Book online or call: 01904 717 362 Open 7 days a week

Customer Reviews by Destination - Bloomsbury & Russell Square

Bloomsbury & Russell Square Holiday Reviews

British Museum, Bloomsbury and Russell Square

Bloomsbury is in the academic heart of London, and home to prestigious landmarks such as London University, the Royal Academy of Performing Arts and the captivating British Museum. Discover Museum Street with its collection of unique bookshops and sophisticated cafes or head to Russell Square; a haven for tourists and locals alike.

Bloomsbury and Russell Square are both great areas for being within walking distance of main attractions and museums, all without being too crowded. With many tube stations nearby and great bus routes, you'll be able to get to wherever you fancy visiting. Plus, you're only one stop from Kings Cross Station and St Pancras should you be looking to enjoy an exciting Eurostar break.

Number of Customer Reviews in this Destination - 5525

  • SuperBreak Customer Reviews

A couple of days in London

Stay Date: 14/10/15, a customer aged 45-64 from Northampton who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

On the plus side our hotel was close to Euston Station (walkable), and local tube and bus services. Oxford Street was also a short walk away. However, the entrance to the hotel was covered in See More  Read more information scaffolding and not very welcoming. Some in depth cleaning would not go amiss (especially in the lifts). The whole hotel looks a little tired and the rooms are somewhat compact and utilitarian. The desk andbar staff were friendly and our room was available on arrival at mid day. The breakfast was OK but no-one smiled and you were often ushered to a table before it had been prepared. We visited theWallace Collection (excellent), The Ritz for dinner (expensive but worth it!), and the show Gypsy (one of the best we've seen in London). The 91 bus proved very useful as it takes you to Aldwych, andalong the Strand to Trafalgar Square. We had a great couple of days but were surprised to have to pay for bags to be stored on the day of departure - it just seemed a little mean? All in all a verypleasant couple of days!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Ritz Hotel  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Lion King

Stay Date: 05/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Organised this break to celebrate both my daughter's and my own birthday, the hotel was ok, the room was clean and tidy, but the majority of staff were very impersonal, customer care definitely See More  Read more information needs to be reviewed, staff standing around talking amongst themselves. For our complimentary meal we chose to go to The President for a carvery meal, the food was extremely disappointing, the servicewere just as bad, staff removing plates whilst eating the meal, the tableware totally mismatched, the restaurant was certainly a throwback to the 70s. We had breakfast at our hotel which was selfservice but again staff were quite rude in their manners, our first morning even though breakfast was running until 10am, whilst we were sitting having breakfast, service ended, so staff commenced to turnlights off, started to sweep floors whilst the rest settled themselves down for breakfast, even though there were still customers eating. Thankfully we only spent a small amount of time at the hotel,but certainly wouldn't stop there again, the hotel was clean but service was terrible.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The Lion King  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Poor hotel

Stay Date: 13/02/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Tired dated rooms and very basic. Very noisy hotel due to passing traffic, not double glazed. People running around the corridors and in and out of rooms slamming doors till early hours of the See More  Read more information morning, didn't get a good night's sleep. Breakfast was very poor, rock hard toast, stewed tea and food was stone cold. Booked for two night but came home after one night's stay, just couldn't face anothernight staying there!   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
City Bus Tour  
Tower of London  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Byron  
yo shushi  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Two days in London

Stay Date: 04/04/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Billingham who stayed at 3* Imperial Hotel London in Russell Square wrote this review.

Lovely two days in London with my daughter. On the whole the hotel was clean and tidy although I felt could do with modernising. The staff at breakfast were a little lack lustre and not overly See More  Read more information helpful, I found the close proximity of the tables quite intrusive and the fact that table clothes were not changed between customers quite disturbing. This hotel is however in a good location to allsights.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Portrait Gallery  
Camden Market  
British Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Union Tavern  
Wahacca  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Disappointing hotel

Stay Date: 28/05/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 4* Radisson Blu Edwardian, Kenilworth in Bloomsbury wrote this review.

