Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Central England

Central England Holiday Reviews

Botanical Gardens, Birmingham

With cosmopolitan cities, historical attractions, theme parks and lots of gorgeous countryside on the doorstep, our hotels in central England make the perfect destination for your short break or getaway. From luxury spa retreats in the country to budget city accommodation, there's something for everyone here.

Our central England hotels are a particularly good choice when you want to take the whole family away; whether it's Warwick Castle, Cadbury World in Birmingham or the National Space Centre in Leicester, there's plenty to see and do here. For the adventurous types, big and small, why not consider a break to some the country's top theme parks? Drayton Manor with the kids, or Alton Towers with the big kids, or you could always reconnect with nature in the outdoor playground that is the stunning Peak District National Park.

  • For a fabulous shopping break, look no further than our hotels near Birmingham - home to the famous Bull Ring Shopping Centre, and a vibrant city centre, it has some of the best retail outside London.
  • Get sent to Coventry, or Lincoln, or Nottingham for a fab cathedral city full of history, culture, fine dining and great shopping.
  • Stratford-upon-Avon is home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and, as the Bard's birthplace, is the site of the must-visit Shakespeare's houses too; a quintessential short break for all theatre-lovers.


The only difficult part is deciding where to go! Be inspired by the exciting destinations and wonderful places to stay in our list of hotels in central England below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 3291

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Weekend spa break

Stay Date: 09/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Gb who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

The hotel was in a lovely position and in walking distance to Stratford Town. We were put in an apartment around the back of the hotel which made me feel a little detached from the hotel experience See More  Read more information but the apartment was fantastic with everything you needed and decorated/furnished to an excellent standard. The SPA was disappointing as the sauna and Steam rooms were not working but the pool waslovely. The hotel offered a free afternoon tea which was not a full afternoon tea as you could presume but a delightful cream tea. The meals were expensive so having the apartment helped for selfcatering.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Spa  
Stratford  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Brilliant Time in Stratford

Stay Date: 16/02/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Burton-On-Trent who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Had a lovely stay in the Welcombe Hotel, the hotel room was lovely and clean and the leisure facilities were great. Location was very central and only a two minute drive to the centre. Lovely and See More  Read more information peaceful. Afternoon tea however was disappointing, having paid for the offer that advertised afternoon tea was misleading as this only included scones and tea. Overall the stay was very enjoyableand would recommend others to visit the hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Halls Croft  
Shakespeares birth place  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hathaway Tea Rooms  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Hotel

Stay Date: 19/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

The hotel is located in lovely, peaceful surroundings and has old world charm with modern conveniences. Staff were attentive and polite. The room was clean and adequate for our weekend break. See More  Read more information Breakfast and dinner was excellent. At the spa we only used the pool facilities, which were good, so can't comment on other treatments available. No lifts available but we were asked if we wanted help withour luggage, so staff were happy to oblige if needed. Will definitely stay here again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jewellery Quarter  
Stratford  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Table Table  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Restful break

Stay Date: 14/03/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Hotel very good. Staff were fine. Should be more people on reception when checking out. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford River barge  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Thai restaurant stratford  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stratford Welcombe Hotel

Stay Date: 18/03/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Birmingham who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Great hotel, convenient location - 20 min walk at normal pace into Stratford, £7 in a taxi. Excellent facilities - spa on site which you can use. However quite busy Sunday am. Inclusive dinner See More  Read more information Friday night - ok but need to pre book. Helpful staff.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Townhouse  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lovely break.

Stay Date: 29/03/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

We had a standard room but it was well located with a lovely view over the formal gardens. The bed was very comfortable and although the hotel was very busy it was quiet enough for a good night's See More  Read more information sleep. We ate in the restaurant on both nights of our stay so it was good to see that several dishes were different on both nights. Service on the first night was not great, but the restaurant wasextremely busy, and it appeared they may have had some new staff on that were still in training. On the second night when it was a little quieter things service was much better. The food itself wasexcellent and there was a good selection of some very nice wines. We used the spa facilities on both days although we did not have treatments. Children are allowed in the pool until 5.00pm so if you want aquiet swim leave it until after 5.00pm. That said it was the Easter holidays so children were to be expected. Overall a pleasant couple of days and we would certainly consider Hallmark Hotels forfuture breaks.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Stratford break

Stay Date: 04/04/16, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

The hotel was really good with very friendly staff and excellent meals. Room was really comfortable. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Avon Spice  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Great spa break

Stay Date: 26/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Will return soon - loved hotel and it was great value. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Church  
Ghost Tour  
Musuem  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pub  
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great hotel

Stay Date: 28/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

An amazing hotel with great spa facilities and golf. Very beautiful grounds to go walking too. Not far away from the historic town of Stratford-upon-Avon. I would highly recommend this hotel the See More  Read more information evening dinner was great too.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Ferry pub  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Welcombe Hotel

Stay Date: 06/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Chesterfield who stayed at 4* Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford (2 Night Offer/1st Night Dinner & Wine or Afternoon Tea) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Welcombe Hotel is the right name for this hotel, from the minute we walked in it was amazing. I and my partner booked for our anniversary, when we arrived we had been upgraded to a suite which was See More  Read more information fantastic. We had booked dinner for the first night, beautiful food, service was excellent, we even received a surprise anniversary dessert breakfast was hearty and plentiful, all together awonderful stay and we will book again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Moreton in Marsh  
Warwick  
Stratford Upon Avon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 3201 - 3210 of 3291 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001995 @ 15/11/2018 15:25:46

Last rendered @ 17/11/2018 11:52:32

Last rendered @ 17/11/2018 11:52:32

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.