Mountains - heaven!!. Changing facilities also really good and spotlessly clean. Children did not want to leave - there was an X-box gaming station available for hire which went down atreat with my son.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zio's  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely stay

Stay Date: 30/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Craigavon who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

Room very quiet, enjoyed the stay apart from queue for breakfast. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle Co Down

Stay Date: 17/07/08, a customer from Dungannon who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Standards?

Stay Date: 24/01/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

Just finished an overnight stay in the Slieve Donard, a hotel my wife and I know and love over many years. Times change but standards should not. I feel the hotel has in some areas sacrificed See More  Read more information standards to accommodate the large numbers it caters for. Dinner was weak in many respects-steak undercooked, accompanying onions cold, service haphazard. The latter needs to be urgentlyaddressed-seemed to be inadequate numbers of staff in dining room and coordination was poor. This was evident at breakfast as well. On Saturday night the hotel was catering for a Hunt Ball which seemed to havea detrimental effect on the food service in the restaurant. Staff are pleasant and accommodating but I was aware of complaints from other diners as well. The Slieve Donard is expensive as 4*hotels go and needs to provide a top quality service and experience for its guests. Get the Slieve Donard back where I know it belongs!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Overnight Stay in the Slieve Donard Hotel

Stay Date: 22/06/08, a customer from County Antrim who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

I had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay in the Slieve Donard Hotel. The room was spacious and very comfortable to sleep in. I went on my own for the break (as I look after my 86 year old mother) See More  Read more information and was delighted to see that for once I was not asked to pay a surcharge for my room. It made all the difference to not have to worry about paying for any extra charges because I'm single. The eveningmeal which was included in the overall price was very good.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Slieve Donard Spa  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent Hotel

Stay Date: 10/08/07, a customer who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

We stayed in the Slieve Donard Hotel as we were attending a function there, the staff were excellent and the surroundings beautiful! The next day we did some sight seeing but the weather was bad and See More  Read more information we decided to stop for something to eat in the Percy French Bar. This was the poorest meal I have tasted in a long time! I ordered fish & chips and when it cam there was more greasy batter than fishit looked like it had been deep fried about 3 times and it was about £8.95. The service however was good and the overall interior and bar were lovely! Could not fault the hotel but I think I will begiving the Percy French a miss next time!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Percy French Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 11 - 20 of 20 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001995 @ 15/11/2018 15:01:08

Last rendered @ 18/11/2018 00:32:01

Last rendered @ 18/11/2018 00:32:01

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.