The hotel staff were rude at reception saying we did not have a drinks voucher included, when we found the booking info we did. We were earlier than check in time and room wasn't ready - which is See More  Read more information fair enough, so they said they would put us in priority with the cleaners and we went to use our fought for drinks vouchers in the bar. An hour passed and we went back to see if the room was ready- towhich they checked the system and said no - we will put you on priority - so they hadn't before! I gave it 20 more minutes and went to ask and it was finally done. The room was a little dated. Thepillows gave me a bad neck for the whole of the next day. There was just one huge pillow each meaning you slept with your neck cricked right up. Light shone through the curtains all night. And when eversomeone else flushed their toilet or turned the their tap on in another room the sound was very loud in our room waking me up several times. I complained in the morning to reception who just shruggedme off and said - oh sorry about that. I really wouldn't advise anyone to stay there! It is not a cheap hotel so it's standards should be higher than this.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Covent Garden Market  
National Portrait Museum  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
National Portrait Gallery Restaurant  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Not one I would stay at again

Stay Date: 17/08/16, a customer aged 45-64 who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

I stayed at the President Hotel. I was in a disabled room. The facilities were below average and nothing a disabled room the beds were wobbly and when you have a spinal condition this is not See More  Read more information good. I came home a day early because I couldn't sleep in that bed another night. The breakfast at the hotel was aplenty but always cold when I mentioned this to the front desk they just gave me aform to complete. The room I was in was on the second floor. It was very dated and nothing like the picture shown when I was booking. I feel I was mislead and if I am totally honesty I wouldlike to get a refund for the package I paid for. I feel you offered a different package to the one I paid for. I am very disappointed and this caused me to cut my break short leaving a day early.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
The London Eye  
Piccadilly Circus  
Harrards  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
President Hotel  
Pizza Hut  
Anus steak house  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Fine good location

Stay Date: 07/11/16, a customer aged 45-64 from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Hotel was basic but good, staff ok but free meal was very much hard work. Staff very poor, meal not to good - shame as a little English would have gone a long way - no wonder it was empty. No banter See More  Read more information at all and food very basic but edible. Staff need waking up and learn to clean at the basics - tables and surround not clean. Shame as got great location and good access to everything.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
London Eye  
picaddily  
london dungeon  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Hotel  
aberdeen  
fish and chippery  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Hotel

Stay Date: 12/11/16, a customer aged 25-44 who stayed at 3* President Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

Asked for quiet rooms, definitely not quiet, also requested adjacent rooms as my mum is elderly, didn't get that either! No point in requesting these if the request is ignored. See More  Read more information   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Sighteseeing good but hotel disappointing

Stay Date: 27/11/16, a customer aged 65+ from United Kingdom who stayed at 3* Imperial Hotel London in Russell Square wrote this review.

Sadly, our first impression of the Imperial Hotel was soured by the unwelcome reception we received on arrival. It would appear that we offended the receptionist but asking an important question See More  Read more information before she had reached the official answer in her prepared 'Welcome' speech. She simply pushed all the paperwork across the desk, saying "I haven't got to that yet, it's all in there". The experiencecertainly focused our attention on customer relations. Her attitude was singularly exceptional but it matched the general ambience of the hotel. Overall the hotel staff were cool and impersonal.Therefore, we used none of the hotels facilities. Fortunately, for meals, our needs were more than adequately met by the nearby Tavistock Hotel, also in the same hotel group. So on our future London tripsTavistock Hotel will be at the top of our accommodation search list. But we will definitely NOT be staying at the Imperial Hotel.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Tate Modern  
Portrait Gallery  
British Museum  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 

Christmas theatre break

Stay Date: 29/12/16, a customer aged 45-64 from Gb who stayed at 3* Royal National Hotel in Russell Square wrote this review.

