Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Central England

Central England Holiday Reviews

Botanical Gardens, Birmingham

With cosmopolitan cities, historical attractions, theme parks and lots of gorgeous countryside on the doorstep, our hotels in central England make the perfect destination for your short break or getaway. From luxury spa retreats in the country to budget city accommodation, there's something for everyone here.

Our central England hotels are a particularly good choice when you want to take the whole family away; whether it's Warwick Castle, Cadbury World in Birmingham or the National Space Centre in Leicester, there's plenty to see and do here. For the adventurous types, big and small, why not consider a break to some the country's top theme parks? Drayton Manor with the kids, or Alton Towers with the big kids, or you could always reconnect with nature in the outdoor playground that is the stunning Peak District National Park.

  • For a fabulous shopping break, look no further than our hotels near Birmingham - home to the famous Bull Ring Shopping Centre, and a vibrant city centre, it has some of the best retail outside London.
  • Get sent to Coventry, or Lincoln, or Nottingham for a fab cathedral city full of history, culture, fine dining and great shopping.
  • Stratford-upon-Avon is home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and, as the Bard's birthplace, is the site of the must-visit Shakespeare's houses too; a quintessential short break for all theatre-lovers.


The only difficult part is deciding where to go! Be inspired by the exciting destinations and wonderful places to stay in our list of hotels in central England below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 3261

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

A Date With Shakespeare

Stay Date: 16/01/07, a customer from Blandford Forum who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Swan's Nest Hotel ideal for theatres, shops, eating out, free parking Royal Shakespeare Theatre brilliant. we saw Merry Wives of Windsor. this is laugh out loud entertainment nearby you have the See More  Read more information Cotswolds Bourton on the Water,ect, great for a coffe,antique shops,stroll in the country   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford-Upon-Avon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bella Italia  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

First Time Visit

Stay Date: 16/01/07, a customer who stayed at 3* Days Inn Warwick (Leamington Spa) in Warwick wrote this review.

std of food on motorways needs improving See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Warwick Castle  
RSC Theatre Stratford  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Startford On Avon

Stay Date: 19/01/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Overnight trip in order to see play at Theatre. Food in Garrick Pub very good and very large portions. Breakfast at hotel was excellent with lots of choice both hot and cold. Lots of people were See More  Read more information getting take away fish and chips from a cafe opposite the Royal Shakespeare Theatre which looked very good but we didn't try it.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Garrick Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

A stormy visit to Stratford upon Avon

Stay Date: 17/01/07, a customer from Leatherhead who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

We wanted to visit the Royal Shakespeare Theatre before it closed, and to see The Merry Wives of Windsor - The Musical, despite its mixed reviews, so booked a night at the Swan Hotel. As pensioners See More  Read more information it was cheaper to book seats directly with the theatre website ourselves, as the Superbreak site makes no provision for age concessions. We enjoyed the outing: the theatre is showing its age, but ismore comfortable than most London theatres, with excellent sightlines and clear acoustics, and the show was well worth seeing. We travelled by car from Surrey, staying one night after the show beforegoing our separate ways, one back to Surrey by train and the other by car to Wales. Unfortunately, 18th January 2007 turned out to be the day of a great storm, so however memorable our visit to thewtown and theatre would have been all was eclipsed by the difficulties of travel home and to Wales. Cancelled trains, roads blocked by fallen trees and floods, lunatic lorry drivers determined toignore mandatory speed limits on motorways: the list goes on and on. Still, we both made it - eventually - and enjoyed the experience in retrospect. The show was better than the critics made out, the hotelwas unexceptional but was within convenient walking distance of the town and theatre, the parking was free, and we managed to avoid the rain whilst we were out. The hotel provided perhaps the bestbreakfast we have enjoyed in a British hotel in the last decade. If only we had waited a bit longer before booking we would also have got in much more cheaply, as MacDonald Hotels ran a cheap promotionin January, but didn't advertise it until after we had booked! You can't win them all.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Stratford--upon-Avon

Stay Date: 23/01/07, a customer from Ipswich who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

A lovely small town to walk around, enjoy the atmosphere and the pubs. Strolling along the river and visiting the church where Shakespeare is buried was wonderful. Visit Stratford in Winter when See More  Read more information there are no tourists and wonderful theatres to visit.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Courtyard Theatre  
Dirty Duck Pub  
River Walks in Stratford  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Georgetown Malaysian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 19/01/07, a customer from Romford who stayed at 4* Billesley Manor Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

a great time visiting all shakespears sites See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
shakespear all sites  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Wolverhampton

Stay Date: 20/01/07, a customer from Plymouth who stayed at 3* Novotel Wolverhampton in Wolverhampton wrote this review.

visited the Hindu temple in Birmingham See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Shakespeare/Stratford-on-Avon Weekend

Stay Date: 27/01/07, a customer from Avon who stayed at 4* Mercure Stratford-upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Had a nice time. Hotel was good (apart from uncooked bacon for breakfast!) and staff helpful. As ever, the RSC was v. good and production excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break in Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 01/02/07, a customer from Caen who stayed at 4* Macdonald Swans Nest Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Dispite the fact that my reservation was made almost two month ahead, when arriving at Sawn hotel, there was no trace of the reservation onto thier computer file. I feel that your businessis not See More  Read more information very serious. Hopefully, there was two rooms avalable at that late hour of the day ! I better not think of the situation where no room at all where free !   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shakespeare Museum and House  
Stratford City Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lambs Restaurant, Sheep Street  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed.

 

Lovely View of Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 27/01/07, a customer from Cardiff who stayed at 4* Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon in Stratford-upon-Avon wrote this review.

Whilst staying at the Holiday Inn, we took advantage of the sights, shopping, the nightlife and the walks along the river. The shopping was mediocre however we found a few lovely jewelry shops. The See More  Read more information walks along the river was superb, watching the ducks and swans playing around. The nightlife was quite low key, but the pub opposite the hotel proved to be entertaining with a live band. All in all itwas a very relaxing weekend away.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Theatre  
The Ghost Tour  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 2601 - 2610 of 3261 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 12:13:57

Last rendered @ 26/06/2019 00:39:58

Last rendered @ 26/06/2019 00:39:58

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB14

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.