Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Central England

Central England Holiday Reviews

Botanical Gardens, Birmingham

With cosmopolitan cities, historical attractions, theme parks and lots of gorgeous countryside on the doorstep, our hotels in central England make the perfect destination for your short break or getaway. From luxury spa retreats in the country to budget city accommodation, there's something for everyone here.

Our central England hotels are a particularly good choice when you want to take the whole family away; whether it's Warwick Castle, Cadbury World in Birmingham or the National Space Centre in Leicester, there's plenty to see and do here. For the adventurous types, big and small, why not consider a break to some the country's top theme parks? Drayton Manor with the kids, or Alton Towers with the big kids, or you could always reconnect with nature in the outdoor playground that is the stunning Peak District National Park.

  • For a fabulous shopping break, look no further than our hotels near Birmingham - home to the famous Bull Ring Shopping Centre, and a vibrant city centre, it has some of the best retail outside London.
  • Get sent to Coventry, or Lincoln, or Nottingham for a fab cathedral city full of history, culture, fine dining and great shopping.
  • Stratford-upon-Avon is home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and, as the Bard's birthplace, is the site of the must-visit Shakespeare's houses too; a quintessential short break for all theatre-lovers.


The only difficult part is deciding where to go! Be inspired by the exciting destinations and wonderful places to stay in our list of hotels in central England below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 3246

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Disappointed in evenings

Stay Date: 24/10/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

OKAY as a hotel but lacking in atmosphere in the evenings. Food good but breakfast staff very inattentive. No games room. Expensive drinks. Would not return. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
RSC Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
In Hotel  
Zizzi  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Journey break between Manchester and Essex

Stay Date: 30/10/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Brook Whipper-In Hotel (Afternoon Tea Offer) in Oakham wrote this review.

The staff were helpful,the breakfast/tea fine. Our room smelt strongly of stale tobacco (neither of us has ever smoked). We mentioned this to the receptionist who stated that smoking was not allowed See More  Read more information any where in the Hotel. The lighting in the bedroom was very poor, hardly adequate to read.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Xmas break

Stay Date: 23/12/14, a customer aged 65+ from Marford who stayed at 3* Royal Court Hotel Christmas Break in Coventry wrote this review.

The hotel organisation was poor... the hotel info was misleading. The outside consisted of a 30yds of muddy path through trees ending at refuse bins and a rear car park. No parkland within hotel See More  Read more information grounds. For parkland should read car park. We were not given the option of restaurants but were allocated to the orangery for buffet style meals. Drinks were expensive. Would not go again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Orangery  
Coffee bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointing stay in Nottingham hotel

Stay Date: 28/12/14, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Mercure Nottingham City Centre Hotel in Nottingham wrote this review.

Great central location. Tiny hotel room- hard for 2 people to get ready in. Freezing cold room that took a long time to heat up. Was cold in bed when we got back at night and this meant we were See More  Read more information unable to have a good nights sleep. Tiny bathroom barely enough space to sit on toilet without knees hitting the wall. The toilet flush wasn't powerful and was hard to flush the toilet. No light in thehallway part of room therefore had to use my phone torch to turn the heating on as this part of the room was too dark. When checking out in morning, reception staff were quite rude as when askedabout our stay and I told him the above issues the reply was-" we don't hide the size of our rooms all measurements are on the website which you would have seen before booking" I thought this was veryrude and ridiculous as I have never once got my tape measure out to check the room size of a 4* double room for 2 people. We weren't offered anything complimentary and he didn't seem to care that weweren't satisfied with our stay. I wouldn't recommend to stay there again as there are many other hotels with just as good locations in Nottingham.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Winter Wonderland  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jamie Oliver's  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

What We Found

Stay Date: 23/12/14, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Brownsover Hall Hotel in Rugby wrote this review.

The two of us spent four nights at Brownsover Hall during Christmas week. We found: 1 Extensive wooded grounds sloping down to a disused canal and bridge.. 2 Plenty of parking front and rear of See More  Read more information the hotel. 3 A fascinating historic main building externally and internally but lacking both a lift and a lounge. There is some seating in two transit areas. 4 A twin bedroom with very comfortablebeds, limited drawer space; no double glazing to the old sash window; no central heating just a single small wall-mounted panel heater. 5 En suite bathroom also unheated but for the single towel rail;black mould on the bottom frame of the single glazed window. 6 Food throughout was enjoyable (breakfast particularly) though not quite haute cuisine. 7 Service. For the most part staff wereefficient, responsive to requests and friendly. Little apparent senior management engagement with guests. This hotel remains a three star because, despite aiming higher, it lacks facilities which aresimply taken for granted these days.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rugby Town  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Valentines Weekend in Nottingham

Stay Date: 14/02/15, a customer aged 18-24 from Kettering who stayed at 2* Britannia Nottingham Hotel in Nottingham wrote this review.

Hotel was in a good location, close to the train station and city centre. However, rooms were in need of some TLC (deep clean). Booked a double room but was given a twin room and room was very hot See More  Read more information to sleep in. Little touches were missing which may have improved the general appearance of the room. Staff were friendly enough but didn't go 'the extra mile.' Hotel did the job for a night, butdoubt I'd book again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Ice Arena  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Frankie and Bennies  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 05/03/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Hotel did not have a very personal touch. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford on Avon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stoke on Trent - Alton Towers

Stay Date: 06/04/15, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 3* Quality Inn Stoke-on-Trent in Stoke-on-Trent wrote this review.

The hotel was okay. Nothing special and breakfast was quite poor. The worst thing for us was the unbearable heat all over the hotel, it made it impossible to sleep at night and made all the time in See More  Read more information the hotel very uncomfortable. It wasn't even warm outside, we had our window open but because our room backed onto other rooms there was no breeze coming through the window. When checking out thegentleman just took our key and say thanks bye! He didn't even ask how our stay was. Overall not an enjoyable stay.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Alton Towers  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Avoid overpriced concert nights

Stay Date: 12/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC in Birmingham Airport wrote this review.

We had tickets for a concert at the Genting Arena, Birmingham, and wanted to stay in a hotel locally to avoid driving home late at night. The Ramada Encore is about as near as one can get. A 10-15 See More  Read more information minute walk separates the two, although this is not a pleasant walk being sandwiched between the rear of industrial units and the railway line serving the NEC. It had not been designed to link the twobut could be done. To be fair, the reception at the Ramada had a clear route description posted on the wall. The Ramada is a basic hotel, but come concert nights the price is anything but basic. Wepaid £92 through SuperBreak for a double room with breakfast. On a good day, and being generous, it was old-style Travelodge standard. And, to make matters worse, they have the temerity to charge anadditional £7.50 per night to park the car outside in their tarmac car park. Just think about it - £99.50 per night to stay in a Travelodge. On the plus side, there is a bar with sports TV. We did noteat or drink anything at the hotel so can't really comment. Prices were the usual hotel level of expensive. Oh, and reception would sell you a 500ml bottle of still mineral water for £1.50 - nice (not).Stay here again? I think not.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Genting Arena  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Ettington break

Stay Date: 29/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

An average hotel trying to be two things - a conference centre as well as hotel. The noise from the conference delegates was incredible - kept us awake at night. Our bedroom was very poorly See More  Read more information decorated - the paintwork was dreadful and not finished. The room was cold with the heating barely adequate and only on for a very short period. Breakfasts were good but the evening meal was average.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 3041 - 3050 of 3246 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:24

Last rendered @ 23/05/2019 09:44:50

Last rendered @ 23/05/2019 09:44:50

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.