Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Central England

Central England Holiday Reviews

Botanical Gardens, Birmingham

With cosmopolitan cities, historical attractions, theme parks and lots of gorgeous countryside on the doorstep, our hotels in central England make the perfect destination for your short break or getaway. From luxury spa retreats in the country to budget city accommodation, there's something for everyone here.

Our central England hotels are a particularly good choice when you want to take the whole family away; whether it's Warwick Castle, Cadbury World in Birmingham or the National Space Centre in Leicester, there's plenty to see and do here. For the adventurous types, big and small, why not consider a break to some the country's top theme parks? Drayton Manor with the kids, or Alton Towers with the big kids, or you could always reconnect with nature in the outdoor playground that is the stunning Peak District National Park.

  • For a fabulous shopping break, look no further than our hotels near Birmingham - home to the famous Bull Ring Shopping Centre, and a vibrant city centre, it has some of the best retail outside London.
  • Get sent to Coventry, or Lincoln, or Nottingham for a fab cathedral city full of history, culture, fine dining and great shopping.
  • Stratford-upon-Avon is home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and, as the Bard's birthplace, is the site of the must-visit Shakespeare's houses too; a quintessential short break for all theatre-lovers.


The only difficult part is deciding where to go! Be inspired by the exciting destinations and wonderful places to stay in our list of hotels in central England below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 3259

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Short Break in Stratford-upon-Avon

Stay Date: 13/03/07, a customer who stayed at 4* Ettington Park Hotel - A Hand Picked Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cheltenham Races  
 
 

Great

Stay Date: 29/08/11, a customer who stayed at 3* The Palace Hotel (Half Board Offer) in Buxton wrote this review.

Fantastic old hotel, staff were brilliant , gym and pool, sauna very good, certainly go there again. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Walking  
Devils Arse Cave  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Peak District

Stay Date: 21/07/13, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Palace Hotel (Half Board Offer) in Buxton wrote this review.

Had a great time getting to know the Peak District all the windy roads and getting lost. The big houses were interesting Chatsworth and Lyme Park and seeing Mr Darcy in the pond! The chosen hotel See More  Read more information in Buxton 'The Palace Hotel' was an excellent venue and a good central location to the attractions that we had come to see. We had a good view of Solomon's Temple from our bedroom window whichencouraged us to go and view the temple itself even more wonderful views from the top. It was a good break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Althorpe House  
Lyme Park  
Chatsworth House  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Horns Pub  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Relaxing in Buxton

Stay Date: 01/12/13, a customer aged 45-64 from Larbert who stayed at 3* The Palace Hotel (Half Board Offer) in Buxton wrote this review.

The view from our room was great, breafast and dinner were great with friendly staff. Leisure centre has a good pool. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Buxton break

Stay Date: 03/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 from Nottingham who stayed at 3* The Palace Hotel (Half Board Offer) in Buxton wrote this review.

Excellent hotel in a town centre location, Very comfortable beds and good food. Suitable for visits to shows, concerts and enjoying the nearby Derbyshire and Cheshire countryside. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Lyme Park  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Beautiful Hotel needing some tlc

Stay Date: 07/02/14, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Palace Hotel (Half Board Offer) in Buxton wrote this review.

We stayed at the palace hotel Buxton for my husbands birthday and were given the chance to upgrade tons bigger room on arrival, which we did. Our room (323) was large and spacious but he bathroom See More  Read more information was very dated and it was only after I had had a drink from the tap water that I read in the guest services book not to drink the tap water, surely there should be a sign by the taps not to drink thetap water. The hotel interior was very palatial and so I could forgive the cracks in the ceilings and tired decor, the staff were fantastic, in the restaurant and will on reception, I would visit hishotel again   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pavilion theatre  
Buxton water  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice short break in Buxton

Stay Date: 01/03/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Palace Hotel (Half Board Offer) in Buxton wrote this review.

We had a lovely stay in the Palace Hotel, where we had dinner, bed and breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. We were able to upgrade our room on arrival, See More  Read more information which meant we had a room at the front of the hotel with excellent views over the town. The only real downside was that the windows let in a lot of draft. This was particularly bad in the bathroom and Iam sure that the window there would close properly with a little adjustment.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Poole's Cavern  
Pavillion Gardens  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Barbarells's Wine Bar  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Palace Hotel Buxton

Stay Date: 07/04/15, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* The Palace Hotel (Half Board Offer) in Buxton wrote this review.

We were very disappointed with our stay at the Palace Hotel in Buxton. The was advertised as a 4* Hotel but it was definitely not! The quality of the bedroom was very poor; it was very, very hot See More  Read more information with no fan or air-con, no hair dryer (3 times I asked & they finally brought one up @ 9:45pm), no mini bar/fridge, one of the wardrobe doors was so faulty that you had to lift it to open the drawunderneath! The shower power was poor & the water was not that hot. The first evening I asked for one of their 'long' drinks from their drinks menu. They didn't know how to make it & it took 15 minutes forthem to get someone to make it, by this time my husband had finished his drink!! The evening meals were hot & quite tasty, however the portions were very small, with no opportunity to help yourself toany extra veg. No bread rolls were offered. Breakfast was very poor. The tomatoes had been in the oven that long that the skins were hard, they were almost like sun-dried tomatoes! The bacon washard/dry. The choice of cold breakfast items were limited & on the first morning some cheese slices were 'curling' at the sides! The toaster only cooked on one side & you had to put your bread throughseveral times. I booked this two night break as a treat & deliberately chose what I thought would be a better quality hotel but we were very disappointed as the hotel is part of the enjoyment of a tripaway. We have booked breaks with you in the past to London staying at The Russell twice & the last time at one of your mystery hotels & they certainly met our expectations! If The Palace gets its 4*because it has a pool & spa then this definitely does not reflect the quality of the hotel's interior, the quality of the bedrooms nor the quality of the food.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 2 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Tired grand old lady

Stay Date: 23/09/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* The Palace Hotel (Half Board Offer) in Buxton wrote this review.

The hotel is no way a 4 star. It would have been in its day but now needs massive amounts of investment. Our small room was OK but could have been so much better. Food good and staff obliging. You See More  Read more information need to get a deal to make a stay worthwhile.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Haddon Hall  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short weekend break in Walsall

Stay Date: 02/12/16, a customer aged 25-44 from Lochgelly who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Walsall M6 Junction 10 (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Walsall wrote this review.

Book hotel through SuperBreak - it wasn't just the cheapest booking we came across when we got to our 4 star hotel we were put in the executive suite and it was amazing. My wife couldn't believe the See More  Read more information standard on first night - we had a 3 course meal in with the booking it would've cost us £60 each but was free on the first night stay and the food was amazing then in the morning it was an all youcan eat breakfast all done to a high standard the swimming pool and gym and sauna was amazing. The staff was so friendly they couldn't do enough for me my wife and my 15 week old daughter all that for£120 pound value for money.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hungry Horse  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 2041 - 2050 of 3259 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:21

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 16:41:19

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 16:41:19

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB12

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.