Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Dover, Folkestone & Area

Dover, Folkestone & Area Holiday Reviews

Dover Castle, Dover

For a relaxing short break in the Garden of England, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are an excellent choice. Discover this incredibly scenic corner of the country – full of history, and a great base from which to explore Kent, the area is more than just a stop on the way to continental Europe.

Whether you choose to take it easy and indulge in afternoon tea by Dover’s pretty harbour, go hiking on the headlands, or head out on the sightseeing trail, a short break in the south-east is as chilled-out or high-octane as you make it. Easily accessed from the A2 and the M20, and within easy driving distance of must-see Canterbury and vibrant Ashford, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are ideally located for a getaway.

  • Our hotels in Dover are perfect for a visit to the singularly impressive Dover Castle; the largest castle in England and originally founded in the 12th century, it dominates the skyline. Home to a long, fascinating history, it’s a must-visit
  • History enthusiasts should also check out the Dover Western Heights – one of the country’s most impressive fortifications – and the Victorian-era boldbegin#Dover Museum
  • Our hotels in Folkestone are in a great position for visiting local attractions too, not least the Kent Battle of Britain Museum – one of the country’s best World War II dedicated museums.
  • Every bit as pretty as Dover’s white cliffs, the Folkestone Leas are naturally beautiful, and have wonderful views out to sea; for comedy gigs and music concerts, the Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall is difficult to beat
A charming destination for your next short break, take a look through our Dover & Folkestone hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 109

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Folkestone Airshow

Stay Date: 07/06/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Milton Keynes who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We stayed in The Grand Burstin Hotel and I have to say that some of the reviews I had seen was making me dread going... but how wrong I was. Yes the hotel is a bit dated but the room was fantastic See More  Read more information and our sea view was amazing! The staff were fantastic and most helpful and the food was excellent. The Folkestone Airshow was fantastic and a big well done to all who managed to get it on, seeing TheRed Arrows was brilliant and the concert and fireworks was a great touch as well. If the airshow is on next year I would highly recommend it along with the Burstin Hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Folkestone air show  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend in Folkestone

Stay Date: 08/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

For a 2* the Grand Burstin is what it is. We were in the Penthouse which have great views. The carpet in room was stained and the room was a smoking room which wasn't very pleasant. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rocksalt  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ramada

Stay Date: 24/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Eastbourne who stayed at 4* Leaf Hotel Dover Christmas Break in Dover wrote this review.

Had a relaxing break See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ramada Hotel Dover

Stay Date: 06/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Coalville who stayed at 4* Leaf Hotel Dover in Dover wrote this review.

On arrival we were impressed by the room we were allocated. The room was spacious, warm, well equipped and had the potential to be quiet, which is what we specifically requested. Unfortunately there See More  Read more information was a Marquee in the grounds just yards from the window where they hosted a Christmas Party with Disco that went on until midnight - the farthest thing from quiet that you could imagine. It took 2.5hours from being seated in the restaurant (6.15pm) to leaving after paying. We waited ages between each course and each course came with an apology that they had a Marquee full of guests eating aChristmas dinner that was stretching the kitchens to the limit. Only 5 other tables were occupied in the restaurant, all still waiting to be fed when we left at 8.45. We had paid for the evening meal andbreakfast with the booking but the ?15 allowance went nowhere as the cheapest main course with meat was ?12.75, any two course meal meant paying extra. Definitely a Hotel that we will never use again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ramada Hotel Dover  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Dover Best Western

Stay Date: 18/11/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel and Spa in Dover wrote this review.

Though the room was a bit "petite" the whole experience was a joy See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Eagle Inn Rochester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A day at the Beach

Stay Date: 25/10/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Stayed at a hotel which was well situated to the beach and town good for walks. Then came back and had a nice meal at the hotel and watched the evening entertainment See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Two days at Folkestone

Stay Date: 29/07/13, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

We stayed at Grand Burstin hotel for two days (Breakfast and dinner). Food was quite good; however it did not have much options for vegetarians. We asked for a sea-facing room- but what we got was a See More  Read more information room in the basement, which was more like a dungeon. We asked for a wi-fi connection when I booked the room but in the basement there was no signal and hence had to stay without wifi. Also, when webooked the hotel, they said the pool and the gym was free but then they charged for the pool when we checked-in. Grand Burstin is a very basic hotel with minimum facilities. I wouldn't plan to stayin Grand Burstin again!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Folkestone  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely Trip to Rye

Stay Date: 12/07/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Brandon who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Enjoyed a lovely trip to Rye, very pretty town and good coffee shops. Went to the Dymchurch steam railway (that kept hubby happy). The hotel was excellent value for money, although a little tired See More  Read more information looking. The food was good with a large selection, self service but that's great with my diet to have such a choice. Had a lovely view over the harbour, but that had a downside as one of the fishingboats had his motor running for nearly an hour from before 5 am and the fire alarm went off (false alarm) at just gone 5 am so not a brilliant night sleep but beds were comfortable, curtains thick enoughto block daylight. Would stay again, very handy for day trips to France.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rye  
Rocksalt  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkstone

Stay Date: 29/06/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

House hunting See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkestone

Stay Date: 26/04/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Nice town with plenty of shops and market on Saturday. Hotel overlooked beach. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Folkestone  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 21 - 30 of 109 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:55

Last rendered @ 15/07/2019 23:22:23

Last rendered @ 15/07/2019 23:22:23

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.