Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Central England

Central England Holiday Reviews

Botanical Gardens, Birmingham

With cosmopolitan cities, historical attractions, theme parks and lots of gorgeous countryside on the doorstep, our hotels in central England make the perfect destination for your short break or getaway. From luxury spa retreats in the country to budget city accommodation, there's something for everyone here.

Our central England hotels are a particularly good choice when you want to take the whole family away; whether it's Warwick Castle, Cadbury World in Birmingham or the National Space Centre in Leicester, there's plenty to see and do here. For the adventurous types, big and small, why not consider a break to some the country's top theme parks? Drayton Manor with the kids, or Alton Towers with the big kids, or you could always reconnect with nature in the outdoor playground that is the stunning Peak District National Park.

  • For a fabulous shopping break, look no further than our hotels near Birmingham - home to the famous Bull Ring Shopping Centre, and a vibrant city centre, it has some of the best retail outside London.
  • Get sent to Coventry, or Lincoln, or Nottingham for a fab cathedral city full of history, culture, fine dining and great shopping.
  • Stratford-upon-Avon is home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and, as the Bard's birthplace, is the site of the must-visit Shakespeare's houses too; a quintessential short break for all theatre-lovers.


The only difficult part is deciding where to go! Be inspired by the exciting destinations and wonderful places to stay in our list of hotels in central England below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 3246

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Elizabeth Hotel, Rockingham

Stay Date: 06/05/07, a customer from Banbury who stayed at 3* Best Western Rockingham Forest Corby in Rockingham wrote this review.

We arrived early and had lunch in the bar whilst we waited for our room to become available. The bar area was a little untidy/sticky but the staff were friendly and the food good. We walked along See More  Read more information to Rockingham Castle (for which the hotel is very handy) and had a very pleasant afternoon there. Can recommend a visit. We decided to have dinner at the hotel - there didn't seem to be anywhere elselocally without getting the car out anyway - and the food was very nice and reasonably priced. Sadly the breakfast next morning was luke warm, greasy and there was little choice by the time we went inat around 9am, even though breakfast continued until 10am. Overall, a reasonable break though.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rockingham Castle  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Visiting Family

Stay Date: 11/08/10, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Rockingham Forest Corby in Rockingham wrote this review.

Hotel was on same road as to where I was visiting. Lovely grounds, lovely rooms. Dining area and bar very nice & comfortable. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel Heating

Stay Date: 23/10/11, a customer who stayed at 3* Best Western Rockingham Forest Corby in Rockingham wrote this review.

The heating had air in the system and it was banging throughout the night. It woke us up a few times so hotel good but bad night sleep!!!. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rockingham Motor Speedway  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Best Western Hotel Excellent

Stay Date: 06/01/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* Best Western Rockingham Forest Corby in Rockingham rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Town Centre  
 
 

A Few Days In Latimer Place

Stay Date: 26/03/12, a customer from Uk who stayed at 3* De Vere Latimer Estate in Chesham wrote this review.

First class hotel in very good surroundings overlooking the chess valley. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ham House  
St Albans Cathedral  
Miltons Cottage  
Chilterns Open Air Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Pizza Express St Albans  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Harry Potter Studio Tour

Stay Date: 24/09/13, a customer aged 25-44 from Cannock who stayed at 3* De Vere Latimer Estate in Chesham wrote this review.

Visiting the Harry Potter Studio Tour which was excellent. Stayed in the De Vere Chesham Hotel. The hotel was clean as was our room, which was comfortable and well appointed. The staff were friendly See More  Read more information and although the deal we had through Superbreak was not familiar to them, they honoured it with no problem and kept my booking for reference. I would recommend the hotel to couples or singles. As wehave not got children, I cannot say if it was family friendly and there we saw no children during our visit. Be aware though that this is a hotel used fro conferences so our visit during the week wasat the same time as a number of conferences so I am unable to comment on whether the experience would be different on a weekend. Food was good and hotel areas we saw seemed clean and bright as was ourroom.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Roald Dahl Museum  
Harry Potter Studio Tour  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fantastic and stress free stay at Latimer Estate

Stay Date: 10/04/17, a customer aged 18-24 who stayed at 3* De Vere Latimer Estate in Chesham wrote this review.

