Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Central England

Central England Holiday Reviews

Botanical Gardens, Birmingham

With cosmopolitan cities, historical attractions, theme parks and lots of gorgeous countryside on the doorstep, our hotels in central England make the perfect destination for your short break or getaway. From luxury spa retreats in the country to budget city accommodation, there's something for everyone here.

Our central England hotels are a particularly good choice when you want to take the whole family away; whether it's Warwick Castle, Cadbury World in Birmingham or the National Space Centre in Leicester, there's plenty to see and do here. For the adventurous types, big and small, why not consider a break to some the country's top theme parks? Drayton Manor with the kids, or Alton Towers with the big kids, or you could always reconnect with nature in the outdoor playground that is the stunning Peak District National Park.

  • For a fabulous shopping break, look no further than our hotels near Birmingham - home to the famous Bull Ring Shopping Centre, and a vibrant city centre, it has some of the best retail outside London.
  • Get sent to Coventry, or Lincoln, or Nottingham for a fab cathedral city full of history, culture, fine dining and great shopping.
  • Stratford-upon-Avon is home to the Royal Shakespeare Company and, as the Bard's birthplace, is the site of the must-visit Shakespeare's houses too; a quintessential short break for all theatre-lovers.


The only difficult part is deciding where to go! Be inspired by the exciting destinations and wonderful places to stay in our list of hotels in central England below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 3246

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Ettington Chase; Highly Recommended

Stay Date: 06/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Me and my husband wanted to just get away for a couple of days, just the 2 of us, and ettington chase was perfect. We could have happily just stayed at the hotel the entire time. The service was See More  Read more information impeccable, the facilities beautiful including pool, sauna and gym, the restaurant was faultless, food wonderful and service superb, so pleased. Our day out to stratford was brilliant, a must visit is alittle shop called 'where magic begins' that you can find just past shakepeares birthplace, upstairs is a wizards museum, exciting for all ages. Highly recommended break away, we'll be returning...Thank you!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shipton, Lovely Little Village  
Stratford Upon Avon, Shakespeares Birthplace  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Encore, Stratford, Bit Pricey But Very Nice  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Coventry

Stay Date: 06/03/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire in Coventry (Nr) wrote this review.

Staff were tremendous and made our stay a very pleasnt one. Hotel facilities were very good too with the pool, steam room and sauna scoring high on our list. Most importantly, our room was very See More  Read more information clean, comfortable, very warm and cosy with a fridge for all our drinks! Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of a weekend break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Our 48th Wedding Anniversary

Stay Date: 11/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Stoke Rochford Hall, BW Premier Collection (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Grantham wrote this review.

When we pulled off the A1 into stoke rochford and through the park gates we sensed we were in for a treat and when we saw the hall for the first time we knew we had found an ideal place to spend our See More  Read more information anniversary. When checking in the staff were so friendly and helpful and our room in the old stable courtyard was cosy, clean and warm. Our break was very enjoyable and on our last morning david oneof the staff gave us a very informative tour of the house. We will definitely go back again.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Stevenage

Stay Date: 13/03/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Stevenage (2 Night Offer & 1 Dinner) in Stevenage rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cambridge  
St Albans  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Prezza  
Holiday Inn Restaurant  
 
 

Short Break In Shakespeare Country

Stay Date: 16/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

Ettington chase hotel in lovely location, with very good facilities, good staff, and nice restaurant. Close to stratford upon avon, excellent base for a shakespeare experience. Good shops in See More  Read more information stratford.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shakespeare's Birthplace  
Stratford  
Nash House  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great Golfing Induction

Stay Date: 16/03/11, a customer who stayed at 4* De Vere Staverton Estate (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Daventry wrote this review.

Had a great holiday - almost perfect. The accommodation, food, hospitality were great. Plan to visit again. Thanks. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

The Hotel

Stay Date: 25/03/11, a customer from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury wrote this review.

