Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Docklands, Excel & Greenwich

Docklands, Excel & Greenwich Holiday Reviews

Canary Wharf, Docklands and Excel

Set in one of the city's trendiest areas, London Docklands hotels are a great choice for a short break in the capital. Surrounded by vibrant bars and restaurants, when evening rolls around the Docklands is the place to be. With fantastic shopping at the high-end Churchill Place Shopping Mall and the traditional Chrisp Street Market, it's a pretty great place to hang out in the daytime too.

Be sure to use the Docklands Light Railway (DLR) for easy access into the centre of London, the fabulous shopping of Oxford Street and Mayfair and, of course, the superb theatre in the West End. London Docklands hotels also happen to be perfectly located for all the wonderful music, comedy and live performances at The O2 Arena, as well as conferences and exhibitions at London's ExCel.

  • Canary Wharf, one of London's most iconic buildings, is situated in the Docklands area and is home to wonderful shopping - a must during your stay.
  • Enjoy a trip on the Emirates Air Line - a great way to get views of The O2 Arena and visit the south side of the Thames including pretty Greenwich, home to Cutty Sark and the Royal Observatory.
  • Historically the world's biggest port, the Docklands is now one of London's hottest up and coming areas - be sure to enjoy a nightcap in a dockside bar, for pretty views over the water to this heavily transformed and redeveloped area.


An excellent choice for a short stay in the capital, check out our great range of London Docklands hotels below for a getaway to remember.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 915

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Great Trip to London

Stay Date: 09/02/08, a customer from Clwyd who stayed at 4* Novotel London Greenwich in Greenwich wrote this review.

This was our third trip to London and probably the best ever! This hotel was a brilliant choice, easily accessible via the docklands light railway or mainline train service, both a 2 minute walk. See More  Read more information Best value by far for Travel was in purchasing an Oyster card which you preload with credit from any station and top up as needed. We used undergorund, light railway and buses extensively for threedays and it only cost 15GBP per person (Children under 11 free!) on the oyster and we stil have some credit for another trip!Also being out of the city it was quieter so a nights sleep was possible! Therooms were modern and a good size,even with the sofa bed for our son.Modern en-suite bathroom with tub and shower and a tea tray to make the all important brew and Tv internet facilities if you wantthem. Also, a nice little I-pod dock so you could play you're own music in room if you wanted! Breakfast choice excellent, everything including fresh fruits + cereals of every type, smoked salmon,cheeses and cold meats, to Full English! I've stayed in more expensive hotels in london and had a lot less! We didn't eat at the resturant in the evening, there are a great choice of resturants inGreenwich itself about 10 mins walk away, but checked out the menu, and room service menu and it was average for hotel prices and cheaper than those in town. Greenwich as a location great in itself. TheNaval College and Observatory both very interesting and free addmission. You can walk to each thoprugh Greenwich park and the views of the city are fantastic. Those who have walking difficulties wouldfind the path to the observatory difficult it's up hill all the way! Sunday, greenwich has a great craft and international food market located near the Cutty Sark underground stop. Getting to the O2 forthe Tutenkahmun Exhibit was easy as there are two buses which run every 8 minutes to the O2 from the bus stop near the Naval College tourist Info. The exhibit was very imressive but be prepared for along queue even with timed entry. our tickets were for 1.30pm and it was after 3pm by we got in. There are no seats in standing the whole time, again difficult if you have mobility problems or areolder.Also, the number of toilets in the O2 was terrible, queues everywhere!! The O2 did have plenty of resturants, shops and even an ice rink (a little expensive at 11GBP per person), and there is atutenkahmun gift shop but it was very expensive even for plastic nic nacs! The Albert Hall was great however be sure you eat before going there. There are no resturants or cafes in the area, andalthough the bars sell sandwiches they sell out quickly and the resturant is expensive. There is a huge choice of museums all in one area and all free entry but we choose the Science museum this trip andweren't disappointed. Our Son especially enjoyed the interactive gallery on level 3 which is all hands on and there are themed talks through out the day. Had heard much about cirque du soliel and werenot disappointed. The costumes were stunning and the ariel acrobatics breath taking. The show also included the traditional clowns but with such a difference, no painted faces and big shoes, but veryclever. The finally had the audience applauding constantly amid Ooooohs and Aaaaaahs!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Royal Albert Hall  
Science Museum  
Tutankhamun Exhibition  
The National Maritime Museum & Royal Observatory  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 15/02/08, a customer from Berkshire who stayed at 4* Novotel London Greenwich in Greenwich rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The First Emperor  
Tutankamun Exhibition  
 
 

A Great Weekend in London for the Family

Stay Date: 09/02/08, a customer from West Midlands who stayed at 4* Novotel London Greenwich in Greenwich wrote this review.

