Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Dover, Folkestone & Area

Dover, Folkestone & Area Holiday Reviews

Dover Castle, Dover

For a relaxing short break in the Garden of England, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are an excellent choice. Discover this incredibly scenic corner of the country – full of history, and a great base from which to explore Kent, the area is more than just a stop on the way to continental Europe.

Whether you choose to take it easy and indulge in afternoon tea by Dover’s pretty harbour, go hiking on the headlands, or head out on the sightseeing trail, a short break in the south-east is as chilled-out or high-octane as you make it. Easily accessed from the A2 and the M20, and within easy driving distance of must-see Canterbury and vibrant Ashford, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are ideally located for a getaway.

  • Our hotels in Dover are perfect for a visit to the singularly impressive Dover Castle; the largest castle in England and originally founded in the 12th century, it dominates the skyline. Home to a long, fascinating history, it’s a must-visit
  • History enthusiasts should also check out the Dover Western Heights – one of the country’s most impressive fortifications – and the Victorian-era boldbegin#Dover Museum
  • Our hotels in Folkestone are in a great position for visiting local attractions too, not least the Kent Battle of Britain Museum – one of the country’s best World War II dedicated museums.
  • Every bit as pretty as Dover’s white cliffs, the Folkestone Leas are naturally beautiful, and have wonderful views out to sea; for comedy gigs and music concerts, the Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall is difficult to beat
A charming destination for your next short break, take a look through our Dover & Folkestone hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 109

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

1st experience of murder mystery event

Stay Date: 09/03/19, a customer aged 45-64 from Chatham who stayed at 3* Best Western Plus Clifton Hotel Murder Mystery Break in Folkestone wrote this review.

Best Western Hotel Folkestone. Dinner & breakfast were both delicious and the event was good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dover

Stay Date: 01/04/18, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Leaf Hotel Dover in Dover wrote this review.

Hotel generally good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Murder mystery evening

Stay Date: 26/01/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Best Western Plus Clifton Hotel Murder Mystery Break in Folkestone wrote this review.

Great stay at hotel. Obviously spent a lot of money on the facade, reception, bar and toilets. The room was clean and warm. I’m glad I could open a window. Bedroom and bathroom a little tired. But See More  Read more information beds were very comfortable. Plenty of hot water. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.... hubby not happy about the eggs (sitting in warming tray) but he did have theoption of asking for fresh. Overall we were very happy with our stay. Very relaxing stay. Thank you.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Murder Mystery  
Leas  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Burstin Hotel Folkestone harbour

Stay Date: 18/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Rochester who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Good value break, hotel was tired but very clean, choice of three or four different meals each night, entertainment every night, beautiful location overlooking the harbour. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Burstin Folkestone Motown

Stay Date: 02/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Everything was really bad from start to finish - been here many times and have never known it this bad. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stay in Dover

Stay Date: 23/10/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel and Spa in Dover wrote this review.

Hotel staff were very helpful. The location of the hotel was very good and we were given a sea view! We could walk to the local attractions e.g the castle. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
White Cliffs  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Love Folkestone

Stay Date: 21/10/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Had a lovely weekend - hotel basic but OK and met our needs - was clean and comfortable. Food in the hotel very poor quality and tasteless. Hotel is in a prime position overlooking the harbour, See More  Read more information lovely views and close to everything Folkestone has to offer. Rooms are basic but clean, staff were lovely and work very hard to accommodate everyone. I would stay at the hotel again for the price we paidand the location but would only pay for a room only and eat out. We had a fantastic weekend thank you SuperBreak.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The leas  
Folkstone harbour  
Folkstone town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Hotel

Stay Date: 09/09/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Bedfordshire who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Good accommodation but a little too hot, no ventilation. Food good, dining clean & bright, good size bar but again too hot. Lifts not able to cope with the number of guests. Will use again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

New Year's Eve dinner and accommodation

Stay Date: 31/12/15, a customer aged 65+ from S. Wales who stayed at 4* Leaf Hotel Dover New Year Break in Dover wrote this review.

Accommodation clean and tidy. Comfortable bed, plenty of coffee and tea to make in room. Went to bar for pre-dinner drink ordered and was served and tried to charge it to my room (as I would See More  Read more information normally do) I was embarrassed to be told by the barman that I couldn't charge it because I had not opened a "tab" at reception. (Although this had not been mentioned when I checked in earlier). I had nocash or credit card with me so I had to leave my drink and go to reception. I was informed by reception staff that I needed a credit card and then had to return to my room to get one! Having had the"tab" arranged I went back to the bar for my drink only to find a large queue which I had to "bypass" to get to the bar to complete my order. Meal was good quality but the main course had the optionof a steak grilled to order. This caused a major "bottleneck" and a long queue developed (20 + people). After this the evening continued quite happily. A similar problem of queuing developed atbreakfast (again 20+ people at a time) because people were given the option of freshly cooked eggs. A nice touch, but a busy times (as this was) it caused long delays. (People who did not want fresh eggsalso had to join the queue to reach the dishes of bacon, sausages etc.) which were next to the chef doing the cooking.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend special offer at the Great Burstin Hotel Folkestone.

Stay Date: 12/09/15, a customer aged 65+ from London who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Firstly this is a 2* holiday makers hotel. So please do not expect it to be quiet! In July and August it is very busy with children and families. 6 floors all with lifts. Hotel is tired but really See More  Read more information if you are on holiday you enjoy the seaside! Food was basic but plentiful. Staff worked quietly in the background replenishing the food. You can pay £10 per person per night and eat in a "better"restaurant and have a sea view. There are various options. Better see online and phone to ask questions that are important to you. I am a walking disabled. If you have a blue badge Folkestone Councilare very good. You can park almost anywhere but if you park wrongly you will be fined! Look up blue badge parking Folkestone online and pick the one that tells you where you can or cannot park andprint it out. Disabled or not the hotel charges £3.50 a day for this. Across the road it is £5.00. Weekend was noisy and did not get quiet until about midnight. Staff were helpful and quick to, ifthey could, solve your problems. September is full of silver surfers with oldie music, Beatles etc. They have two ballrooms. Booking in is 3pm so take this time to drive around to get yourbearings. You do not have to have half board they have a very good priced Brassiere to one side of the bar. There are slot machines in the comfortable lounge area. I forgot to add they have a swimming pooland gym and possibly a sauna. BUT you have to pay. Again please check with the hotel as these extras can add up. Beds are firm. Very basic TV unless you upgrade. Prices vary from say £85 doublehalf board to £61 for a double per night off season or search special offers. CHECK!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harbour  
International design centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 109 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 04:45:42

Last rendered @ 17/06/2019 04:45:42

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.