Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Cardiff Area

Cardiff Area Holiday Reviews

Cardiff Castle, Cardiff

Book a hotel in Cardiff and visit a city proud of its cultural heritage, sport venues, visitor attractions and a superb choice of Cardiff hotels. Be king for the day at Cardiff Castle, enjoy family fun at Techniquest or discover history at The National Museum Cardiff.

Whilst Cardiff is known for its industrial past, over the past few years it has gone under and extensive program of modernisation. The modern Cardiff Bay area offers luxury Cardiff hotels, alfresco dining, shopping at Mermaid Quay and free events. Booking a short break in Cardiff is easy - as well as accommodation to suit all budgets we can offer you discounted rail tickets and popular sightseeing tours too. Check out the nightlife from live music at Cardiff Indoor Arena to the lively nightclubs and award-winning restaurants; not forgetting that our hotels in Cardiff offer some great dining options too. Check out our Cardiff dinner deals or visit our Cardiff City guide for more inspiration.

Top Cardiff attractions within walking distance of the Hotel would include:

  • Cardiff Castle - The site, first built on by the Romans, is over 2000 years old. You can spend the day feeling like a king with the fairy-tale towers on the outside and the marble, gilding and wood carvings inside
  • National Museum Cardiff - The Story of Wales, combined with great pieces of art and natural history, help to make this a must see for anyone interested in culture
  • The Millennium Stadium - As one of the largest stadiums in Europe, the Millennium Stadium has seen everything from Football Matches to Concert. Turn up in February and watch some of the best rugby the Northern Hemisphere has to offer in the Six Nations
  • Celtic Manor Resort - One of the best Golf Courses in the world sits just outside Cardiff. Host to the 2010 Ryder Cup, it boasts 2000 acres of parkland, whilst also offering shooting, fishing and a spa
Cardiff is a compact city which is easy to get around, this is great if you wish to experience a range of locations and something to bear in mind when choosing hotels in Cardiff. With waterfront views in Cardiff Bay, city living in one of our city centre Cardiff hotels and pure relaxation in the beautiful Welsh countryside in a country house hotel. The Welsh capital promises fun, laughter and adventure and with our great value hotels in Cardiff, now's the time to visit.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 249

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Night in Cardiff

Stay Date: 19/04/09, a customer from Leicester who stayed at 4* Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel & Spa in Cardiff wrote this review.

We were taking our son and his belongings back to University. On arrival at the hotel at 2pm, we parked in their underground car park, checked in, and walked into town for a late lunch at Henry's, See More  Read more information about 3/4 mile away. We always do the same thing as it's handy, a lively atmosphere and good food & service. After lunch, as it was a nice day we drove 5 miles to Penarth for a walk beside the beach -as it was clear there was a lovely view across the sea towards Weston-super-mare. In the evening we went to Cardiff Bay to Cafe Rouge for a meal. It overlooks the bay. Another favorite restaurant ofours, where the food and service are always good and reasonably priced. Our hotel was as always faultless, with helpful staff and the room was quite well equipped and there was a nice bathroom. FullEnglish breakfast next day was excellent. There is also a very nice swimming pool.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cafe Rouge  
Henry's  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

The Hotel

Stay Date: 26/04/09, a customer who stayed at 4* Novotel Cardiff Centre in Cardiff wrote this review.

My wife & I really enjoyed the pool, gym, saunna & steam and the breakfast was wonderful, the staff were friendly & helpful. Great 1st anniversary The carpet in our room should be cleaned or See More  Read more information changed   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Chinese  
Chicken shop  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Days Inn in Bridgend

Stay Date: 03/05/09, a customer from Ripon who stayed at 3* Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff in Sarn Park (Nr Bridgend) wrote this review.

Room was clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful. Many thanks See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Cardiff Break

Stay Date: 08/05/09, a customer who stayed at 3* The Angel Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cardiff wrote this review.

Hotel excellent value for money paid. Room excellent, but sleep marred on second night by noisy guests banging doors at 4a.m. Breakfast was ok but hot part was cold, and had to queue to make our own See More  Read more information toast. Hotel very central and excellent for seeing Cardiff. Did not use the car at all all weekend. Took a sight seeing tour bus. Bit expensive but had we done that first, you could jump on and offall day, so would have had more value for us. Pleasantly surprised by Cardiff, loads of new builds and more building work being carried out. Excellent place to visit. Weather was kind to us too, butvery windy at Cardiff Bay, apparently like that all the time. Disappointed that we were not there long enough to view the Barrage   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cardiff Castle  
Cardiff Bay  
Cardiff National Museum  
Sightseeing Open top bus.  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bengal Spice  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Cardiff

Stay Date: 13/05/09, a customer from Hereford who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay in Cardiff rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Red Dragon Centre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Old Orleans  
 
 

Bridge at David Lloyd Centre

Stay Date: 23/05/09, a customer who stayed at 3* The Angel Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cardiff wrote this review.

We were using hotel as base while we played bridge and were very pleased with the hotel. There was a problem when we checked in though, as the hotel had no record of our reservation!!!!. Luckily I See More  Read more information had a copy of the reservation confirmation, downloaded from the Internet. Always take confirmation of Internet booked hotels, as break down in communication is not uncommon. Room first night was poorand noisy but hotel staff moved us willingly for second night   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
Editor Notes:

Editor's Comments: We work hard to ensure our booking procedures are very comprehensive and we are working with the hotel to ensure that their reservation procedures are reviewed

 

Short Break In Cardiff

Stay Date: 18/06/09, a customer from Ipswich who stayed at 3* The Angel Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cardiff rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cardiff City Museum and Art Gallery  
 
 

Short Break In Cardiff

Stay Date: 18/09/09, a customer who stayed at 3* The Angel Hotel (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Cardiff rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Museum  
Sightseeing Bus  
Cardiff Bay  
Welsh Life Museum At St Fagans  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Terra Nova At Cardiff Bay  
Thai Restaurant At Cardiff Bay  
 
 

Brilliant Weekend In Cardiff

Stay Date: 14/08/09, a customer from Coalville who stayed at 4* Novotel Cardiff Centre in Cardiff wrote this review.

We took our 13 year old son to Cardiff for the weekend and had a fantastic time. The Novotel was very well positioned, so that we didn't need to use the car to go into town or to the quay (20 See More  Read more information minutes walk each way). Dr Who exhibition was fab, and you didn't feel ripped off! reasonable price. Didn't eat in restaurant in evening in hotel, as a bit pricey, but breakfast was lovely. Staff were hardworking and eager to please. Very efficient and friendly. Added attraction of an x-box in foyer and excellent childrens area (for older chdn). Gym and swimming also fantastic. Can't wait to visitagain next year if we get such a good offer again. Can deffinately recommend it. Demiros restaurant on the quay was great, food lovely and added bonus of italian singers every hour...Very novel!.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Gallery  
Mermaid Quay  
Dr Who Exhibition  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Demiros Mermaid Quay  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Short Break In Cardiff

Stay Date: 16/08/09, a customer who stayed at 5* The St Davids Hotel in Cardiff rated this hotel.

See Ratings  Read more information   Hide Ratings  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Cosmos  
 
 
 

Showing 71 - 80 of 249 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open Open 7 days a week
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1001991 @ 01/11/2018 10:01:11

Last rendered @ 13/11/2018 00:30:06

Last rendered @ 13/11/2018 00:30:06

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB11

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.