Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Down

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 20

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Newcastle Co Down

Stay Date: 17/07/08, a customer from Dungannon who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
 

Short Break in Newcastle Co Down

Stay Date: 25/07/08, a customer who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Downpatrick  
 
 

Great Break in Newcastle Co Down

Stay Date: 05/08/08, a customer from Wexford who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

What a fantastic Hotel, it was our first time to Northern Ireland in over 20 years - could have stayed longer and looking forward to going back soon See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ikea  
Belfast  
Mourne Mountains  
Seaweed Baths  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
O'Haras  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Northern Ireland

Stay Date: 27/03/09, a customer from Enniskillen who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

The hotel was very friendly and helpful.We did have a small problem with our room but was sorted very quickly by the manager.All in all a very nice place to stay and lots to do. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Silent Vally pk  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Percy French Restaurant  
The Slieve Donard Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

1 Night In Northern Ireland Is Not Enough!

Stay Date: 10/12/10, a customer who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

There really is an amazing amount to do in Belfast but after a quick bus tour around the key sites, including the new Titanic Quarter where they are in the process of building a Titanic exhibition See More  Read more information centre to open in 2012, we headed south to Newcastle. The Slieve Donard hotel is simply stunning and the mountain & coastline views amazing. The hotel looked perfect all dressed up for Christmas,with huge trees and open fires. A visit to the Spa is an absolute must and offers another opportunity to see the fantastic views whilst relaxing in the pool. Finally - not forgetting thehighlight of our stay ? the super comfy beds that are in all Hastings Hotels (as I?ve stayed in one before). If I could have fitted it in my suitcase to take home, I just might have done!!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Causerie, Europa Hotel  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 4 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: This review was written by a member of Superbreak staff who stayed at this hotel

 

Lovely stay

Stay Date: 30/08/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Craigavon who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

Room very quiet, enjoyed the stay apart from queue for breakfast. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent Stay in Slieve Donard

Stay Date: 04/10/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

Hotel excellent, facilities excellent including spa. Hotel grounds and setting very nice. Staff friendly & efficient. Breakfast and dinner excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Promenade  
Tollymore  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
percy french  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Standards?

Stay Date: 24/01/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

Just finished an overnight stay in the Slieve Donard, a hotel my wife and I know and love over many years. Times change but standards should not. I feel the hotel has in some areas sacrificed See More  Read more information standards to accommodate the large numbers it caters for. Dinner was weak in many respects-steak undercooked, accompanying onions cold, service haphazard. The latter needs to be urgentlyaddressed-seemed to be inadequate numbers of staff in dining room and coordination was poor. This was evident at breakfast as well. On Saturday night the hotel was catering for a Hunt Ball which seemed to havea detrimental effect on the food service in the restaurant. Staff are pleasant and accommodating but I was aware of complaints from other diners as well. The Slieve Donard is expensive as 4*hotels go and needs to provide a top quality service and experience for its guests. Get the Slieve Donard back where I know it belongs!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 3 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Very relaxing break in Newcastle

Stay Date: 18/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

The staff in the Slieve Donard Hotel were all very friendly and helpful. The hotel room was clean and warm. The Spa experience was very relaxing but it would have been even better if my husband and See More  Read more information I could have shared the experience of the relaxation rooms together (it is one side for males and one side for females). All in all a lovely place to stay, beautiful views of the beach and sea andwalking distance to Newcastle town. We will go back - I hope!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Newcastle Promenade  
Newcastle Beach  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Vanilla  
Mauds coffee shop  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great break in the end.

Stay Date: 07/10/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* The Slieve Donard Resort and Spa in Newcastle Co Down wrote this review.

Initially on arrival we were allocated a room which was most disappointing. It was a basic room with no outlook due to obscure glass on the Windows, not what we were expecting for the deal we had See More  Read more information purchased i.e. a room originally priced at just over £400 reduced to £219 as a super deal for 1 night. That said the hotel manager Sarah was marvellous and on telling her about our deal and our immensedisappointment even though they felt they had provided what had been requested by Super Break. She had us immediately moved to a fabulous room with all the extras and amazing panoramic views of thesea and the mountains. An absolutely beautiful room. We had a lovely stay in the end but this was thanks to the efforts of the hotel for making things right and we would certainly return again. Nexttime however I think we would book directly with them to avoid possible disappointment in the future. Thank you.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Slieve Donard hotel Newcastle Co. Down  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
percy french  
Vanilla  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 14:53:15

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 14:53:15

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.