On arrival, the hotel looked beautiful! The location even more so! Although renovation works were being carried out on the house, the room we stayed in was quiet and very comfortable. We arrived See More  Read more information early and staff were happy to check us in so that we could get to the Harry Potter Studio Tour! Only one towel was put in the room, however, after requesting another, staff brought one to the roompromptly. My only complaint would be the hoovering outside our door at approximately 8:30am the next morning. We ordered a pizza to the room in the evening - it was distinctly average, verging on poorconsidering the price. I appreciated the free parking and the helpful attitudes of all staff members that we encountered. I would also like to say a huge thank you to the lady that I booked with over thephone. Unfortunately I do not remember her name, however she was efficient and very helpful. I had struggled to acquire Harry Potter Studio Tour tickets and found two with SuperBreak. I had difficultybooking online and was very worried about missing out. She understood the need for urgency, was very understanding and without her, I'm sure I wouldn't have been able to experience the magic of HarryPotter!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Warner Bros Studio Tour  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

An enjoyable break in Oakham

Stay Date: 09/10/17, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Brook Whipper-In Hotel in Oakham wrote this review.

This 17th century Inn is located in the middle of Oakham. The town is small and very interesting. The area is lovely and we enjoyed Rutland Water which has something for everyone. The Whipper-In See More  Read more information is quirky and is obviously what you might expect in such an old building. We were situated off the courtyard and had a covered way for a few steps into the main hotel. The room was clean with a verycomfortable bed with immaculate bedding and lovely fluffy white towels were supplied. It also had a comfortable 2-seater settee and large coffee table which we found very useful as we spent mostevenings watching the television as we had been very active doing the day and were both suffering with colds. The breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. The bathroom would have benefited with anupdate but was adequate with lovely hot water. We loved it here and hope to return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Rutland Water  
Frampton Marsh  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Average at best

Stay Date: 13/10/17, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* De Vere Latimer Estate in Chesham wrote this review.

The good - Breakfast was excellent, the Restaurant was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful, the manor house and gardens are beautiful. The Bad - Room was not in manor house but in an See More  Read more information adjacent mews (student dorm really small type accommodation), 10 minutes’ walk to the restaurant through poorly signed corridors. Swimming pool was nice, but showers in changing rooms only had reallyhot water so unusable. Lockers would not take the new £1 coin, so unable to secure your stuff. Rooms were small, tired and very much like student dorms ( A far cry to the pictures on the hotelwebsite!). Wine in restaurant is very pricey! The Ugly - Rooms in the Mews had paper thin walls, and could literally hear everything those in adjacent rooms were doing. Rooms were hot and stuffy, with noA/C and even with heating off and window open we were uncomfortable. Room and in particular the bathroom wasn’t clean. Room service didn’t replace tea bags used so had to ask for some at reception. Wewent for a relaxing break but unfortunately we were woken up early each morning of our stay by housekeeping banging trolleys, and talking outside (Is it really necessary to hoover outside guests roomsat 08:30am on a Sunday morning?!). Also the big glass front door to the entrance of the Mews banged closed every time somebody used it and was shaking our room and really noisy (certainly notconducive to a relaxing break).   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
1838  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Weekend break in Birmingham

Stay Date: 04/11/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Peterborough who stayed at 4* Copthorne Hotel Birmingham in Birmingham wrote this review.

Nice afternoon at Cadbury World although disappointing that the production/packaging area can no longer be seen. Stayed at the Copthorne Hotel which is looking tired and in need of some See More  Read more information refurbishment. Bed was comfortable but the new mattress topper didn't fit the bed. Breakfast was poorly managed and we queued for half an hour to get seated. They ran out of breakfast items which delayed eating.Second day was spend shopping in and around the Bull Ring which was perfect - good variety of stores and the perfect time to start Christmas shopping.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cadbury's World  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Jamie's Italian  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1511 - 1520 of 3246 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 20/05/2019 19:27:32

Last rendered @ 20/05/2019 19:27:32

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.