Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Central England

Central England Holiday Reviews

Botanical Gardens, Birmingham

With cosmopolitan cities, historical attractions, theme parks and lots of gorgeous countryside on the doorstep, our hotels in central England make the perfect destination for your short break or getaway. From luxury spa retreats in the country to budget city accommodation, there's something for everyone here.

Our central England hotels are a particularly good choice when you want to take the whole family away; whether it's Warwick Castle, Cadbury World in Birmingham or the National Space Centre in Leicester, there's plenty to see and do here. For the adventurous types, big and small, why not consider a break to some the country's top theme parks? Drayton Manor with the kids, or Alton Towers with the big kids, or you could always reconnect with nature in the outdoor playground that is the stunning Peak District National Park.

  • For a fabulous shopping break, look no further than our hotels near Birmingham - home to the famous Bull Ring Shopping Centre, and a vibrant city centre, it has some of the best retail outside London.
  • Get sent to Coventry, or Lincoln, or Nottingham for a fab cathedral city full of history, culture, fine dining and great shopping.
  • Stratford-upon-Avon is home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and, as the Bard's birthplace, is the site of the must-visit Shakespeare's houses too; a quintessential short break for all theatre-lovers.


The only difficult part is deciding where to go! Be inspired by the exciting destinations and wonderful places to stay in our list of hotels in central England below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 3205

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Beautiful grounds

Stay Date: 19/05/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Sedgebrook Hall (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Northampton wrote this review.

It was a most enjoyable stay. We chose this hotel to break our journey from Lancashire to Bury St. Edmunds. The hotel was lovely and set in beautiful grounds although with the added on bit made it See More  Read more information like a warren. Staff were lovely and friendly and took our cases to our room. We would stay here again to break out journey.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Good break but...

Stay Date: 20/05/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Poole who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Hotel décor is looking a little bit tired and could do with a freshen up in the rooms. Hotel setting is excellent. The inclusive evening meal was adequate and the staff were pleasant at all times. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Upton House  
Coughton Court  
Charlcotte Park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chequers Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shakespeare's Country

Stay Date: 21/05/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Sudbury who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

We had a great couple of days in Stratford-Upon-Avon, visiting all the Shakespeare sites. The RSC Theatre tour was excellent. Our room at the Ettington Chase Hotel was large and comfortable. The See More  Read more information staff were friendly and we enjoyed our stay there.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
shakespeare's birth place  
Stratford Town Walk  
RSC Theatre backstage tour  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great short break

Stay Date: 14/05/15, a customer aged 65+ from Sheffield who stayed at 3* Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel in Ironbridge (Nr Telford) wrote this review.

My wife and I really enjoyed our 3 night stay in an Historic Room (Oriel) which overlooked a lake at Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel. The room was full of character, including a very comfortable See More  Read more information four poster bed, two armchairs, a huge open fireplace and uneven squeaky floors. Although the bathroom was a little on the small side, which necessitated the hand basin being located in the mainroom, and the bath itself was a little dated, these aspects in some way seemed to enhance the character of the room. The shower was incorporated in the bath taps and was good but unfortunately there wasno shower curtain which made showering a little difficult. We ate in the Hotel Restaurant on all three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the food which was well prepared and tasty. Similarly breakfast,which was cooked to order on two of the three mornings (buffet style on the third), was very good and set us up for the day. The hotel is located away from any main roads and is in a lovely settingbeside a lake. It is ideally placed for exploring the attractions of the Iron Gorge. It is advisable to purchase an Annual Passport ticket which gives you access to all 10 Museums/attractions in theGorge. We also took the opportunity to visit the Black Country Living Museum at Dudley (about 45 mins away) and on the way home called in at RAF Cosford Museum. All in all a great short break - plentyto do during the day and lovely relaxing evenings at the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Blists Hill Victorian Town  
Enginuity  
Museum Of The Gorge  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Menzies Birmingham

Stay Date: 15/05/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Birmingham (2 Night Offer/ 1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Birmingham wrote this review.

Hotel was handy for the bus into Birmingham. Room was small and dark but clean and comfortable for a couple of days. Staff were friendly and the meals were good. Pity all the roads were being dug See More  Read more information up, we missed a lot of the places we wanted to see.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
chef and brewer  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Partner's birthday

Stay Date: 17/05/15, a customer aged 65+ from Nottingham who stayed at 4* Mercure Bewdley The Heath Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Kidderminster (Nr) wrote this review.

The hotel was right on the door step for what we wanted and was close to Bewdley as well. We actually drove around the safari park three times. The hotel room was well furnished with a large double See More  Read more information bed. I used the large swimming pool but there some alteration work being done.The dining room was nice and overlooking the countryside.The breakfast was great but the evening meal was ok. There were afew little niggles; dirt on the carpet, no biscuits with the tea making facilities and the shower gel was not renewed.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
West Midland Safari Park  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
marshalls fish restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stratford

Stay Date: 11/05/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Good location for visiting Stratford and National Trust properties. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Upton House  
Shakespeare's Birthplace  
Charlcote House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable Break

Stay Date: 06/05/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Stanley who stayed at 4* Macdonald Burlington Hotel in Birmingham wrote this review.

From our first contact via phone with the Macdonald Burlington Hotel, to checking out time, all staff were helpful and attentive. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a nice large bathroom, See More  Read more information and the lift was close by. Travelling by rail was easy with the hotel being directly opposite, so getting to and from the venue was a breeze. Good shopping with the Bullring within easy walkingdistance. We thoroughly enjoyed our short break to Birmingham.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bullring  
Cathedral  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend in Birmingham

Stay Date: 18/04/15, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel Birmingham (2 Night Offer/ 1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Birmingham wrote this review.

The room was small. Breakfast was ok but lots of tables were not cleared of dishes etc. We had this weekend on a deal but would definitely not pay the full price - probably wouldn't go back again. See More  Read more information View from bedroom was overlooking the bins etc maybe that's because we were on a deal.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
pub near canal cant remember the name  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ettington break

Stay Date: 29/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

An average hotel trying to be two things - a conference centre as well as hotel. The noise from the conference delegates was incredible - kept us awake at night. Our bedroom was very poorly See More  Read more information decorated - the paintwork was dreadful and not finished. The room was cold with the heating barely adequate and only on for a very short period. Breakfasts were good but the evening meal was average.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 771 - 780 of 3205 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002081 @ 17/07/2019 11:23:27

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 23:43:54

Last rendered @ 23/07/2019 23:43:54

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.