Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Derby

Derby Holiday Reviews

Joseph Wright Gallery of Derby Museum & Art

Derby lies in the heart of England surrounded by picturesque landscape. With a number of hotels in Derby you will be well placed for historical attractions such as the dominating Cathedral, world heritage sites such as the Silk Mill and QUAD – a contemporary art gallery, cinema and cafe bar in the Market Place.

  • As well as centrally located Derby hotels we can also offer you rail travel and Alton Towers tickets to add to your booking.
  • Derby is a shopper’s paradise with exclusive boutiques in The Strand, Sadler Gate and Iron Gate and high street stores in the new Westfield’s shopping centre and after a hard day shopping why not head back to one of the hotels in Derby to relax.
  • Bustling, Georgian Friar Gate is the city’s restaurant quarter whilst Iron Gate and the Cathedral Quarter are full of lively, cosmopolitan coffee bars and bistros. Many of the hotels in Derby also have their own eateries and bars.
Derby hotels are also a great base for catching a cricket match at Derbyshire County Cricket Ground, exploring the surrounding Peak District, a white knuckle visit to Alton Towers or an airport stopover. With all this in mind book Derby hotels with us and ensure a great trip to the Midlands.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 138

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Relaxing weekend

Stay Date: 19/05/18, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Makeney Hall Hotel (2 Nt Offer,1 Dinner/1 Afternoon Tea) in Derby wrote this review.

Great value hotel could do with a little attention in main areas painting etc. but our executive bedroom was fine. Beautiful grounds. Service was very good, food excellent and the staff were really See More  Read more information good and helpful. Overall really good value would return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National arborietum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Dog friendly excellence

Stay Date: 12/01/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Makeney Hall Hotel (2 Nt Offer,1 Dinner/1 Afternoon Tea) in Derby wrote this review.

The hotel is cosy, clean and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Afternoon tea was top notch! Very enjoyable stay. Great walking country. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Derbyshire Break

Stay Date: 26/11/17, a customer aged 65+ from Cheshire who stayed at 3* Makeney Hall Hotel (2 Nt Offer,1 Dinner/1 Afternoon Tea) in Derby wrote this review.

The Makeney Hall Hotel itself was a little tired but the food was very good and the staff very helpful and friendly. The two night stay was well worth the money. We visited Belpher, Matlock (most See More  Read more information places were closed on Monday) and Bakewell, unfortunately the bad weather prevented us travelling further.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel for both evening meals  
Wheatsheaf Bakewell  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Two days in Derbyshire

Stay Date: 01/11/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Makeney Hall Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Derby wrote this review.

Makeney Hall always great value - been 3 times. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Mini Break Derbyshire

Stay Date: 22/09/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Peterborough who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Mickleover (Nr Derby) wrote this review.

The hotel has all the makings of a fantastic hotel, but the hotel needs a refurbishment. You can still smell stale smoke in the hallways and rooms. The cooked breakfast is covered in grease. Bed See More  Read more information comfortable and lots of free parking.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Brewery Centre  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Terrible Inn

Stay Date: 26/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Mickleover (Nr Derby) wrote this review.

Super Break messed up with our booking, so instead of staying at our luxury spa hotel that we had booked for a romantic break we were put in an Inn in the centre of Derby! Not happy at all! This is See More  Read more information not what we wanted by far! The room was basic, small & unclean. Nail clippings on the carpet! It needs a total re vamp. We were planning to have dinner at our chosen hotel on the 1st night but guesswhat....no restaurant! Oh and no spa! We had to ask for the bar to be opened for us when we returned from our meal out. The room for breakfast was very drab. Not enough staff for breakfast. Waiting along time for anything you needed. I was also hoping for a nice soak in the bath...no bath! Absolutely appalled! I would like my money back!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Papaya Thai  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

An average stay

Stay Date: 10/04/17, a customer aged 45-64 from West Midlands who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Mickleover (Nr Derby) wrote this review.

Hotel room was too small for a double, very few sockets to hand and the bed was very uncomfortable. Great breakfast and evening meal was average. Very friendly cleaning staff. Lounge areas were See More  Read more information great for peace and quiet.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harvester  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Derby stay

Stay Date: 29/03/17, a customer aged 65+ from Glasgow who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Derby wrote this review.

Spent 2 nights at the Hallmark Midland in Derby. Reception was very efficient and friendly and the room was a good standard, comfortable bed, well presented large bathroom and good lighting. The See More  Read more information restaurant service for dinner was very slow and the food was not up to the standard I would expect for a quality hotel. The fish and lamb main courses were OK, but the chicken was very dry; we pointedthis out to the staff but they did not propose any remedy. Breakfast was pretty good with a better than average hot buffet. We had afternoon tea the next day, but again the service was extremely slowtaking over 30 minutes from ordering to serving. Some ledges in the dining room were thick with dust and the staff were very embarrassed when we pointed this out, but it was still there the next morningat breakfast. Overall it is a good place to stay with decent rooms and furnishings and helpful reception staff. A more professional and detailed management of the bar and restaurant would massivelyimprove this hotel and make it a really good hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pepitos  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor Hotel Stay

Stay Date: 16/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Donington-On-Bain who stayed at 3* Makeney Hall Hotel in Derby wrote this review.

This was a poor hotel more a two star than a three. We wanted to stay around the Peak District and when booking you seemed to have difficulty finding a hotel that would take children which I thought See More  Read more information was a little strange. The only one was the Makeney Hall. The hotel was tired both inside and out. Our bedroom was dirty and very dusty bet it still is in our room. This was just a poor experience allround. Overall very disappointed which is a shame as these vouchers were given to me as part of my retirement present. They say feedback is a gift I hope you use this gift wisely. One final point Ithink there should be some dress code in the restaurant for an evening meal. Is a Manchester United football shirt, trackie bottoms and training shoes really acceptable in a hotel where the bottles ofwine start at £20 - I think not!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ilam Park  
Sudbury  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Angelos  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Beer in Burton

Stay Date: 14/02/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Mickleover (Nr Derby) wrote this review.

Hotel has great facilities and is very well placed for local attractions. Recommend visits to National Brewery Museum and Memorial Arboretum. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Memorial Arboretum  
National brewery museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 138 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 04:53:08

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 04:53:08

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.