We stayed in the Royal National Hotel. The hotel is by far the biggest I have ever stayed in. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location very central, with easy travel links See More  Read more information to all attractions. I have never had a breakfast experience like the one in this dining room! It was just an extremely large and very rough "canteen style" dining room. Staff were clearly stressed andnot helpful. Breakfast here is not something I will repeat. Very much the Ryanair of hotels. The staff are right, customers are not. Cleanliness and location were the redeeming factors.   Collapse  Hide

  • Overall Hotel Rating:
  •  
Hotel Ratings:
Review Title Review Rating
Destination  
Sleep  
Breakfast  
Staff  
Attraction Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Harrods  
Covent Garden  
Theatre  
Dining Tips
Review Title Review Rating
Palm Court Brasserie  
 
Rate This Review:
 
 
 

Showing 5281 - 5290 of 5525 reviews

These reviews are the opinions of our customers and not of SuperBreak mini-holidays.

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations.

They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities.

Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per day, within the next 6 weeks.

From Price

This from price is based on the lowest price, per person, per night, within the next 6 weeks.

Per Adult Per Stay

This price is the total price each adult will pay for the entire break (including tickets if stated). Exact prices, including any supplements and child prices, will be displayed on the next page as policies vary from hotel to hotel.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average hotel score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, hotel reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us at the hotel in question.

Customer Rating

The customer rating is the average show score out of 5. To ensure all reviews are genuine, show reviews can only be added by customers who have booked through us for the show in question.

Star Rating

SuperBreak star ratings are given as a guide to help you choose between our hotels and do not necessarily relate to those awarded by other organisations. They symbolise the level of service and range of facilities that you can expect at the property; ranging from 1 star - hotels with the simplest range of facilities, to five stars - luxury hotels with a wider range of facilities. Please note that different countries have different standards and star ratings may differ according to the country where the hotel is located.

Top Price

Top Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Royal Circle

Second Price

Second Price Stalls or Dress Circle or Grand Circle or Upper Circle

Third Price

Upper Circle or Rear Stalls/Dress Circle

Fourth Price

Rear Upper Circle

Fifth Price/Budget

Top Tier or Upper Circle rear side seating

Sixth Price

Back rows of Stalls or Upper Circle

SuperBreak uses a secure server to encrypt and protect all communication of personal details and credit card information between yourself and the SuperBreak reservation system. Our secure server is authenticated and certificated by GlobalSign.com, making your booking 100% secure. Your details are also protected under the Data Protection Act. If you have any questions with regard to the use of your personal data, please email marketing@superbreak.com.

Book online or call

  • UK Call Centre open 7 days a week 09:00-19:00
  • 01904 717 362
  • For Groups of 5 rooms or 10+ adults call 01904 420 454
  • (calls charged at standard rates)

Why book with us?

  • Prices include all taxes
  • No credit card fees
  • No booking fees
  • Established for over 30 years
  • Winner of the Best UK Operator 2017 - Globe Travel

Email Offers

Don't miss out, sign up today to receive our latest offers and deals

Hotel Code

Travel Aware - Staying Safe and Healthy Abroad

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and National Travel Health Network and Centre have up-to-date advice on staying safe and healthy abroad. For the latest travel advice from the Foreign & Commonwealth Office including security and local laws, plus passport and visa information check www.gov.uk/travelaware and follow @FCOtravel and Facebook.com/FCOtravel

Keep informed of current travel health news by visiting www.travelhealthpro.org.uk

The advice can change so check regularly for updates.

Eboracum Way
Artemis House
York
North Yorkshire
YO31 7RE
GB

Project=Concert-and-Events-2017

Version=1002068 @ 16/05/2019 16:47:10

Last rendered @ 19/05/2019 19:22:01

Last rendered @ 19/05/2019 19:22:01

x-forward-port: ""

X-Forwarded-Proto: "https"

Is Secure? True

Is Mobile? False

Machine: VWEB16

Controller: HolidayReview

Action: ShowReviewsForLocation

View: ~/Views/HolidayReview/ShowReviewsForLocation.aspx

Firebug

 

Please enter a destination or hotel name to search for.