Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Dover, Folkestone & Area

Dover, Folkestone & Area Holiday Reviews

Dover Castle, Dover

For a relaxing short break in the Garden of England, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are an excellent choice. Discover this incredibly scenic corner of the country – full of history, and a great base from which to explore Kent, the area is more than just a stop on the way to continental Europe.

Whether you choose to take it easy and indulge in afternoon tea by Dover’s pretty harbour, go hiking on the headlands, or head out on the sightseeing trail, a short break in the south-east is as chilled-out or high-octane as you make it. Easily accessed from the A2 and the M20, and within easy driving distance of must-see Canterbury and vibrant Ashford, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are ideally located for a getaway.

  • Our hotels in Dover are perfect for a visit to the singularly impressive Dover Castle; the largest castle in England and originally founded in the 12th century, it dominates the skyline. Home to a long, fascinating history, it’s a must-visit
  • History enthusiasts should also check out the Dover Western Heights – one of the country’s most impressive fortifications – and the Victorian-era boldbegin#Dover Museum
  • Our hotels in Folkestone are in a great position for visiting local attractions too, not least the Kent Battle of Britain Museum – one of the country’s best World War II dedicated museums.
  • Every bit as pretty as Dover’s white cliffs, the Folkestone Leas are naturally beautiful, and have wonderful views out to sea; for comedy gigs and music concerts, the Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall is difficult to beat
A charming destination for your next short break, take a look through our Dover & Folkestone hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 109

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Pleasantly surprised

Stay Date: 15/08/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We have stayed at the hotel several times before. It is always clean but quite dated. We know what to expect and I was honestly pleasantly surprised. They have finally started to put a little See More  Read more information money into renovation. It makes quite a difference.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Mini break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 20/05/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We often visit Folkestone annually for a mini break as it's not far to travel to & we always stay at the Grand Burstin hotel. Never really had a bad stay although this time for some reason the fire See More  Read more information alarms kept sounding during the night & early morning but we got over that. Our rooms have always been very clean & service from staff is always excellent. Great value for money!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hythe  
Pitch & putt  
The leas lift  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rocksalt  
The pullen pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkestone

Stay Date: 24/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

This hotel is looking very dated and could do with a face lift. The room you gave us was of a very low standard so we upgraded and this was not much better. Not one of our better stays with your See More  Read more information company.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 24/04/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Entertainment in the hotel was excellent but the menus need more variation. The room was too warm preventing a good night's sleep. The electrical socket was under the bed and in the middle so we had See More  Read more information to move the bed to plug in a machine that I have to use to blow air into my nose as I suffer with sleep apnoea. The hotel could do with repainting especially the exterior. The staff were veryhelpful.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable but slightly disappointing two night stay

Stay Date: 06/04/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner & Afternoon Tea) in Dover wrote this review.

The hotel was good and the food was excellent, breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very efficient and helpful. Dinner was excellent but we were disappointed to learn that the evening meal See More  Read more information allowance on the first night was only £15 per person, so we ended up having to pay £30 towards what we thought was a free dinner. There was a funeral reception at the hotel on the second afternoon whichmeant the bar was completely full and we had to take our drinks into the reception area. The noise from this party continued well into the night keeping us awake until after 1 am.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
Downe House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

New Years Eve Break

Stay Date: 30/12/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Leaf Hotel Dover New Year Break in Dover wrote this review.

Generally very well organised from food to entertainment - the only problem was the marquee where we were based varied in terms of heat. Warm bodies very cold feet. Eventually we explained the See More  Read more information problem to the manager - they were excellent and offered to move us to the restaurant - much warmer! So in that respect service and response was excellent.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
New Years Eve Gala Night  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

That's (not) entertainment

Stay Date: 24/12/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa Christmas Break in Dover wrote this review.

The hotel was in a perfect location so it was quiet both inside and outside. Could not fault the food. The hotel room and corridors were incredibly hot so often had to have the room's window open See More  Read more information whereas if we sat by the window in the foyer or the restaurant it was very cold as the windows appeared to be quite old. The only real problem for us was the 'entertainment' we were expecting at ourChristmas stay was just a pianist in the restaurant so we were often stuck for something to do in the evening so would often retreat to our room after dinner to watch tv.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

You get what you pay for

Stay Date: 28/10/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

The hotel is very old and very tired, a few bits of tinsel in October were never going to cheer up the peeling orange paint and broken ceiling tiles. If you want to relive a school residential See More  Read more information holiday then this is the place for you- mass catered cheap food and tacky excursions, otherwise, you would be better off somewhere else.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town Shopping  
Lea's Lift  
Martello Tower  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our holiday break

Stay Date: 15/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Rochester who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (2 Night Offer & 2 Dinners) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Overall we enjoyed a break. The food was cold and not nice the first day. Second eve we upgraded to other restaurant in hotel and that was lovely so was breakfast there. Was not happy when staff See More  Read more information interrupted us watching a soap on tv(there were 2 other tvs to switch to football, was told it was world cup so all tvs had to be put on football didn't think that was fair. We went and used the gymvery good and staff there very nice, helpful and happy. We did go out for walks and shops too.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
harbour fish and chips  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend at Folkestone Air Show

Stay Date: 07/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

The hotel is looking a little tired and needs updating, especially the television and heaters, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable and had a lovely view of the seafront.. The car park was See More  Read more information very full and too many cars were parked at the front where they shouldn't making it difficult for drivers to get through. The food we had in the hotel was very good, and the staff were friendly andhelpful. Britannia spend some money on this hotel and bring it into the 21st century!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Air Show  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 11 - 20 of 109 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 18:48:30

Last rendered @ 21/07/2019 18:48:30

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.