Had a great weekend in london,but the travelling across london via bus,tube and overland train was totally exhausting,especially as our party of 5 ranged from 8yrs to an OAP However the hotel was See More  Read more information great.The evening meal on arrival was delicious,if a little pricey. Our breakfast was included and was fabulous - all you can eat from fresh fruits,a wide variety of cereals and hot breakfast.Alsoavailable were fruit juices and delicious thick smoothie.The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable.The staff were polite and friendly.I wasn't interested in the view as it wasn't relevant to the break.Despite being close to the train station,there was not even a rumble to remind me of the location. I would recommend this hotel when visiting the o2 arena   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The First Emperor - Terracotta Warriors  
Tutankhamun Exhibition  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Frankie & Benny's, O2 Arena  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 09/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London Greenwich in Greenwich rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thames River Cruise  
Joseph, Adelphi Theatre  
Tutankhamun Exhibition  
Ice Station Antarctica, Natural History Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express, Greenwich  
 
 

Great Hotel

Stay Date: 14/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London Greenwich in Greenwich rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Theatre  
 
 

Tut & Warrors

Stay Date: 07/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London Greenwich in Greenwich wrote this review.

An excellent two days in London without using the Underground!!We travelled on buses. DLR and the river. Lots of helpful advice from the general public. The distance to Greenwich was not a problem. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
British Museum  
St Paul's Cathedral  
Covent Garden  
The First Emperor - Terracotta Warriors  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tate Modern  
The Plough, near Russell Square  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Excellent Weekend in London

Stay Date: 01/02/08, a customer from Preston who stayed at 4* Novotel London Greenwich in Greenwich wrote this review.

We had an excellent time in London. The hotel was in Greenwich, which was out of the city - but this was seen as an advantage. It incorraged us to explore areas of London we had never been, such as See More  Read more information the National Maritime Museam. As the hotel was on the Thames - it meant we could travel into the city via the Thames Ferry - a much more pleasent experience than taking the underground, and itcertainly had better views! The Hotel was worth the extra mileage out of the city - the room was lovely -with a posh bath with bubble bath provided. Food and staff were excellent, only wish I was not on adiet - so that I could eat more. One tip if you do book a hotel in Greenwich - is travel light. We only took one rucksack - so it meant we did not have to keep going back to the hotel. We went to theAdelpi Theatre to see Joseph. I had see the touring production with the runners up from Any Dream will Do at Christmas. I thought this show was on a par with the touring show. So unless you have a realdesire to see Lee Mead - I suggest you save a few quid and go and see Craig as Joseph instead. However said that I love Joseph and what ever the production, I always enjoy it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Maritime Museum  
The First Emperor - Terracotta Warriors  
Tutankhamun Exhibition  
London Eye - at night  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express  
Pacifico  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A Weekend Break on the Isle of Dogs

Stay Date: 01/02/08, a customer from Winchester who stayed at 4* Radisson Blu Edwardian, New Providence Wharf in Canary Wharf wrote this review.

We stayed on the Isle of Dogs to attend a family wedding - the reception was being held at a location within walking distance of the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel and checked into our room, See More  Read more information there was a noticeable rattle from the panelling above the window which would have been extremely irritating at night. The hotel maintenance man came to investigate immediately and as the problem couldnot be rectified easily, the management moved us to another room - we were very grateful for the way the whole situation was handled so quickly and smoothly.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Canary Wharf  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bonds, Threadneedle Street  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in London

Stay Date: 01/02/08, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel London Greenwich in Greenwich wrote this review.

Novotel Greenwich represented excellent value for money and I would have no reservations about recommending it to anyone as a base either for visiting Greenwich or even London Centre attractions - See More  Read more information the hotel is situated less than 100 yds from the Docklands Light Rail link offering quick and easy access to the city centre.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The First Emperor - Terracotta Warriors  
Tutankhamun  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Night at the O2 Arena

Stay Date: 28/01/08, a customer who stayed at 3* Ibis Styles London ExCel in Docklands rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Linkin Park Concert  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wasabi  
 
 
 

Showing 731 - 740 of 915 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 22:52:41

Last rendered @ 25/05/2019 22:52:41

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.