Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Canterbury & Area

Canterbury & Area Holiday Reviews

Canterbury Cathedral, Canterbury

The elegant city of Canterbury, in the south east of England, is the perfect choice for a historic city break. With lots of great Canterbury hotels to choose from, you’re sure to find the ideal base from which to explore Canterbury and its breath-taking surrounds.

Home to the famous Canterbury Cathedral, a Norman Castle and many other historical structures, Canterbury has been the inspiration for many writers and artists over the centuries. Steeped in literary history, the city of Canterbury was the birthplace of Shakespeare’s contemporary, playwright Christopher Marlowe, and was the inspiration for Chaucer’s classic The Canterbury Tales.

  • Those staying in our Canterbury hotels can step back in time at the Canterbury Tales Visitor Centre to explore the recreated medieval life of the city
  • Delve further into the city’s past at the Roman Museum and learn about the beginnings of the city’s historical significance
  • Explore the wider county on day trips around ‘The Garden of England’ and discover the breath-taking rolling countryside of the Kent South Downs
  • The rich history of the city is complemented by an exciting array of modern bars and restaurants; spend an evening soaking up the vibrant atmosphere before returning to one of our hotels in Canterbury.
Whether you discover the historical gems or indulge in the nightlife, our hotels in Canterbury are perfect for your short break in Kent. Check out our great range of Canterbury hotels in the list below.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 45

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Sittingbourne

Stay Date: 12/04/18, a customer aged 45-64 from Chester who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Sittingbourne (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Sittingbourne wrote this review.

Stayed at Holiday Inn for a family visit, dined first night in the restaurant, service and food very good, staff friendly and helpful at night and breakfast. Room a bit tired but slept well and stay See More  Read more information was ok.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Bobbin Apple  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Easter Break

Stay Date: 31/03/18, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Sittingbourne (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Sittingbourne wrote this review.

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn in Sittingbourne many times. The staff are all very friendly & efficient. Unfortunately this time we had trouble checking in as the hotel had not had notification See More  Read more information from Super Break. Luckily there were rooms available but we had to wait nearly 2 hours for the hotel to receive the correct info/email so our rooms could be allocated. We called Super Break acouple of times during our wait & were told the email had been sent. The hotel kindly gave us a complimentary drink whilst we waited but this did not make up for the time implications caused by ourdelayed check in.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Taco Locos  
Golden Hope Wetherspoon  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas break

Stay Date: 24/12/17, a customer aged 65+ from Doncaster who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Christmas Break in Canterbury wrote this review.

Good value for money. Disappointed to find that every meal was a buffet over the Christmas break and food was very similar for each meal. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice Hotel

Stay Date: 27/01/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Essex who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Sittingbourne (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Sittingbourne wrote this review.

We booked 5 rooms and stayed with family and had a lovely weekend. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Tudor Rose  
The Good Hope  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not as good as last time!

Stay Date: 15/07/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Crawley who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Sittingbourne (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Sittingbourne wrote this review.

This was the second time we stayed and the first was excellent, however this time was very disappointing. I booked on 26/5/16 and was told when I arrived they had no booking! One hour later it was See More  Read more information sorted but with an inferior room which I did not book. There were large weddings on both days we were there and consequently found it hard to get a drink or a seat in the hotel, plus they went onbeyond 1am. All in all a waste of money!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
Wetherspoons  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Great weekend

Stay Date: 30/04/16, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Sittingbourne (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Sittingbourne wrote this review.

The hotel is great, room was good. The food is good dinner was great, and the breakfast has a wide choice of things to have. Good location not to far from the train station and from local stores. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Port Lympne Zoo  
Rochester sweeps festival  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Wedding Stay

Stay Date: 08/04/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Sittingbourne (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Sittingbourne wrote this review.

Lovely stay. Can't fault it in any way. Staff excellent. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Wedding  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Top hotel in Kent!

Stay Date: 08/04/16, a customer from Crawley who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Sittingbourne (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Sittingbourne wrote this review.

Great staff, excellent food. Very comfortable room. Would not hesitate to return. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Maidstone  
SITTINGBOURNE  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas Break

Stay Date: 24/12/15, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Holiday Inn Express Canterbury Christmas Break in Canterbury wrote this review.

On arrival we were given a 1st floor room, but my wife being disabled the reception staff were eager to please and gave us a ground floor room. The room was basic but adequate (could have done with See More  Read more information some drawers) and it had plenty of power sockets for chargers/laptops etc. Shower room was spacious with power shower, wash basin and wc with fresh towels daily (including Christmas Day). The mainmeals were bountiful with plenty of options including vegetarian. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, but being a budget hotel it was expected. We did ask if they could add bacon and hash browns to themenu and after two days they complied willingly. The hotel overall had a warm and friendly ambience and anything that was requested was no trouble for the staff. Would recommend the Christmas Break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Sittingbourne

Stay Date: 31/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from London who stayed at 4* Holiday Inn Sittingbourne (2 Night Offer & 1st Night Dinner) in Sittingbourne wrote this review.

Hotel in a quiet location. It appears the hotel is fairly new. The staff were very polite. The hotel room was comfortable but three things let it down badly. The noise coming from the ceiling area See More  Read more information was like being in an aeroplane until it was switched off about 11:30pm each night. The flush of the toilet was inadequate. The water from the sink tap, both hot & cold was little more than a drip.Unfortunately the restaurant was the worst experience ever. We were the only couple in the restaurant at about 7pm. We ordered two bottles of water. No ice, one with lemon, one without lemon. Both came upwith lemon. We ordered two chicken breast, one without thyme. After waiting 40 minutes, both meals came with thyme. I then had to wait a further 25 minutes before the replacement meal arrived. Wethen waited about 10 minutes for our dessert only for the waitress to tell me that my apple crumble had been dropped on the floor and there would be about a 20 minute wait for a replacement. The chickenand mashed potato was very poor quality and had no taste whatsoever. I think the chicken was processed chicken? Though we were not charge for the two bottles of water, the waitress informed us thatthe dessert was extra, that was until I informed her that we had paid for a 3 course meal when booking the hotel room. I don't know how they would have coped if the restaurant was full this night. Therewas plenty of staff on duty so I don't understand why it took so long to get served with the meals. I would never dream of recommending this hotel and certainly will never return.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 1 - 10 of 45 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 15:33:26

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 02:16:21

Last rendered @ 18/06/2019 02:16:21

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.