Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Dover, Folkestone & Area

Dover, Folkestone & Area Holiday Reviews

Dover Castle, Dover

For a relaxing short break in the Garden of England, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are an excellent choice. Discover this incredibly scenic corner of the country – full of history, and a great base from which to explore Kent, the area is more than just a stop on the way to continental Europe.

Whether you choose to take it easy and indulge in afternoon tea by Dover’s pretty harbour, go hiking on the headlands, or head out on the sightseeing trail, a short break in the south-east is as chilled-out or high-octane as you make it. Easily accessed from the A2 and the M20, and within easy driving distance of must-see Canterbury and vibrant Ashford, our hotels in Dover & Folkestone are ideally located for a getaway.

  • Our hotels in Dover are perfect for a visit to the singularly impressive Dover Castle; the largest castle in England and originally founded in the 12th century, it dominates the skyline. Home to a long, fascinating history, it’s a must-visit
  • History enthusiasts should also check out the Dover Western Heights – one of the country’s most impressive fortifications – and the Victorian-era boldbegin#Dover Museum
  • Our hotels in Folkestone are in a great position for visiting local attractions too, not least the Kent Battle of Britain Museum – one of the country’s best World War II dedicated museums.
  • Every bit as pretty as Dover’s white cliffs, the Folkestone Leas are naturally beautiful, and have wonderful views out to sea; for comedy gigs and music concerts, the Folkestone Leas Cliff Hall is difficult to beat
A charming destination for your next short break, take a look through our Dover & Folkestone hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 109

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Shortbreak in Folkestone, Kent

Stay Date: 26/05/09, a customer from West Midlands who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel (3 or 4 night Half Board Offer) in Folkestone wrote this review.

Grand Burstin was adequate. It was quite faded around the edges and requires refurbishment. But the service was very good, the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The food was good. I was on a See More  Read more information walking holiday so I did extensive walking along the coast, downs, cliffs, and cross-country hiking along the valley pathways.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Canterbury  
Dover  
Dungeness  
RHD Railway  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable but slightly disappointing two night stay

Stay Date: 06/04/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Ramada Hotel Dover (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner & Afternoon Tea) in Dover wrote this review.

The hotel was good and the food was excellent, breakfast was fantastic and the staff were very efficient and helpful. Dinner was excellent but we were disappointed to learn that the evening meal See More  Read more information allowance on the first night was only £15 per person, so we ended up having to pay £30 towards what we thought was a free dinner. There was a funeral reception at the hotel on the second afternoon whichmeant the bar was completely full and we had to take our drinks into the reception area. The noise from this party continued well into the night keeping us awake until after 1 am.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dover Castle  
Downe House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Murder mystery evening

Stay Date: 26/01/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Best Western Plus Clifton Hotel Murder Mystery Break in Folkestone wrote this review.

Great stay at hotel. Obviously spent a lot of money on the facade, reception, bar and toilets. The room was clean and warm. I’m glad I could open a window. Bedroom and bathroom a little tired. But See More  Read more information beds were very comfortable. Plenty of hot water. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.... hubby not happy about the eggs (sitting in warming tray) but he did have theoption of asking for fresh. Overall we were very happy with our stay. Very relaxing stay. Thank you.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Murder Mystery  
Leas  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

1st experience of murder mystery event

Stay Date: 09/03/19, a customer aged 45-64 from Chatham who stayed at 3* Best Western Plus Clifton Hotel Murder Mystery Break in Folkestone wrote this review.

Best Western Hotel Folkestone. Dinner & breakfast were both delicious and the event was good. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Super Shopping with Superbreak

Stay Date: 24/01/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We booked a night at the Grand Burstin Hotel Folkestone as P&O Ferries had a special offer on a day trip to Calais. We wanted an overnight stay before we went. Have stayed at this hotel before. See More  Read more information Meals excellent, helpful staff, clean rooms.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend in Folkestone

Stay Date: 08/03/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

For a 2* the Grand Burstin is what it is. We were in the Penthouse which have great views. The carpet in room was stained and the room was a smoking room which wasn't very pleasant. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rocksalt  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Folkestone Airshow

Stay Date: 07/06/14, a customer aged 25-44 from Milton Keynes who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We stayed in The Grand Burstin Hotel and I have to say that some of the reviews I had seen was making me dread going... but how wrong I was. Yes the hotel is a bit dated but the room was fantastic See More  Read more information and our sea view was amazing! The staff were fantastic and most helpful and the food was excellent. The Folkestone Airshow was fantastic and a big well done to all who managed to get it on, seeing TheRed Arrows was brilliant and the concert and fireworks was a great touch as well. If the airshow is on next year I would highly recommend it along with the Burstin Hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Folkestone air show  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Weekend at Folkestone Air Show

Stay Date: 07/06/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

The hotel is looking a little tired and needs updating, especially the television and heaters, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable and had a lovely view of the seafront.. The car park was See More  Read more information very full and too many cars were parked at the front where they shouldn't making it difficult for drivers to get through. The food we had in the hotel was very good, and the staff were friendly andhelpful. Britannia spend some money on this hotel and bring it into the 21st century!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Air Show  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Mini break in Folkestone

Stay Date: 20/05/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We often visit Folkestone annually for a mini break as it's not far to travel to & we always stay at the Grand Burstin hotel. Never really had a bad stay although this time for some reason the fire See More  Read more information alarms kept sounding during the night & early morning but we got over that. Our rooms have always been very clean & service from staff is always excellent. Great value for money!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hythe  
Pitch & putt  
The leas lift  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rocksalt  
The pullen pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Pleasantly surprised

Stay Date: 15/08/15, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 2* Grand Burstin Hotel in Folkestone wrote this review.

We have stayed at the hotel several times before. It is always clean but quite dated. We know what to expect and I was honestly pleasantly surprised. They have finally started to put a little See More  Read more information money into renovation. It makes quite a difference.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 109 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 10:44:09

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 17:37:52

Last rendered @ 17/07/2019 17:37:52

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.