Our first night was mared by not having hot water in our room. Reception did not seem to think this was problem and it would be sorted but after a cold shower in morning! they agreed to move us but See More  Read more information with no sincere sounding apology we felt it was our fault for making unreasonable demands. Despite this it was nice hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shrewsbury  
Powes Castle  
Roman City Near Shrewsbury  
Shrewsbury Abbey  
 

User Review Ratings: 2 out of 3 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Super Break

Stay Date: 16/03/11, a customer who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

My wife and I wanted a couple of days away at a hotel with a swimming pool and other leisure facilities. Ettington chase is basically a conference hotel in the week and a private function hotel at See More  Read more information weekends. The lovely original house is still there, but there is a huge 3-storey extension in two wings that resemble dormitories. We arrived just before 2pm on monday and the place was deserted. Iasked at reception if they had a better room available and we were given a free upgrade to a superior double. The room itself was large, modern and clean, with a nice en suite, but only a double bed (notking-size). It was in the nearer part of the extension, overlooking the old house. Some descriptions mentioned golf and tennis facilities, so we decided to check them out. The putting green is nomore (and has been removed from most on-line descriptions of the hotel). It is just a grassy field now. There is one tennis court but it was obviously not often used or maintained. However, we did manageto play some tennis. The leisure facilities were quite nice - there is a gym, an x-shaped swimming pool, a jacuzzi and a sauna. The changing rooms were a bit small with only a few working lockers,but the leisure facilities are not really used by the conference crowd (they prop up the games bar) so we were happy. I guess the leisure facilities might be busier at weekends, and there are a fewleisure club members from the village. The hotel seems to have a skeleton permanent staff, with extra workers brought in when required. The maintenance guy was on holiday, so it was a big problem when ourroom safe wouldn't open. After almost 24 hours, a cover maintenance guy arrived from sheffield to put some new batteries in it, because none of the staff knew what to do! luckily, not all of ourmoney was locked away and we weren't checking out the next day, but it could have been a disaster. We had our first night dinner in the hotel's restaurant, as part of the package. A few people had arrivedfor a conference that started the next day, but the hotel wasn't busy. However, when we phoned down to book a table, the earliest available slot was 8pm. If this was a ploy to get us to go to thegames bar before dinner then it worked! we ordered a bottle of wine and some nibbles - the wine was expensive and they were sold out of crisps and nuts. (we were told that it had been a busy weekend -but why didn't they restock on monday?) the restaurant is geared to catering for big gatherings, but the food wasn't 4-star. The starters that we chose were very good, but the main courses and dessertswere poor (bland and unimaginative). They tried to charge us again for the wine we bought in the games bar, but this was corrected immediately. Breakfast was also the standard self-service stuff youfind in chain hotels: cheap sausages, cold bacon and a limited fruit selection. The orange juice was particularly disgusting (cheap and watered down, i presume). Go for the grapefruit juice instead. Wehave eaten much better breakfasts in many private b&bs. Much better dining can be found in the village, which is a short walk from the hotel (along a pavement too). There are two pubs: the whitehorse inn and the chequers inn. The former serves typical pub fare; the latter is more of a gastro-pub. We opted for the chequers inn on the second night. I thought it was excellent (and surprisinglycheaper than the hotel) but my wife didn't like her main course - duck with green vegetables in a cream sauce on rigatoni.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Stratford town walk  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chequers Inn  
Ettington Chase Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Enjoyable Stay At Ettington Chase Hotel

Stay Date: 20/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) wrote this review.

The room was quite sizeable although the bed was not very comfortable. The food was good in the hotel restaurant - breakfast excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cotswolds  
Stratford Upon Avon  
Banbury  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Stratford-Upon-Avon

Stay Date: 20/03/11, a customer from Uk who stayed at 4* Ettington Chase (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Ettington (Nr Stratford-upon-Avon) rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Shakespeare Birthplace  
Warwick Castle  
anne hathaways cottage  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Dinner On The First Night  
Breakfasts  
 
 
 

Showing 1261 - 1270 of 3246 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 23/05/2019 09:44:55

Last rendered @ 23/05/2019 09:44:55

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB15

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.