Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Chester & Area

Chester & Area Holiday Reviews

Eastgate Row South, Chester

Looking for hotels in Chester? Here at SuperBreak we have a wide selection of accommodation that allows you to explore a city shaped by 2,000 years of history and circled by a two mile ring of medieval and Roman walls.

Visit the amazing Gothic Cathedral, Britain's largest Amphitheatre or see 500 species of animals at Chester Zoo. Make your visit action packed by combining one of our Chester hotels with return rail travel and popular attraction tickets, including city sightseeing tours and Chester Zoo tickets. Top attractions in and around Chester include:

  • Chester Zoo - This is the UK's favourite Zoo. With thousands of visitors and hundreds of animals, there is tons to do and see at Chester Zoo
  • Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet - One of the UK's largest designer outlets, Cheshire Oaks boasts designer labels at a fraction of the price. Once you have shopped you can drop into a large number restaurants and refuel after a hard days shopping!
  • Tatton Park - Tatton Park is one of the UK's most impressive historic estates. There are four different attractions set in 1000 acres of Cheshire parkland. You can enjoy a tour around the atmospheric Tudor Old Hall or visit the Tatton's home farm.
If you are staying at one of our hotels in Chester, then why not make the most of the traditional pubs dotted around the city or head to the unique medieval two-tier galleries of shops called 'The Rows' for some boutique shopping. We offer Chester hotels in a variety of locations to suit your needs, many of which are located in the heart of this historic city. Our hotels in Chester range from 3*-5* and are popular with couples and families throughout the year. With budget and luxury Chester hotels to choose from, as well an abundance of attractions, historic streets, stunning architecture and a thriving cultural scene; this is a city of contrasts, where ancient and modern sit side by. This beautiful city really does have something for everyone and you will be spoilt for choice when booking hotels in Chester with us.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 915

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Chester

Stay Date: 12/05/06, a customer who stayed at 3* Mercure Chester North Woodhey House Hotel in Chester (Nr) wrote this review.

The car journey to Chester was terrible. It took 4.5 hrs to travel 98 miles due to a combination of accidents, road works and torrential rain. The hotel was very clean and I was given the type of See More  Read more information room I requested. Most of the friends I went to visit were away that weekend so it was very disappointing. I went to breakfast at 8:20 am on the Saturday morning and found there was hardly any hotfood available. They had had 2 coach parties who had demolished all the food before I got there and the staff didn't start to replenish it until I had sat there for almost 45 minutes. So I went withoutbreakfast and was very frustrated.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cheshire Oaks  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brewers Fayre  
Quality Hotel Chester Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Should not be a 4* Hotel

Stay Date: 24/12/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Chester wrote this review.

This hotel is in a time warp and reminds me of the hotels I used as a Junior Manager in the 1960's. Unfortunately the staff attitude is locked in the same era. Room very good, warm, quiet with a See More  Read more information bath designed for dwarfs, I am only 5ft 5ins. Decor very dated and jaded. Service for the gala dinners terrible, waited for over an hour from sitting to the main course. Despite the above foodquite good but avoid the rubber duck. Some staff exceptionally good but most couldn't care less. I am amazed that it is a 4* hotel as the facilities do not bear this out.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester City  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Very disappointed

Stay Date: 24/12/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Chester wrote this review.

Christmas break in Chester at Brook Mollington Banastre. Reception staff excellent but the Christmas meal was terrible, we were put in a corner all by ourselves and felt very 'left out'. Spanish See More  Read more information waiter was unfriendly, never smiled and needs re-training. Reception staff excellent but room tired and a lot of money needs spending on this tired hotel. Will not be returning.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chester Cathedral  
Cheshire Oaks  
Chester Town Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Brook Millington Benastre  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Xmas break

Stay Date: 24/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Kidderminster who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel 3 Night Christmas Break in Chester wrote this review.

