Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Bloomsbury & Russell Square

Bloomsbury & Russell Square Holiday Reviews

British Museum, Bloomsbury and Russell Square

Bloomsbury is in the academic heart of London, and home to prestigious landmarks such as London University, the Royal Academy of Performing Arts and the captivating British Museum. Discover Museum Street with its collection of unique bookshops and sophisticated cafes or head to Russell Square; a haven for tourists and locals alike.

Bloomsbury and Russell Square are both great areas for being within walking distance of main attractions and museums, all without being too crowded. With many tube stations nearby and great bus routes, you'll be able to get to wherever you fancy visiting. Plus, you're only one stop from Kings Cross Station and St Pancras should you be looking to enjoy an exciting Eurostar break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 5541

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

Fine good location

Stay Date: 07/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Hotel was basic but good, staff ok but free meal was very much hard work. Staff very poor, meal not to good - shame as a little English would have gone a long way - no wonder it was empty. No banter See More  Read more information at all and food very basic but edible. Staff need waking up and learn to clean at the basics - tables and surround not clean. Shame as got great location and good access to everything.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
picaddily  
london dungeon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
aberdeen  
fish and chippery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 12/11/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Asked for quiet rooms, definitely not quiet, also requested adjacent rooms as my mum is elderly, didn't get that either! No point in requesting these if the request is ignored. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Sighteseeing good but hotel disappointing

Stay Date: 27/11/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Imperial Hotel London in Russell Square wrote this review.

Sadly, our first impression of the Imperial Hotel was soured by the unwelcome reception we received on arrival. It would appear that we offended the receptionist but asking an important question See More  Read more information before she had reached the official answer in her prepared 'Welcome' speech. She simply pushed all the paperwork across the desk, saying "I haven't got to that yet, it's all in there". The experiencecertainly focused our attention on customer relations. Her attitude was singularly exceptional but it matched the general ambience of the hotel. Overall the hotel staff were cool and impersonal.Therefore, we used none of the hotels facilities. Fortunately, for meals, our needs were more than adequately met by the nearby Tavistock Hotel, also in the same hotel group. So on our future London tripsTavistock Hotel will be at the top of our accommodation search list. But we will definitely NOT be staying at the Imperial Hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tate Modern  
Portrait Gallery  
British Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas theatre break

Stay Date: 29/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Gb who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

We stayed in the Royal National Hotel. The hotel is by far the biggest I have ever stayed in. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location very central, with easy travel links See More  Read more information to all attractions. I have never had a breakfast experience like the one in this dining room! It was just an extremely large and very rough "canteen style" dining room. Staff were clearly stressed andnot helpful. Breakfast here is not something I will repeat. Very much the Ryanair of hotels. The staff are right, customers are not. Cleanliness and location were the redeeming factors.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harrods  
Covent Garden  
Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Palm Court Brasserie  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Brthday trip to London

Stay Date: 14/02/17, a customer aged 25-44 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

I took my wife for her 30th. This was only the second time we stayed at the President. The first being over two years ago. The staff, especially in the restaurant are poor. Very slow and do not See More  Read more information explain anything. I mean anything! And when you ask them anything they look at you as if you are stupid! The food itself is pretty good to say it is served like school dinners. The hotel itself islovely. A bit dated in areas but very nice bar/lounge area. The rooms are comfy and kept relatively clean however on each of the 3 days we stayed the bathroom was dusty and had a strange smell. Greatlocation close to Kings Cross (walking distance) and very good location for commuting by bus without any hassle.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Her majestys theatre (phantom)  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 2 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

OK

Stay Date: 11/05/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Imperial Hotel London in Russell Square wrote this review.

Very dated accommodation and looks like a 70s throw back from the outside. However the reception area is very nice. Reception staff were not very friendly at all, as it was clearly near to their See More  Read more information going home time and they were arguing over who would book me in! The room was ok, basic. Comfy beds. TV didn't work. Couldn't open the window. However, after a good night's sleep, we headed down forbreakfast, which wasn't anything too exciting. Food on the "hot plate" was far from hot, and not even warm. Again the staff were not welcoming, and kept talking loudly in their native language, which isneither professional or polite. A cheap stay in the capital, fairly close to main attractions and transport links.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
kinky boots show  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
TGI Fridays  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

London great, hotel terrible

Stay Date: 25/08/17, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

We were booked into The President Hotel. The hotel was absolutely terrible. We were treated like second class citizens and the standard of the hotel was extremely disappointing and very shabby. See More  Read more information There was a language barrier with the staff generally. The breakfast was poor. The lift up to the seventh floor was dilapidated and the seventh floor itself was shabby and dated. My room was small, noisyand less than basic. The trip itself was enjoyable but the hotel was horrendous and not what I expected from Super Break.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Globe Theatre  
Harrods  
The Illustration Cupboard  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review not helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Worst night's sleep ever

Stay Date: 11/11/17, a customer aged 45-64 from Stockton-On-Tees who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

The hotel is very big but nice, check in was quick if a little confusing. I’d requested interconnected rooms in a quiet area which we didn’t get. The rooms were on the fourth floor next to each See More  Read more information other at the front of the building. There was a pub directly below us which was very loud and noisy which went on till about 4.30 in the morning. We got about 3 hours sleep. I actually thought I’d leftthe window open because the noise was so bad but it turned out they are badly fitted and very old glazing. I’d suggest they invest in decent windows to drown out the noise from below. Breakfast wasincluded and good but a little bit cold. We were able to leave our cases in an area for 50 pence charge all day per case which was excellent. The hotel is in an ideal location close to a tube station.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London By Night Bus Tour  
Natural History Museum  
Remembrance day parade  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Nice room but do not eat here

Stay Date: 08/12/17, a customer aged 25-44 from Gloucester who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

The room was clean and comfortable. The normal restaurant for breakfast was like a cattle market. The meeting place for breakfast much nicer. The food in the main restaurant in the evening was only See More  Read more information like warm and after being shouted at by a member of staff on our first mornings breakfast we complained and was offered a meal that night free of charge. We decided to go to the Indian restaurant thatwas part of the hotels eating facilities. The staff here were rude (apart from one young lady who was in charge). The rest of the food was not warm. Would not recommend the food but if you arelooking for a place to just sleep then it would be ideal.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harrods  
Covent Garden  
Winter Wonderland  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel Restaurant  
Indian attached to hotel  
 

User Review Ratings: 1 out of 1 users found this review helpful

Rate This Review:
 
 

Nothing special

Stay Date: 11/12/17, a customer aged 65+ who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Rooms reasonable, beds good, parking an advantage. First evening meal very poor - tough meat, overcooked veg, poorly presented. Starter and sweet ice cold. Breakfast ok, nothing special - cooked See More  Read more information items lukewarm, tea and coffee very very strong. Staff, especially in dinner restaurant, gave the impression that you are a nuisance and were not at all friendly and some had obvious languagedifficulty.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Breakfast  
Evening Meal  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 5291 - 5300 of 5541 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002075 @ 18/06/2019 11:30:23

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 13:44:03

Last rendered @ 19/06/2019 13:44:03

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB13

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.