Brook Mollington Hotel needs upgrade ASAP. Xmas dinner very poor. Beds uncomfortable and needed thorough clean in bathroom and around windows. Carpets stained throughout hotel. Couldn't eat until See More  Read more information 9.30pm on night of arrival? Needs new manager and staff training including money spent on it!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not great

Stay Date: 20/06/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel in Chester wrote this review.

The hotel was dreadful, very disappointing. The area is beautiful. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Sizergh Castle  
Chester Zoo  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Prezzo  
TGI Fridays  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor time in Chester

Stay Date: 28/06/16, a customer aged 65+ from Northampton who stayed at 4* Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Chester wrote this review.

The hotel sets it standard by the potholed entrance. From there things do not improve with the very tired and faded entrance. Our room was a good size but again very tired, bed was rock hard as were See More  Read more information the pillows. Large cracks in the sink was matched by one the window also the making of the beds was very poorly done. The following two mornings the hallway was full of bed linen towels and maidscarts all of which stayed until after lunch. Dinner was ok but that's all. Breakfast however was appalling and the service even worse, cold food, warm orange juice and partly thawed out bread plus 10 minwait to get tea. (The 2 staff would disappear for 5-10 mins at a time). Not for us and will not be returning.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Zoo  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Alarming time at Cranage Hall

Stay Date: 06/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* De Vere Cranage Estate (2 Night BB Offer) in Nr Crewe wrote this review.

The hotel is just about acceptable, rooms tired and not very clean, stained ceilings, black mould in bathroom, leaking shower screens, all the things you expect in a tired hotel in need of updating. See More  Read more information Issues with the fire alarm resulted in 2 trips to emergency points in our PJs, without the slightest hint of an apology of explanation from the staff. Then 4 tests of the alarm when we were trying tohave a lie in on Monday morning. Again no explanation, warning or apology.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rewind North  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Chester shopping

Stay Date: 14/12/16, a customer aged 65+ from Stoke-On-Trent who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester (2 Night Offer/1st Nt Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Chester wrote this review.

Hotel in excellent position for arrival by train, two minutes from station. Easy walk, 10 mins into town centre otherwise bus directly available. Hotel is still very 'Victorian' and bit over formal See More  Read more information generally. Concierge extremely helpful. Bathroom in room needed extra attention to cleanliness in the shower, soap residue on the walls.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shopping  
yard restaurant  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Yard  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good Location

Stay Date: 27/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* De Vere Cranage Estate (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Nr Crewe wrote this review.

The hotel is well situated and the main building and entrance are extremely enticing and certainly live up to both expectations and the online photography. Sadly the accommodation is in modern See More  Read more information blocks similar to a large budget hotel and are both cold and shabby. Of the few staff we saw they were mostly polite and welcoming, the hotel was very clean although the distance from the entrance to therooms could be an issue for anyone with below average mobility. The hotel seems to be primarily a business / function facility making it somewhat chaotic at meal times.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jodrell Bank  
Peak District  
Salford Museum and Art Gallery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break

Stay Date: 01/12/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Dudley who stayed at 3* Best Western Crewe Arms Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1 Night Dinner) in Crewe wrote this review.

We arrived to check in and the attendant looked at us like we were lost. First impression was not great. Went up to our room through long corridors which were full of draft and very cold. We left See More  Read more information out bags and went for food. The waitress was lovely. Went back to our room and it wasn't very warm. After some time the heating went off. It was a cold night. Affected our sleep. We asked for breakfastupstairs and that was ok. We went out for the day walked the long corridors which are cold and got to our room to find our card had been blocked. We came down. It was unblocked and we went back.Second night was slightly warmer. Next morning we just wanted to have breakfast and get out. The waitress was lovely. The hotel is in need of modernisation. Especially to make it warmer. The corridorsneed a good clean.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Trafford Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Frankie and Benny  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 881 - 890 of 915 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001991 @ 01/11/2018 10:01:11

Last rendered @ 15/11/2018 11:07:37

Last rendered @ 15/11/2018 11:07:37

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.